We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor servicing of the rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“poor servicing of the rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here last july and stayed here again this july.The lobby and bar areas are great but missing the large budhas they had before(where have they gone?),Likewise breakfast was fine to.Still an issue and something I commented on last year is that the room was far to warm.Last year it was in the 70's but this year even though it was a lot cooler outside the room was still stuffy and hot.I know some rooms do have air conditioning but I don't know why the room should be so warm when outside its quite a pleasant temperature.When we arrived there was a toenail on the floor by the bed left by a previous guest.The next day we went out about about 10.30am and got back about 3pm.The room hadn't been done so we went to the bar for about 40 mins.came up again and the room was being cleaned so we waited 10 mins for the room to be done and got in about 4pm.The next day we went out about 10am got back about 3.15 and again the room hadn't been done and as we wanted a break before going out we had to forgo having the room cleaned.I found this unacceptable as I think we gave plenty of time to have the room done,the service room sign was on the door and hotels should realise that we do spend some time in the room and not use it just for sleeping.Overall disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padsmcginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi padsmcginty,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay but I am disappointed to read your other comments. Firstly, we do at the moment have 100 bedrooms out of 198 bedrooms with A/C and the rest coming on board soon. Lastly, I have also spoken to the accommodation team following your comments.

In the meantime, should you wish to share any other feedback, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the hotel but I hope the experience will not deter you from revisiting us again in the future.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    1,252
    448
    145
    69
See reviews for
478
1,378
125
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

They made us wait more than 30 minutes to give us the room. We reserved a room with 2 beds and instead they gave us a suite with just 1 bed and a sofa bed that injured my back.
The room was on the third floor, and no elevators were available.
The hotel pretends to be luxurious but it isn't.
There are much better hotels for less, and even better located.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Alejandro A,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us, which I was disappointed to read.

I am very disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your night sleep with us and to read about the other comments on your stay. I would appreciate, if there are further details, to contact me at the hotel.


Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Bang in the middle of Dublin sharing a wall with a local fire station, the Trinity City Hotel is a great location for exploring the city and getting around. The decor is a little off the wall, a hint of the last third of the film Bettlejuice meets a wannabe steampunk cross-over that's just on the right side of tasteful. Service was grand, food very good but the outstanding thing about this place is the wifi - freely accessible and lightening fast it had no problem streaming HD video for hours on end. As place to park my head for the night on a business trip it done just the job and I'll be choosing to come back here next time I visit Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Gareth R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

Glad you had a pleasant stay with us and yes we are very proud of our 200mb Fibre Connection within the hotel. I do hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us for a business trip again.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Trinity City Hotel was in a perfect location to the Temple Bar area and other attractions. It was a posh little boutique hotel. The hotel staff during check in were helpful and they allowed us to check in early. We had to catch an early flight the next morning and they provided a fabulous take away breakfast since we left too early. Yes, the room was small but we are in Dublin?!?! A large downfall we didn't have air conditioning. It was a warm June night and our room was very hot. We had to open our window and it overlooked the busy street in front of the hotel. We didn't get any sleep that evening due to the passing cars every 2 minutes. If I stayed again I would get a room with A/C and facing the courtyard.

Room Tip: Get a room with A/C if your staying on a warmer night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hasian15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi hasian15,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and i will pass on your lovely comments about our staff but i am disappointed to read that you didnt sleep well. We do at the moment have 100 bedrooms out of 198 bedrooms with A/C and the rest coming on board soon.

In the meantime, should you wish to share any other feedback, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the hotel but would love to see you back again with us.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our traveling party of 3 was comprised of two women and a 9 year old girl. Spending 6 nights at your lovely hotel, we also wanted to spend part of our time outside of Dublin (a day trip outing). The desk staff and bellman suggested Brian O'Reilly whom we then met with to discuss what we wanted to see/visit and to discuss pricing (which was quite reasonable). At the agreed upon day and time, Brian was waiting for us, and he proved to be a knowledgeable and jovial guide. We enjoyed our time with him and most importantly, because he was introduced to us through Trinity City Hotel, we felt comfortable going off with him. So thank you to the staff not only for managing a top notch hotel, but for providing us this great day-trip opportunity. If we should return to Dublin, we would stay with you and go with Brian again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NadeenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi NadeenG,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I have already passed on your kind words to the Front desk team and they join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have you the pleasure of welcoming you back again to us.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Not maintained very well for the cost. There were rusted trash cans in the rooms and the bathroom was missing tiles. The room was very large but there was not much light and because there was no AC the window needed to stay open and the noise was really bad.

Room Tip: Only the most expencive room has A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Maddy B,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us, which i was disappointed to read.

I am very disappointed that you found a rusted trash can and tiles missing in your bathroom as we have just recently completed a refurb of our bedrooms. We do at the moment have 100 bedrooms out of 198 bedrooms with A/C and the rest coming on board soon.

In the meantime, should you wish to share any other feedback, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Trinity City Hotel. The decor feels a little "kitsch" at first, but is quite plush in the rooms themselves. We most enjoyed the hotels location, very close to all of the main attractions, bars, restaurants. The hotel breakfast was a little lack-lustre, I would recommend to skip including breakfast, and to explore the cafe options in the surrounding area. For example, we had an excellent meal at nearby Gallaher & Co.We booked a King Suite - it was really big! Being next to the street, you might get some noise, as the windows are not double glazed. If they renovated, it would be my biggest suggestion! There is also a fire station nearby! Overall, I had a great time, the rooms are big and luxurious, and it seems like the bar downstairs is a popular hang-out, not only for those at the hotel. Just get your brekkie elsewhere!

Room Tip: We booked a King Suite - it was really big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nix_nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Nix_nine,

Thank you very much for your review.

While i was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, i am disppointed that you didnt enjoy your breakfast with us but i can say we are in the process of enhancing our breakfast experience so i would love to see you back with us again.

In the meantime, should you wish to share any other feedback please dont hesidate to contact me at the hotel.

Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing