We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney,Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Looking on tripadvisor i didn't know what to expect of this purple hotel but was pleasantly surprised by it ,seemd quiet locaion but close to city, staff were helpful luckily we were away from fire station so didn't bother us,after being out and about all day it was good to have dinner there had it 2 nights and both times enjoyed it ,didn't have breakfast there so can't comment, room seemed ample size love having wifi in room and liked big towels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, Deputy General manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear kcivk,


Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay so much and particularly your dinner with us on 2 nights.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again soon.


Yours sincerely,
Keith Boyle
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,388
    1,305
    479
    155
    74
See reviews for
516
1,460
132
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Wonderfully unique decor in Reception, bar and restaurant areas. However, room was basic but comfortable. Staff extremely polite and helpful. We had lunch in the dining area and both my meal and my husbands meal was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shezke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, Deputy General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hi Shezke,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I have already passed on your kind words to the team and they join me in thanking you. Great to read you enjoyed our dining options too in the hotel. I hope it is not too long before we have you the pleasure of welcoming you back again to us in Ireland.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,
Keith Boyle
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We visited Dublin for the UCF Penn State football game and stayed here for our second time to Dublin. The name changed due to a change in ownership, but quality stayed the same high level. Our room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. A full Irish breakfast was included in our price,both food and service were as expected. The lobby and bar areas are well appointed and comfortable with various seating areas scattered about. The staff was very friendly and professional. We also chose this hotel because of its location, two blocks from the Temple Bar area and Dublin Bus Hop On Hop Off stop, and across from Trinity College. I recommend Trinity City Hotel as a viable option for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad_weber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, Deputy General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hi brad_weber,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us and glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us for the second time.

I have already passed on your kind words to the team and they join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have you the pleasure of welcoming you back again to us in Ireland.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,
Keith Boyle
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kippax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

What a contrast to the standard corporate hotel chains.

From the entrance with oversized purple velvet chairs to exposed brick work in bedrooms, the Trinity City Hotel is not you standard business hotel.

The standard rooms are clean and functional with small pieces of ddesign flair, however get and upgrade. And experience anything from a balcony overlooking a courtyard bar with fake animals to mirrored bathrooms with double Jacuzzi.

All the hotel is spotless, the staff friendly and the bar is welcoming.

The location of the hotel is excellent within 5 minutes walk of the iconic Temple Bar Area

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianJMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, Deputy General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear AdrianJMurphy,

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us which I was delighted to read.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with all the team here.


Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Yours sincerely,
Keith Boyle
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Don't be mislead by some of the pictures. This is a much more modern upscale hotel.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Temple Area and Trinity. Yet it is out of the way of a lot of the noise and bustle of the party crowd. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, but not spacious. We think the price for room during special events is very high for what you get.

On the good news-bad news side, it is next door to a firehouse and police station. Not a problem for me, but could be for others.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, Deputy General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hi Dale L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I have already passed on your kind words to the team and they join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to us in Dublin.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,
Keith Boyle
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the trinity city, and must say we had a wonderful wkend.
We stayed on a breakfast included option although the food was delicious and plentiful, we found on our first morning we were shown to our table and wen we went to serve our food to which they run out of baked beans.. On our return to our table we had an American lady telling us off for taking her table which obviously the staff had made an error and placed us both there. So had to put up with dirty looks from the American lady throughout breakfast. I think there needs to be a better system put in place to prevent this as it happened again on our 3rd morning.
Our room was very clean and comfortable but not quite as nice as the rooms shown on the website we had fresh towels daily and bed linen was changed after the 2nd night. Our room looked out into the fire station which after reading reviews before booking I'd decided wouldn't bother me too much but found that a 7 o'clock siren alarm clock was a bit of a pain.
The biggest plus point of the hotel is the location.. Literally 5 min walk to the city centre which meant we never had to use the public transport. That in itself would make me choose this hotel again.
I wouldn't say it's the perfect hotel for 4stars I think I expected too much, but it's is a quirky clean friendly centrally located hotel with a tasty breakfast and I would return but request a room not overlooking the fire station!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, Deputy General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mary M,

Thank you for the review following your recent stay with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it. I have shared your comments with our breakfast team and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. However, I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay.

I hope we have the opportunity and the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,
Keith Boyle
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Warm and friendly service throughout stay. Breakfast was very good with a large selection. Dinner was a disappointingly lack lustre affair and to be honest we had much better food in the Temple bar area. Wouldn't dine here again. Rooms were OK but only average and looked much more promising in photos. Very clean and comfortable though. Would I stay again, possibly at a push.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinityCityHotel, Deputy General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hi Dave M,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay but I am disappointed to read your comments on dinner. Should you wish to share any other feedback, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the hotel but I hope the experience will not deter you from revisiting us again in the future.

Regards,
Keith Boyle
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,819 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
2,260 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,509 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing