We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, quirky decor!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Bristol
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great location, quirky decor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

I stayed here for a long weekend with my partner and we loved it.

The interior design is really quirky in the public areas, like something out of Alice in Wonderland, with huge chairs and convex mirrors. Our room was lovely, modern, stylish and comfy.

The only downside was the lack of storage, there was a tiny clothes rail and nowhere to store our bags or other clothes etc. Also it's right next to a fire station, so you can sometimes hear sirens and tannoys, but not enough to annoy us.

The best thing about the hotel is the location, it's perfect! Practically next door to Trinity College, and a few mins from all the main areas - Grafton Street for shopping and Temple Bar for pubs and restaurants. It made it really quick and easy for us to nip home before going out again in the evening.

The bar area and lobby are really nice, with free wifi. We had a meal in the bar one night which was ok but pretty average.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    1,252
    450
    145
    69
See reviews for
478
1,380
125
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

Hotel is in a brilliant location - very close to Temple Bar, Grafton Street and O'Connell Street so ideal for a weekend in Dublin. Room was spotless. Hotel decor is unusual but interesting - I loved it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rekdless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

I have stayed here on 2 occassions in the last 2 months for business purposes. I chose it purely becasue it is located nearby to my meeting destination. Having stayed there, I would now use this as my base for any trip to Dublin. The decor in the hotel is fantastic, really unusual. The bedrooms are divided into different types depending on which part of the hotel you stay in. I stayed in the Tara rooms the last time and they were absolutely gorgeous. It is great value for money. The breakfast is included and is lovely also. The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from O'Connell St and only a few minutes walk from all the nightlife in Temple Bar so you could not ask for more. Previously I had staed in another hotel in the are which was slightly more expensive and was incredibly basic in comparison to this one. Wifi is free in the hotel also.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Havanafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this 4 stars hotel, but apart from the impressive decor there is nothing special. Good location for visiting Dublin, but the english breakfast is slightly overcooked for the non-irish taste.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

The public spaces in this hotel are eclectic and really neat. Breakfast was superb and worth the extra money. The room was awkward. Bathroom was fine, but the bedroom part was very tight, and there was almost nowhere to store belongings--meaning we had to live out of our suitcases, which was annoying, as there wasn't much room for them, either. Some people complain about the sounds from the firehouse--we were in a courtyard room, and the rare times we heard the sirens, it was very distant-sounding and not at all intrusive. Great location, though Pearse Street itself is nothing to write home about. Excellent place to stay when visiting a Trinity student!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RareTravelerMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

Stayed for 3 nights and loved it. I did the stay 2 nights get 3rd free and it was competitively priced
The hotel is so close to everything, a 5-10 minute walk to most attractions and across from Trinity College. Yet it is somewhat quiet since it is not right in the middle of everything.
The rooms were small/standard but very modern though dark. I had a courtyard view which was fine though it was in the back of the hotel. The bathroom was modern, though I am not a fan of the glass-half curtain thing in the shower. There was no heat control and it was oppressively hot the first night, even with the window open. They did provide a fan for me and turned off the heat the next day and I was fine.
There is free wi-fi in the lobby though the lobby is dark so it was hard to see what I was doing. The lobby decor was odd but fine, and the chairs were comfy.
The staff was not all that informative. Some items mentioned in the room guide (running maps, tour tickets) were not available. Nothing major but I did not get a warm feeling from them
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvlBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
158 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

.Wonderful hotel, absolutely charming, well situated, excellent restaurant, comfortable rooms, incredibly helpful staff, great value for money, one of the best hotels I've ever visited of it's kind. Decoration wonderfully eccentric and beautiful and so warm to come back to in the new year blizzards. Thank you all.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsobellaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,621 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing