We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous - almost the best part of our trip!”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous - almost the best part of our trip!”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend - and I can see why! Trinity Capital Hotel is gorgeous - very friendly staff, gorgeous decor, and a fantastic bedroom with a HUGE bed! I don't know whether we had a different type of room that we booked, but I booked a standard double room and we got a twin-zip bed which was HUGE! God know what we would've got with a king-size room! (We were in room 430)
We didn't have the breakfast so cannot comment on that. It would've been nice to have been able to opt for room service, but from what I could see there was only lunch and evening meals available.
The location was good, slightly out of the way, but still only a 15 minute walk to Temple Bar so was great for us.
The only negative is that the wardrobe space was very small, and there wasn't a light in that area of the room so we had to work out what was what when choosing our clothes for the evening.
We stayed on a 3 for 2 offer, so paid 177 euros for 3 nights - better than a travel lodge in some places!
Free wi-fi in reception too which was great for checking trip advisor for where to go for tea!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    1,303
    479
    155
    74
See reviews for
516
1,457
132
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

This hotel is in an excellent location for exploring Dublin city centre and the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and Grafton Street. The hotel has a very nice entrance and an extensive downstairs lobby, tearooms, bar and restaurant. Make sure you check out the big chairs and the camel.
The rooms at the back overlook the Fire Station but there was little to be heard from down there and the thick curtains kept out any light.
The room was very warm and there did not seem to be a thermostat, but as it was January this was sort of OK. However, the fact that the windows were locked shut meant that the room lacked any fresh air.
The water system in the bathroom was a bit problematic. The bath filled up in seconds, but a shower or sinkfull of water took ages and the same problem meant that the toilet could only be flushed by appointment. Usually allowing at least an hour or two between visits!
On a more positive note I was allowed to check in early - around 10.30 in the morning.
If you arrive at the airport and you're not in too much of a hurry, get the 16A bus into the city. It stops just around the corner from the hotel and only costs €2.20. It might take a little longer than the direct buses, but its worth it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larkmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

I stayed here for a long weekend with my partner and we loved it.

The interior design is really quirky in the public areas, like something out of Alice in Wonderland, with huge chairs and convex mirrors. Our room was lovely, modern, stylish and comfy.

The only downside was the lack of storage, there was a tiny clothes rail and nowhere to store our bags or other clothes etc. Also it's right next to a fire station, so you can sometimes hear sirens and tannoys, but not enough to annoy us.

The best thing about the hotel is the location, it's perfect! Practically next door to Trinity College, and a few mins from all the main areas - Grafton Street for shopping and Temple Bar for pubs and restaurants. It made it really quick and easy for us to nip home before going out again in the evening.

The bar area and lobby are really nice, with free wifi. We had a meal in the bar one night which was ok but pretty average.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

Hotel is in a brilliant location - very close to Temple Bar, Grafton Street and O'Connell Street so ideal for a weekend in Dublin. Room was spotless. Hotel decor is unusual but interesting - I loved it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekdless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I have stayed here on 2 occassions in the last 2 months for business purposes. I chose it purely becasue it is located nearby to my meeting destination. Having stayed there, I would now use this as my base for any trip to Dublin. The decor in the hotel is fantastic, really unusual. The bedrooms are divided into different types depending on which part of the hotel you stay in. I stayed in the Tara rooms the last time and they were absolutely gorgeous. It is great value for money. The breakfast is included and is lovely also. The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from O'Connell St and only a few minutes walk from all the nightlife in Temple Bar so you could not ask for more. Previously I had staed in another hotel in the are which was slightly more expensive and was incredibly basic in comparison to this one. Wifi is free in the hotel also.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havanafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this 4 stars hotel, but apart from the impressive decor there is nothing special. Good location for visiting Dublin, but the english breakfast is slightly overcooked for the non-irish taste.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

The public spaces in this hotel are eclectic and really neat. Breakfast was superb and worth the extra money. The room was awkward. Bathroom was fine, but the bedroom part was very tight, and there was almost nowhere to store belongings--meaning we had to live out of our suitcases, which was annoying, as there wasn't much room for them, either. Some people complain about the sounds from the firehouse--we were in a courtyard room, and the rare times we heard the sirens, it was very distant-sounding and not at all intrusive. Great location, though Pearse Street itself is nothing to write home about. Excellent place to stay when visiting a Trinity student!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RareTravelerMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,817 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
2,255 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,508 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing