We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel, a club. LOUD, OVEREXPENSIVE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Russell Court Hotel
Ranked #141 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a hotel, a club. LOUD, OVEREXPENSIVE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Of all the places I stayed while traveling Europe, this place was one of the worst. I booked it thinking it was a nice hotel near St. Stephen's Green to get a good sleep in. How wrong I was! There is a night club on the first floor, that you can hear multiple floors up. If you like hearing the sound of base even through earplugs all night, then stay here I suppose. Staff was somewhat smug, wouldn't do any favors or hold baggage. Club was open till 4 am and we kept getting bounced when we tried to enter the building. Horribly mis-advertised and overpriced for what you get. Might as well have stayed in a hostel, it would have been more restful!

Room Tip: All rooms are loud, sounds of a NIGHTCLUB. If you do have to get a room, get one as far up as possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puffallump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    201
    163
    164
    318
See reviews for
75
348
54
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had read reviews that told of the noise and this was the first hotel we'd stayed in that provided earplugs along with the complimentary toiletries. We overlooked the night club and it was NOISY! The music went on all night at an incredible volume. We tolerated the noise for four nights without recourse to the ear plugs and slept late the next morning. Don't think we could have lasted another night though.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were excellent with swift efficient service and the one lunch we had was outstanding value!

Room Tip: Ask for room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geofflj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just back from a week end in the Russell Court Hotel. Our first night we were in room 33 - at the back of the hotel overlooking the nightclub in the back courtyard. The music was going until 5.00am - we did not sleep at all. Next morning they did move us to the front of the hotel to room 39 which was much better - until the nightclub spilled out onto the street at 2.00 am, the same again the following night. The taxis outside the hotel at this time of the morning were also dreadful as they continually sounded their horns. The only thing going for this hotel is the location. The nightclub is run at the expense of the guests' comfort. I think they should only let their rooms to people who are going to party in the nightclub every night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would be preferable - try to get on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janda88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Our travel agent messed up our booking, but the lady at the front desk was very helpful, got us a discount and a room up grade to the cottage. Also helped woth getting our refund from the travel agent.
Havnt seen the rooms but the cottage is a nice self contained unit,

Will be noisy though as its in the night club district.

Cant fault service so far they went beyond their means to help us..

Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

When we arrived at this hotel, we wondered why there was a security man on the door and complimentary earplugs in the rooms. We soon discovered that this was Dublin's number one clubbing street and the biggest garden bar/ club was in the basement of the hotel (complete with several mezzanines and one hell of a sound system). The room we were given was just above, and when the heavy music started at 11pm, it was so loud we couldn't even hear our TV on max volume. The walls were shaking and we didn't get any sleep until after 2am.

The next morning we complained to the manager, (Trish - a lovely lady, I think she deserves to be managing a lovelier hotel). She gave us an upgrade to a suite on the top floor and free dinner, which we later discovered was burgers and chips in the nightclub.

You would be better sleeping on the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisLAHAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Hotel room was extremely shabby and old. Tv did not work, window would not open and kettle was also broken.
They replaced the kettle but couldn't get the tv to work, they hadn't a spare tv so offered us a free drink in the bar..
Our room was right next to the bar / nightclub so we had to listen to banging music into all hours of the night, the room had ear plugs which wasn't a good sign to begin with.
Wouldn't stay here again in a fit and wouldn't recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura7746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here last night, the location was fantastic and suited my sister and I BUT i was absolutely shocked with the customer service. As soon as my sister and i walked in the door of the hotel we had a bouncer come straight up to us in a intimidating manner asking what we wanted we then went to the reception where we were greeted by a incredibly rude receptionist. He would then not give us the key as he insisted we had not paid for the room even though we had as we checked online banking and the exact amount of €97.00 had been taken out. We even rang phone banking twice to confirm. He still would not accept it when we had the approval code. The bank then informed us that it was charged by the merchant. He then told us we would have to come back down in morning to ring the bank in front of him?I wonder if this is a very good scam as i would of paid for the hotel room again if i did not check my internet banking. After all of this he then said he would not give us our key unless we gave him €50 deposit?????? the absolute cheek!!!! . I refused and asked to speak to the manager. The receptionist then went to get him but he refused to come out and talk to us but told the receptionist that we could have the room. This really upset our night out as we were worried about having to shell out more money to these crooks the next day. In the morning when we dropped back our key the receptionist said its ok (as in the money had been paid) but never apologized for his disgraceful behaviour the night before. Really really disappointed and would not recommend this hotel and it is such a pity as the location is fantastic and the room we had was beautiful and the breakfast very tasty. This hotel will not stay around for too much longer with the lack of of people skills i saw in staff members last night and coming from a background in hospitality i have never seen anything like it before. What a shame.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellarita24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Albany House
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
South City Centre
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#111 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#89 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Harrington Hall
#83 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
South City Centre
Leeson Inn Downtown
Leeson Inn Downtown
#125 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Court Hotel

Property: Russell Court Hotel
Address: 21-25 Harcourt Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Russell Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Court Hotel is just off St. Stephen's Green in Dublin city centre. The Georgian-style hotel has great nightlife and individually designed rooms with period furnishings and antiques.The hotel features some of the Dublin’s hottest nightlife. Dicey's Garden is extremely popular with visitors and locals. Russell Court Hotel hosts Krystle and Bojangles nightclubs. Krystle was winner of Best Nightclub in Ireland in 2007,2008 ,2009 ,and 2010.The Russell Court is a hotel for those who like to party with its bars and nightclubs open 7 days a week. Because of this all rooms can be affected by noise. We do not recommend the Russell Court Hotel for those looking "for peace and quiet ". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Russell Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Court Hotel Dublin
Hotel Russell Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing