We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Russell Court Hotel (or disco!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Russell Court Hotel
Ranked #137 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Never, never, never, book into this hotel if you want to actually get any sleep!

The exterior of this Georgian could fool the you into thinking that this is a classy place to have a relaxing break right in the centre of Dublin.
You might also think that the packets of earplugs supplied copiously to each room maybe just the job to stop you having to listen to your partner gently snoring through the night.
But believe me, these quaint ideas will soon be unceremoniously shattered when the disco (which runs for 7 nights a week) kicks off in the early hours of the morning and goes on until after 4am. There is no double glazing -(it's a listed building) - to cut down on the wall of pure noise that will assault you through the night. At 2.30am I was at the desk demanding to see the manager (none on duty); at 9.30am I finally got hold of a manager & demanded a refund.She initially refused, saying that this was advertised as a 'lively' hotel & that many of the guests were young people who were booked there purely for the disco. I pointed out that she was mistaken in thinking this was a hotel - it is in fact a party venue selling cheap drinks to pack the Dublin youth in & relieve them of their cash. Unfortunately, they somehow feel justified in supplementing this income by also taking money under dubious pretences from people who want to stay in a real hotel & get a good night's sleep.
I eventually got about 40 per cent of the bill refunded & headed down to breakfast to witness these allegedly young guests who were there for the partying - but all I could see was a room full of middle aged people shaking with fatigue over their corn flakes.
At the time of writing, this hotel has 172 reviews saying it's 'Terrible'. It is - don't stay here. Ever.

Room Tip: There aren't any. Try a different hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avalonman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
There are newer reviews for Russell Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Came here after a last minute booking through booking.com (price reduced by 70%, should have been 120€ per night!!!). the hotel is old overall, the staff doesn't actually look forward you, and on top of this there's a discotheque inside where parties go on until 2.30 am, so if you are so lucky to have a room right over the main entrance your night is over. i asked for breakfast 10 minutes in advance as I had a ferry to take and I was told "No, 7 am sharp!"
Only positive note: there is a road straight in front of the entrance where to park the car between 7pm and 7am if required...

Room Tip: Require something as much far as possible from the discotheque
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Simone V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room was quite nicely designed and seemed clean at first, after dropping an earbud under the bed I found rotten chocolate cakes and a used condom ( not particularly nice! ) Myself and my friend couldn't sleep with the nightclub underneath us, the earplugs they provided were ineffective and cheap. (Do not come to this hotel if you want to sleep!) the music went on to 4 in the morning followed by fights and beeping taxis until 6!! The tram went past the hotel every 10 mins. The room had loose electrical fittings! Very dangerous especially if there was a child in the room, it was a family room therefore children could be coming into the room after us. The breakfasts in the morning were lovely and the restaurant staff very pleasant. Overall I wouldn't go to this hotel again and would urge others not to either.

Room Tip: Find another hotel! Lol
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Definitely the worst holiday experience of my life (5 negative stars for Russell Court). Two nights in a nightmare for me , my daughter and my son. No way to sleep until 4 a.m. because of the incredible noise of a disco (in open air, no ceiling) just under the room window. They were "so kind" to provide cheap (unuseful) ear-plugs , but when the glass of the window is shaking due to the noise, you have to cut your ears to stay in silence. Furthermore, by 26°C outside, the heating was pumping till over 32°C in the room. No way to close it and the reception didn' t take care of our complains. Their suggestion was: "open the window" (!!!).
Their internet site contains cheating info, preaching a superior comfort and of course mentioning nothing about the fact that you simply cannot sleep.
I can easiliy suppose that there could be legal ways that could be tried.
The only advantage is that it has a comfortable position in the town center, but it is ok only for tourists that love to have a city tour in the night (how many in this world ?), far away from the so called hotel.
Sum-up: they were able to make me to hate Dublin.
Suggestion: If you are not a masochist , who likes to pay an hotel for being awake all night long and you are a strange person that usually sleeps in the night, please look and pay for anything else in Dublin, even a camping tent in the middle of O' Connell Street is much better and cancel the name of Russell Court from any note you have.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We got a deal online for 2 nights and knew about the nightclubs in advance. First off if your going to bed early this is not the place for you. It is loud and noisy till after 4 most nights.
We had the most beautiful room with a 4 poster bed. It was clean. Comfortable and full of Georgan charm. Bathroom was clean and tidy could have done with an extractor fan. The shower was hot and had good pressure. The TV was terrible, the picture was awful. We mentioned this on our first morning but no one came to rectify it. That was disappointing.
We had breakfast as part of the deal and on the first morning will still eating my fruit it was basically thrown at us and it was terribly presented and small. My husband eats no meat so he asked for scrambled eggs and beans. He got a tin of beans and a tiny bit of egg on the plate.
Second morning there was obviously a different chef and there was Def different table staff as they were polite and waited till we finished our coral before giving us our food. On Sunday it was well presented and better cooked. My husband got a decent sized portion of eggs and they were not swimming in a load of beans.
All in all I would stay again but only if I got a good deal online.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bernie129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Located right in the middle of a busy bar and nightclub area , it's an ideal party base . Rooms are clean but dated it could do with some redecoration. Stayed on the top floor with no air con so it was a bit uncomfortable .Breakfast options are limited but what was available was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jft96ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just got back from visiting the russell court hotel. The staff was very welcoming and polite, the breakfast was very nice, the room was spotless with plenty of space, we got clean towels toilet rolls ect every morning. The hotel is in a perfect spot only 5 min walk away from Dublin city centre. We only stopped for 2 nights but the first night was very sleepless, screaming shouting taxis beeping ambulance flying up and down then at 4 the beer men come and they were moving barrels banging then at 5 the trams where up and down. But the 2nd night was fine, 2 euro a pint or bottle, very good place to stop for people who like a good party. But I would defiantly stop here again if it was away from all the noise

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauralooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#132 of 150 in Dublin
473 reviews
South City Centre
Harcourt Hotel
Harcourt Hotel
#114 of 150 in Dublin
1,327 reviews
Albany House
#65 of 150 in Dublin
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#72 of 150 in Dublin
805 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#118 of 150 in Dublin
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Court Hotel

Address: 21-25 Harcourt Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £63 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russell Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Court Hotel is just off St. Stephen's Green in Dublin city centre. The Georgian-style hotel has great nightlife and individually designed rooms with period furnishings and antiques.The hotel features some of the Dublin’s hottest nightlife. Dicey's Garden is extremely popular with visitors and locals. Russell Court Hotel hosts Krystle and Bojangles nightclubs. Krystle was winner of Best Nightclub in Ireland in 2007,2008 ,2009 ,and 2010.The Russell Court is a hotel for those who like to party with its bars and nightclubs open 7 days a week. Because of this all rooms can be affected by noise. We do not recommend the Russell Court Hotel for those looking "for peace and quiet ". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Russell Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Court Hotel Dublin
Hotel Russell Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing