We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly and Great Location”
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very good hotel, great location and the staff are really friendly and helpful.

How to get there.
We took the airbus from the airport. 10 Euro return, excellent value, but the best thing is it stops exactly outside the hotel. But be warned there are two Arlington Hotels, this one in Temple Bar, the other on the other side of the river near O'Connell Street.
The man who sold our tickets, pleasant as he was, told us the WRONG STOP FOR TEMPLE BAR HOTEL, we had a 15 mins walk to Hotel. Get off at TEMPLE BAR. The hotel has flags on the outside, it's easy recognisable. Buses run every 15 mins and are great.

The room we had, 201, was a good size, clean and with a good bathroom. TV, coffee/tea facilities, trouser press and a free safe, which is always very handing.

Downsides, the double bed was uncomfortable, spring issues, luckily this room had a single bed in it as well, so my wife slept in that, which was comfy.
We were situated at the back of the hotel and even though the windows are double glazed it sounded like they where ajar, which they were not. The noise was not to bad as you are in a city and expect it, but I would like to thank whoever had the idea of emptying all the bottles into four wheelie bins at 6.45am, come on think of your guests, do it during the day.

Breakfast, not much to say about this. If you have the option to have breakfast, take it.
It's excellent, as much as you can eat cereals and fruits, then bang in comes the full Irish breakfast with everything on it, or as little as the waiting staff do take your order. (picture of menu is on another review on here). Great quality and it filled us up until late evening.

The hotel put a show on every night, bit of diddly diddly music and Irish dancing.
We didn't do the meal with the show, so can't comment on that, but it did look good when serving up, and not many plates had food left on them when finished.
We went to the bar and watched the show from there, a little further back and not as good a view, but you still get to see the show well. Excellent Guinness and a good price as well for Dublin.

Hotel is situated just on the fringe of the main Temple Bar area, a 2/3 minute stroll and your there, but far enough away to avoid all the noise.

10 minute walk to O'Connell Street, (without suitcases) and 10 minute walk to St. Stephen Park and Grafton Street.

Opposite is the Town Hall and we went on a 3 hour walking tour of Dublin, well worth going on, very informative and you only pay what you think it was worth at the end.

Trip advisor link below, cut and paste into you browser
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g186605-d1749017-Reviews-Sandeman_s_New_Dublin_Tours-Dublin_County_Dublin.html

So to sum it up, would we come back, yes no hesitation.
Positives out way the slight negatives.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights June 14. Location is excellent. Forget about having a good night sleep unless you bring earplugs, its in a very noisy place. Staff were wonderful, very helpful and pleasant. Our room and bathroom were comfortable, basic, clean, but in desperate need of renovation, This was the theme throughout the hotel, its very dated and needs a major facelift. Threadbare carpets in guest areas, and light fittings hanging off the wall or missing altogether. The flush handle on the cistern on our toilet came off in my hand. Breakfast was just ok, plentiful, but they use they cheapest ingredients possible, cheap orange juice, cheap bread, and I got a free hair in my cooked breakfast!! If this was marketed as a budget hotel or 2 star, then i wouldn't be expecting much, but its advertised as a 3 star, and the standards just aren't there. If the price was right, i would stay again because of the location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights, our room was at the back of the hotel and although we were a little worried about the reviews complaining that it was noisy, we didn't have any complaints ... City hotels always have a bit of noise wherever you stay! The bed was really comfortable and big, the bathroom was a little on the small side and the shower was a mere trickle! Other than that the bedroom was fine. The breakfasts were excellent no matter what time you turned up. The location of the hotel was brilliant for exploring, the hop on hop off buses stopped just outside and you are within walking distance of many great bars and restaurants. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel and hope to be back again one day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is located pretty much right on the edge of the Temple Bar area, which makes it great for accessing Temple Bar and Dublin centre is 5-10 mins walk away. The airport bus stops just down the road, and the city sightseeing stop is pretty much right outside the front door.

Our room was on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel overlooking an alleyway, which you do get some noise from but is probably quieter than the road. The rooms are a little dated but are very clean, and a good size, the bathroom is quite small, but the shower was powerful and hot. The bed was comfy and the pillows were good. On a city break all I want is somewhere to sleep and get ready to out in the morning, and this hotel ticks those boxes.

Breakfast is really good, cooked to order for you so you can choose whatever you fancy from the menu. There is also a continental selection with juices, toast, yogurts, cheese and pastries and fruit salad.

For what this hotel costs compared to other hotels in Dublin it is really good value and I would stay here again if I visit Dublin again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hewwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Located just a short walk from the pubs and restaurants in Temple Bar an ideal base for visiting Dublin.
Stayed in a 3rd floor room at the back of the hotel. The room was clean and tidy and had a reasonable size bathroom. Towels changed everyday. The only drawback to having a room at the back was that you sometimes had an early morning alarm call when they emptied the bottle bins.
The cooked breakfast was good and more than adequate. Staff sometimes seemed rushed and when things on the breakfast bar run out, were not always replenished swiftly or at all.
This was our 3rd stay at the Arlington and on our next visit will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Our room faced the street, however not too loud. Bathroom was small and did not provide washcloths. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Excellent dinner show for extra cost. Parking was discounted in garage about 5-10 minute walk from hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shamrocks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We didn't know much about the area when we booked this hotel, but it was perfect for walking all over Dublin and great for exploring the castle and Temple Bar area. We also loved the fact that we could end the night at the hotel bar that played great Irish music and always had a lively crowd.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieM06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
1,059 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,205 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
2,359 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Address: The Parliament Hotel 16 Lord Edward Street, Dublin D02 TD73, Ireland (Formerly Arlington Hotel Temple Bar)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel currently closed for renovations" The Parliament offers three star accommodation in Temple Bar and is an ideally located Dublin City Centre hotel. Situated opposite Dublin Castle, on the doorstep of Temple Bar and just a short walk from such sights as Grafton Street, Trinity College, Stephens Green, The O2, museums, theatres, Parliament buildings and much more! This 3 star Dublin hotel offers a prime location making it one of the most conveniently located Dublin hotels in Temple Bar and a perfect place to stay while attending the many events in Dublin City. The Parliament Hotel consists of 63 beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms for those seeking quality accommodation in Temple Bar. All rooms are non-smoking. This 3 star hotel Dublin has satellite TV, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, trouser press and much more, making The Parliament Hotel one of the finest 3 star hotels Dublin has to offer. For hotels in Dublin city centre, look no further than The Parliament Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Parliament Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Parliament

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing