We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update, but great value and good service”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #63 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Can't complain for the money we paid. Staff friendly.

Our room was ok. Could smell cigarette smoke though - didn't think that was allowed anymore. Old TV always a disappointed in this age of cheap flat screen TVs (not that we went to Dublin to watch TV, it's just that antique TVs stick out). Breakfast was fine too. Hate having to pay through the nose for internet access which didn't work in any case so we did get a refund. But overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,119 - 2,125 of 2,841 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

stayed here was charged twice for my stay but was refunded room ok filled out comment card had been there since May in thee room had to pay for overnight parking in the train station which was five min walk from hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Dear eileenCorkIreland,

I’m sorry to read that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. We do strive to maintain and exceed our three star standards.

I would like to opportunity to improve your experience with our hotel.

Please contact me directly on damien@northstarhotel.ie



Regards,

Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This hotel was rather nice, convenient to city. The room was small but adequate and was reasonably comfortable. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaywiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Dear Jaywiseman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on the North Star Hotel and for keeping our TripAdvisor community up to date.

Regards,

Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

stayed here for the take that concert. hotel was an excellent location for our stay. just right outside the train station and about 10 minute walk from croke park. hotel itself was clean, staff at reception were friendly. the bar could do with a major re-vamp though. room was clean and bed sheets clean bathroom small but clean and done the job. liked that only people staying at the hotel could only get up to the rooms by using their key cards to get through the main door.

only thing i could fault a bit noisy with the train station beside the hotel - but you already know this before you book - not much can be done about it.

also they advertised there was free wifi - all four of us connected ok to it - but didnt work :(

Room Tip: good average clean hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weelaura84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Dear weelaura84,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel.

I will pass your kind comments onto our staff.

The hotel has undergone some major renovations over the past couple of years and our bar is next in line in this process.

Kind Regards,

Damien Dowling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

4 of us were heading to the Glee concert at the 02 arena and needed somewhere local, clean and safe to rest our heads for the night. We got a good package deal that included breakfast and we were all VERY pleased with our service.

The hotel is indeed near a train line, but on the occasions that a train passed, it was actually kinda soothing and nice. It wasn't screeching, horrible or worrying to hear AT ALL.

We got two twin rooms and the beds were AMAZINGLY comfortable. Standard set up room, bathroom, ironing board, tea/coffee facilities, T.V., chair, mirror, lamps and beds. Ideal and very clean. It was a hot sticky night and the A/C unit was fantastic for cooling us down and was an added bonus for sure.

If I had to mention 1 gripe from the stay, it would be to say for others to NOT touch the temperature guage on the showers as it went from freezing to scalding hot very quickly. This is not a major priblem though and nothing to worry about.

Breakfast was downstairs and was yummy. Good irish breakfast, again, good service, clean and inviting.

To say the hotel was in the middle of nowhere or out of the way is a complete lie! It is RIGHT OPPOSITE THE TRAIN STATION and ROUND THE CORNER from the BUS STATION. It's a 10-15 minute walk to various shopping and other attraction destinations.

As a native of Ireland and a regular Dublin city goer, you can't go wring with this hotel and we will def. be returning here from now on.

It's cheap and chearful and we got an excellent night of sleep. I really have NO IDEA what other negative reviewers are talking about!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squeaks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear Sqeaks86,

Thank you for your honest realistic review.

We accept that we make mistakes sometimes and try to minimise this by continuous staff training & development programs but mistake happen we are all only human at the hotel.

I thank you for addressing some of the outlandish comments that have been made regarding our hotel.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back our hotel upon your return.

With Regards,

Damien Dowling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Booked the northstar hotel as a weekend break for my wife's birthday, was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews, but no need to have worried. Booked premier club suite on hotel website, on arrival,reception staff very helpful & courteous,checked in & went up to suite, everything was as described on website,very clean & bed was very big & comfortable !!!!
Would recommend booking suite as little extra's are included, free wi-fi, safe, fridge in room & access to premier club lounge on top floor with complimentary bottles of water, tea/coffee, hot chocolate & biscuits !!!! (perfect for relaxing after a long day out)
Breakfast is excellent & with great choice of food, staff very friendly & helpful.
Hotel location is great,only 10 minute walk to O'Connell street & temple bar.
All in all a fantastic weekend,Thank You Northstar

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The noise from the trains was horrible and we're not very particular about that. The rooms were dirty. The front desk staff was not very helpful. The location was not ideal. We needed a cab to get into town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annual_traveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear annual_traveler23,

On your points raised:

I find them hard to believe, our rooms are in no way dirty.

Our front office staff are some of the most friendly and helpful you will find anywhere.

Our location is ideal. ( Please see reviews above & below) we are in the city centre so its hardly necessary for a cab.

I find it strange that you have the opposite comments to numerous other guest who stayed during the same period.


Kind Regards,

Damien Dowling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#94 of 152 in Dublin
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.5 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#40 of 152 in Dublin
2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#45 of 152 in Dublin
4,796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £89 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing