We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Star Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maple Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,890)
Filter reviews
2,890 results
Traveller rating
1,011
1,016
481
222
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
1,016
481
222
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconnolly stationpremier roomtrain noisetrain lineo'connell streetbreakfast roomcity centretemple barlovely hotelhotel restaurantbooked this hotelfantastic staytea coffeewe arrived earlyfull irish breakfastfollowing morningcroke park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,099 - 2,104 of 2,890 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We'd come from Shannon and ended up in Dublin overnight unexpectedly as Sail/Rail was cancelled due to bad weather. We just wandered in and for 79 euro, including wifi, we decided to stay. Room was clean, modern and spacious with tea & coffee making facilities. The areas of the hotel we saw were clean, well-maintained, and had security card system. Front desk staff were helpful and assisted me in printing some plane reservations. Breakfast was available at an extra 9.90 euros, but we didn't try it as we were leaving early. Hotel is opposite Connolly Station, a very short walk from main bus station, and extremely close to local tram/train/buses. Walking through the hotel you can hear the rumble of the trains, but couldn't hear a thing from our room (first floor). There is a guest lounge with computer/printer/vending machines, and a bar and restaurant, plus reasonably priced room service. We were there on a public holiday night, so some nearby food outlets closed early. No complaints, I thought we'd be traipsing around Dublin for hours looking for a reasonably priced hotel. On our last visit to Dublin (2008) we had a double room in a hostel which cost almost the same amount. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorrainePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear LorrainePAustralia,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is a pleasure to read your comments.

I see you are a keen traveller and your opinion mean alot to us.

On your return to Dublin please contact me directly.

Regards,

Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

stayed here for just one night while going to a show at nearby GrandCanal-The Location is excellent,ie across the road from Connolly Station.We arrived quite early but there was no problem with checking in early,.The hotel room itself was very clean,lots of hot water,comfortable bed and a tasty breakfast.Nothing was any bother for the very helpful reception staff and the cocierge helpful again with directions etc.
We enjoyed our stay even though it was only for the night ,but based on its location and it being a pleasant experience we will most definitely return
Recommended..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Hi Fatkiwi,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Grand Canal Theatre is a wonderful arena with many great shows on.
We have a Theatre special package that includes tickets, dinner, bed & breakfast available on our website.

Alternatively if you return to Dublin, email me directly and I will be pleased to look after your reservation.

Regards,

Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Just stayed a couple of nights and can only say it was more than I expected. Clean, friendly,good breakfast, excellent location, and nice bar on ground floor. Would recommend it to anyone travelling to Dublin. Also has a small gym/sauna on the ground floor which I will use when I return.

Room Tip: There is a premier room that you can upgrade to for and extra 30euro per night but the basic rooms are fine.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banditman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear banditman09,

Many Thanks for your kind comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Regards,

Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

although when we booked we weren't told exactly how close the hotel is to the train station (basically attached) the hotel itself is quite nice inside for a 3* and suits well as a cheap hotel for a short break. We arrived extremely early, from a 6am flight for a 2 o'clock check in but managed to get given a room so could recoup and have a couple of hours rest which was a god positive touch to start our stay.
The closeness to the DART is a positive aspect and it isn't that noisy throughout the night but if you require a daytime nap it might be an issue. The city centre is only a 5-10 and a lot of attractions are easy to get to due to brilliant (and better value than UK prices) links all over the city

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pollard26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear pollard26,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, it certainly helps to get into your room
as early as possible and we always try to accommodate guests especially those travelling from abroad.

The DART is a major asset to the hotel and as with most city centre hotels we do experience some train noise during the day in some parts of the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed in the hotel just before Christmas, however we had originally booked into the Regency Airport Hotel (which would have been our fourth visit) I received a phone call on the day of arrival as we were waiting for a flight from dublin to nice, to say that they couldn't accommodate us, due to a flu oubreak. We were given the choice of being refunded or moved to their sister hotel-the North Star, we chose the latter as we were just about to get on the plane. The North star hotel was ok, it is well situated and there is an airport shuttle, staff very helpful and friendly but the Wifi was not free for hotel residents wheras at the Regency it is free if you book online which we had done. Overall we would have preferred the Regency Airport Hotel and did miss especially the swimming pool!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews