We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little spot!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #62 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottetown, PEI, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a great little hotel! A 5 minute walk to O'Connell St., and also right across from the Connolly train station. Location is ideal. There's nothing fancy about this hotel but the service is great, and the rooms are clean. A/C is also a bonus, although wifi isn't really worth the 11 euro/day. Would definitely stay there again though!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ligallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Ligallant,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel.

I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

One tip on the wi-fi, we offer complimentary wi-fi and continental breakfast breakfast when bookings are made through the hotels own website.
The best deals are found direct with the hotel.

Regards,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    905
    406
    185
    138
See reviews for
376
1,038
97
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

First impressions of the front of the hotel were not appealing due to the peeling paintwork at the front, but the adage of not judging the book by its cover is definitely true of this hotel!

From the moment we booked in to the time of departure we were met with friendly and incredibly helpful staff - Angela deserves a special mention for outstanding customer service. We were lucky enough to be upgraded for free to a Premier King room on the 7th floor, facing away from the railway station. The room was spacious and well decorated and not at all noisy. Having a balcony and a patio door was a bonus especially becuase of the unseasonably hot weather we experienced.We were also able to use the facilities of the Premier Lounge, which offered a spacious sitting area, free water and hot beverages.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, where the prevailing attitude was one of "no need to thank me, I'm just doing my job".

My wife and I had a splendid stay and would heartily recommend the hotel. It is ideally located for transport links and is a 5 - 10 minute stroll to O'Connell Street

As a final bit of advice - book directly with the hotel as they offer free internet access and continental breakfast within their rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the railway station Ask about the shuttle bus direct from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayrids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Rayrids,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read such nice comments regarding our staff and the level of service
you received on your recent stay with us.

I have to agree with your sentiment regarding Angela she is an exceptional member of staff.

On your return to Dublin contact me through tripadvisor or directly at the hotel, I can book one of our new renovated rooms for you.

Best Regards,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We were on a flying visit to Dublin for the Heineken Cup Semi Finals so were only using the hotel as a place to lay our heads. The hotel isn't in the best area of Dublin but is close to the bus station (we were getting an early bus the next morning) and a short walk from Temple Bar and a 20 minute walk from the Aviva Stadium. I can't comment on the facilities but the room was perfect for our needs (ie a shower and a place to sleep). One of my friends hates soft beds and found the beds a bit soft but I slept soundly (nothing to do with the consumed Guinness!)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaelmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Deal Gaelmc,

Thank you for your review.

Our hotel is very popular with rugby fans due to our transport links and proximity to the sporting grounds.

Hopefully your return visit will be a longer one and you get to sample all that the hotel has to offer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next trip to Dublin.

Regards,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

The North Star is a Hotel of two halves - the original building fronting onto Amiens Street, and a newer building behind this - separated by the railway line!

Commuter and DART trains to Connolly Station run from 06h00 to 23h00 approximately and if you're on the train side of the building this could be a problem, although I found the windows were very good sound insulators.

I stayed in the "old" building which was in the process of being redecorated so a faint smell of paint in the hallways. My room was average size, but very clever use of space made it seem bigger. Lovely linens, plush carpet and a brand new bathroom were added bonuses. The bed is without doubt the most comfy hotel bed I've slept in for years.

The location is steps away from Dublin's main rail and bus stations and an easy walk to O'Connell Street - slightly longer (15 minutes walk) to Grafton Street or Temple Bar. Handy for IFSC and many businesses if you're a business traveller. The area is busy and safe during the day. In common with a lot of big cities, though, because it's so near the stations it can be a bit daunting at night with panhandling etc. My advice is if you go out to dinner, walk there and take a taxi back.

Breakfast wasn't included in my room rate. It was tasty enough but not wow for the money - €10.95 - you can do better, especially if you walk 10 minutes to Jury's Custom House Quay which is the best breakfast buffet I've found in Dublin.

Overall a nice hotel - clean and friendly and value for money were the plus side. Minus side is there was no information on Internet access in the rooms and the location can be a bit ropey after dark for lone travellers. Oh - and the trains!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I first stayed at this hotel 28 years ago, but this time, now with family, my needs were quite different. Happily, things have been updated since 1984, and although of course the price was a lot higher than back then I'd still feel we got good value for money. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the breakfast was very good, and the room was clean. The location was perfect for us, as we arrived at Connelly station, and the hotel is just across the street. Some others have mentioned train noise, and it's certainly very evident at reception, however it was certainly not an issue in our room. I must agree with one reviewer about the breakfast utensils being left in the heat and getting too hot to handle, as we found the same thing. My only other negative comment was that they had a charge to leave baggage for a few hours after checkout and before we had to catch our flight, something offered as a courtesy at most hotels. However we were certainly satisfied overall, and would likely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DX2GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear DX2GO,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding out staff and breakfast.

I agree with your point in relation to our proximity to Connolly, there can be some train noise heard from the main building at reception but the majority of our room have no train noise as you found out during your stay.

The breakfast utensils can get hot as our breakfast service is three hours. For this reason we have a sign on the buffet notifying guest to such. Napkins are also provided by the hot station to use when handling utensils.
We are in the process of finding a solution to this and thank you for raising the point.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future, hopefully it's as long as your last return visit.

With Regards,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Perfect location, quiet place, clean, friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vale5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Vale5775,

Many thanks for your review.

Regards,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed here with a colleague on Thursday night last - we checked in at 7pm and were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was very helpful. The rooms we got we weren't expecting - incredibly modern, very spacious and with flat screen TVs and superb floor to ceiling windows which gave magnificent views over the city. Even better - we had access to the executive lounge on the 7th floor with tea, coffee and water - and better views again! The night porter even obliged us with 2 bottles of beer in the residents lounge after our return at 2am and couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast the next morning was great - exactly what was needed - lashings of "full Irish" and friendly staff. Came away very happy with our choice and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaneymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northstarhotelier, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Shaneymac,

I am pleased to read that enjoyed your stay with us.

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and post a photo.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing