We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #62 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
antrim
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I was a bit dubious about this hotel as it has received mixed reviews. However it was only for one night as we were going to a concert in Croke Park. Directly across the street from Connolly train station and an easy 15 minute walk to Croke Park so very convenient. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived at 1.20pm and were given our room (with a complimentary upgrade) straight away. Room clean and modern, nice bathroom, big TV, plenty of tea & coffee. Very quiet and really comfy beds made for a great nights sleep. Good breakfast selection but the breakfast room was very warm and very busy so we took our breakfast up to the room, no problem. All in all a great place to stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear cindyAntrim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel.

I am very happy to read that your trip to Dublin for the concert was a very pleasurable one.

We do try to accommodate guests arriving before check-in time of 2pm.
One way we have introduced in giving complimentary upgrades if they are available.

We hope to have you back to stay with us again.

Regards,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    952
    449
    194
    151
See reviews for
411
1,103
108
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed on tues night for a concert in croke park,have absolutely no complaints whatsoever. From reception staff to bar staff to breakfast staff they were extremely helpful and friendly.Really enjoyed my stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Quite alot of traffic noise in rooms in front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michinky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Michinky1,

Thank you for your review.
In particular your comments regarding our staff.

We have ongoing customer service training to ensure every guest in receives the same service and consistent standard.

We hope to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed here on a friday for a concert in the o2 and it exceeded expectations. location was brilliant for the price (€80 a night) and very convenient for the train station and the Luas. room was lovely and we were upgraded to a suite, however i felt the space in the room could have been utilised better and furnishing changed around to make it a cosier room. residents area was a nice touch for a relaxing read of the paper or just to pan out. we got back late enough and asked for a recomendation for a near by take away. the man behind the desk gave us their own menu so i decided to get this. ordered a 12 inch pizza and 2 hot dogs and it all came to €15 which was excellent and it was delivered to the room. food was delicious especially the pizza. parking isnt bad for a central hotel and only 7euro a day flat rate charge,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RorymcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear RorymcL.

Thank you for your review.

Exceeding guest expectations is a focus and goal of the hospitality industry. #
I am very pleased to read that we have achieved this with your stay.

The midnight munchies menu is a big hit with concert goers and leisure guests.

On the parking, we are one of only a few hotels in the City with parking on site and at only €7 your totally right it is very reasonable.

If you attend concerts regularly we have special offers available on our website for O2 breaks.

Kind Regards,

Damien Dowling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at the North Star hotel for 3 nights during a convention we had to attend and I have to say that I was pleased with my stay there. The rooms were quite big and comfortable and were thoroughly cleaned.
The hotel staff was very polite and helpful.
The

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soteris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Soteris M,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

The number of convention guests staying with us is on the increase given
our proximity to the Convention Centre Dublin.

Thank for the nice comments.

We hope to host you again if you return to Dublin.

Regards,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Being only across the road from the train station and only 3-4 minutes walk from the bus station, it was so convenient to go anywhere in or out of Dublin and walking distance to most of Dublin's sites. Even the local Spar was next door. The hotel itself was very nice, the service was very good, the staff were friendly and the food was excellent. Our experience of the North Star Hotel was very good and we would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants the best of Dublin.

Room Tip: Nice views from higher up. The trains don't affect sleep and it looks like you have a model rail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supergoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Supergoo3,

Thank you for your review.

Our location is a main plus for our property.
As you mentioned we are located close to all modes of transport
and still in the City Centre, within walking distance of all attractions and sites.

Thank you for such a nice review from a senior contributor.

Regards,

Damien Dowling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here recently as we were going to see Tom Petty in the o2. Very convenient location - literally across the road from Connolly station, which has a Luas connection to the o2 (or The Point) via Heuston station. Hotel is 5 minutes walk from O'Connell street. Room was well appointed (a wee bit tired, although it did seem a lot of the place was being refurbished). Bed very comfortable, bathroom was ok. Pub / restaurant again looked a bit tired, but the staff were lovely. Food hit the spot and was good value. Overall, a good place to stay for a short break in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlybap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear curlybap83,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and The Tripadvisor community.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You are right in what you say, the hotel is currently in the second phase of renovations. We have just completed the Georgian wing bedroom block. The bar is next to be renovated and work will begin around September/October time. This will just leave a small number of bedrooms to be finished.

The renovation program is continuing throughout the recession as we look to keep improving the level of product and standards delivered to each of our guests.

A number of guests comment that every time they return to our hotel there is an upgrade in features.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

With Regards,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at the North Star while going to see Tom Petty at the O2. On arrival we were a little early but the staff offered to store our bags - very helpful. We decided to camp out in the bar and do some work on the laptops - great coffee and tea at the bar - freshly made. Barman was very good. We then had a spot of lunch - which was great and checked in.

Room absolutely great - clean and quiet. Good aircon - bed very comfortable. Bagthroom spotless and modern. Internet good quality and fast. Tea coffee biscuits - Walkers - good quality.

We then booked a bus with the hotel to take us to the O2 - excellent service - cant fault it. We came out and got picked up right back to the front door. No fuss. Great service.

Breakfast was absolutely as good as its billed - no question. Full Irish - perfect and the white puddings very yummy. Actually its the best hotel brekkie I've had for a long time. Service great - they had the right number of staff as well so we were well looked after even though it was pretty busy.

Gym modern and clean - although we didnt get to us it.

All in all a great hotel - staff very friendly and helpful but unobtrusive at the same time which I very much like. Its also got a touch of Irish character which makes it more enjoyable from the usual Hilton Holiday Express blandness. I very much enjoyed it and would recommend it. Would I book again - yes absolutely - I just hope Tom Petty comes back soon as well!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavyRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Duty Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear DavyRobertson,

Thank you for such a nice review.

It gives us great pleasure to read reviews such as yours.
As a hotel it means we are doing the right things to please our guests.

I have pinned your review to our staff notice board.

Thank you again,

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Address at Dublin 1
#108 of 151 in Dublin
24 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,483 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,780 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing