We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot to see dublin”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #62 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good spot to see dublin”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the North Star Hotel Dublin. You enter into a period building that although run down at present is undergoing a full restoration, you then pass under the railway line and into a new multi floored modern hotel. The joy of the place is Its old and classic, but not the part where you have to stay, the view over the Dublin rooftops and the railway line are very charming.
The top floor residence lounge has great views, we ate in there on a takeaway that the reception staff ordered for us as it was to late for the kitchen.
The rooms are very well laid out , the bed was huge and very comfortable. Breakfast was self service It lacked any personal touch but there was plenty of it and wasted non of our precious time.
We would recommend this hotel, its a quality stay in a good position.

Room Tip: Go for the top floors the views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review and feedback is very much appreciated, we look forward to welcoming you back to The North Star Hotel.

Regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    951
    448
    194
    150
See reviews for
410
1,100
108
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I don't care what anyone says, the north star hotel was absolutely fantastic. I went the time of the Justin Bieber concert with my best friends, and once we walked in the friendly atmosphere was brilliant! They treated us like they knew us and helped us out a lot. Our rooms were brilliant! Looked 5 star! We had tea/coffee and a kettle in the room. We were right at the heart of Dublin. If we were stuck they gave us directions to the places we wanted to visit. Everything was great! I do agree with one of the rooms you could hear the trains, but realistically the trains stop at about 8 or 9 o'clock at night and don't start to 7 or 8 the next morning so it was not that big of a deal. Just book a room which isn't the train side if your that fussy. Other than that, I myself am going back to this wonderful hotel in June again, its the only hotel I wanted. Absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: If you a light sleeper and would be annoyed by the noises of a train early in the morning, try getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odhránn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Always a pleasure to read such complimentary reviews and that you were so very pleased with the service delivered by our team. I hope Justins concert was as enjoyable! You may have availed of it but just to make you aware that if on your next visit you are attending a concert, for major concerts and events we do offer a shuttle bus service direct from the hotel to the venue and return. We look forward to welcoming you back in June, if we can be of any assistance in the meantime do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Our first room had a fantastic view of the Dublin elevated train system, which was so close you could actually feel the entire building vibrate when a train went by. I do have to give the hotel people credit; when we asked right away to be moved to a quieter room, they sent a porter right upstairs with a new key to a room on the opposite side. The new room was quiet enough to sleep. The bed was comfortable and the location was central enough to get us close to certain key sites like Trinity college. Big thumbs down that if you arrive early and need to store your bags, they actually charge you money for it!

Room Tip: Get a room opposite of the train system
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Hamrow,

I hope that you enjoyed your visit to Dublin. I regret that you were initially inconvenienced but pleased to read that our team were prompt and diligent in offering you an alternative room. Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We booked our room through the secret hotel rooms option on last minute.com and from the description we were really looking forward to our stay. On arrival we were slightly less excited, sold to us as a newly refurbished hotel, although this was clearly the case inside, the exterior of the property still requires some attention particularly to the peeling paint! Also, this hotel was sold to us as four star, but the grading on the outside of the hotel was still 3 star as was the displayed Irish tourist board rating.

On entering the hotel, we were far more impressed and it was clear where the attention had been given when the hotel was refurbished. The lobby was in a very attractive and grand style with lots of comfortable but elegant chairs, mirrors and chandeliers. There is also a gym and sauna available to guests although we did not use them as it was a relatively short stay.

We checked in with our room allocated to us as it was ready before the stated check in time. I had previously contacted the hotel as our short break in Dublin was for a surprise celebration - to celebrate my husband's 30 th birthday and was pleased when they said they would ensure we were given a nice room. Unfortunately on arriving at our room on the first floor, it was far below our expectations.

The room itself was nicely decorated, although the bathroom was clearly old and did not seem like it had been included in the refurbishment. With the rooms proximity to the lifts, we could hear the announcement very clearly every time it arrived to deposit or collect other guests from the floor and right outside the window was a ventilation shaft which at frequent intervals let off noisy whirring sounds. The outlook was also not very good, looking directly through bars onto an adjacent office building.

So we requested to be moved, this was not the special 4* star experience we had expected. So for an extra charge of 30 euro per night we asked to be upgraded. We were then given a room on the 7th floor which was much more like other 4* hotel rooms we have stayed in in the past. The room was light and airy with a king sized and very comfortable bed. The room had a small balcony overlooking Croke Park and you could also see the Spire from the balcony. Additions such as free water, biscuits and additional tea and coffee were also a bonus in the premier suite lounge. Clearly there is a great difference between the quality of the rooms across the hotel, it is a lottery to which type of room you will receive almost like it is two hotels.

The additional charge to be upgraded was subsequently removed when I made them aware of my previous contact via email with the hotel and the promise that had been made to me, and although this made up for some of our disappointment it didn't leave a very positive impression of the hotel overall. But it's such a shame as it means that when we visit Dublin again we will be looking for alternative accommodation but will not be recommending our friends and family to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear SFS83,

As is our policy we investigate all guest concerns as brought to our attention. I have looked into the issues you express with regard to your visit and would welcome the opportunity to discuss them further. We do apply an additional charge for our Premier rooms and I would like the opportunity to confirm with you the charge which you incurred. Thank you for your kind comments with reference to our refurbishment, the hotel building itself was built in the early 19th-century and is a Georgian listed building, and is even mentioned in James Joyce's masterpiece 'Ulysses'.

Please feel free to contact us at reception@northstarhotel.ie

Kind regards,
Rhona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here with my 12 year old daughter in March 2013. Connolly train station is a 2 minute walk. The luas is also 2 mins away. Dublin city center is about a 15 / 20 minute walk. The hotel staff were very friendly & helpful. Check in was fast. Bar food was delicious & very tasty. Rooms, while small have been recently decorate. There was a Q at breakfast but staff handled this very well & everyone was seated with not too long a wait. The Hotel run a return bus to events near by ...ie. The O2, @ a cost of €7.50 pp. I will come back & stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear guest,

Great to read that we met your requirements and your stay with us was so enjoyable. On behalf of all of the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a great place to stay in Dublin, just across the road from the main railway station and a short walk from all city centre attractions. Very comfortable and well-equipped rooms. Be aware there's some noise from the very close railway line if your room is at the back of the hotel, but we were too tired to be worried by it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, away from the railway, if you think the noise will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiftworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights with a friend of mine this March and I cannot find another word to describe our stay, except amazing! People at the reception and at the bar were always very helpful, giving us tips of where best to go and how to go there! All were very friendly making sure that we feel mostly welcomed and at home! Food there was pretty amazing too! Rooms were also always clean! In my opinion, it is also located in a good area too, even though some locals did not agree! But we never found any problems, it's within walking distance from most of Dublin's touristic locations, and there's the O'Connelly station just across the street!

I am recommending this hotel to my Maltese friends, and will definitely visit again myself, hopefully in the near future :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Address at Dublin 1
#108 of 151 in Dublin
24 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,480 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,777 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing