We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant customer service....”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #62 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Brilliant customer service....”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Myself and my husband stayed in the North Star for one night as part of a package with the Bord Gais Theatre. I have to say from the moment we drove into the car park the customer service was top class. Our receptionist couldn't have helped us anymore. She was very friendly. She ensured that we got our dinner in plenty of time before having to leave for the show. She also organised our transport to the theatre. The food in McGettigans was top class and the service was excellent. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NMurray2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your high recommendation. It is a particular please to read such glowing feedback relating to the high standards in customer service our team consistently endeavour to maintain. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    951
    448
    194
    150
See reviews for
410
1,100
108
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

a great hotel the only thing was the bar had not got beer i like on draft only guinness The food i would recommend and the room was excellent so anyone who stays in it It is central for everything. verygood hotel.

Room Tip: premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 650chelseajoe650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review. Indeed, our draft selection of beers are largely craft beers which are increasingly popular in Dublin. We do also boast and extensive range of bottled beers in which I do hope you found your preferred beverage.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORT ALLEGANY
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were booked here as part of an Aer Lingus package and were a bit apprehensive about the neighborhood after reading reviews. We needn't have worried. We found Dublin to be very compact and walkable with all the attractions south of the Liffey within easy reach. We arrived at six in the morning after our flight, expecting to have to just leave our bags, but were checked right in to sleep for a few hours before hitting the city. The lobby furniture and wooden staircase ooze history, while the rooms are simple, modern and clean. Daily service left nothing amiss. The buffet breakfast offers a bountiful array of options - priced at either continental or hot inclusive. The train station across the street made for a convenient jaunt to the country to visit our cousins.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the trains. We heard them only very faintly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNAMARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to read that your stay with us was so thoroughly enjoyable and our prime location so convenient for your plans. I do hope the North Star Hotel will be your first choice for future trips to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Needed to stay in Dublin for one night only and picked the North Star as it is very convenient to train station , dart , bus aras and city centre. It was a real bonus to discover that the staff were very helpful and the room was spacious and clean. Would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jacintaMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I read from your review that you were a first time guest with us at The North Star Hotel, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team or Sales Director sarahpower@northstarhotel.ie whom would be happy to assist you in the future. I am delighted to read your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel - very friendly and welcoming staff. We had a premier room on the 6th floor and it was lovely. McGettigans had great cocktails and morning breakfast offered great choice and was yummy!
Only downside was that one lift was out of operation so there were some long waits to get back to the 6th floor.
If we come back to Dublin we would definitely look to stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Great recommendation and thank you. I profusely apologise for the inconvenience caused by one of our two lifts being out of service during your stay. I assure you we endeavour to handle any and all maintenance issues as promptly as possibly. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

It was truly wonderful to capture both the history and modern comforting conveniences at the North Star...the renovation of this historic building is very well done/we enjoyed our time in Dublin, and Ireland over all, and cannot wait to return someday :-)

Room Tip: The newly renovated wings are the best...always fun figuring out how to engage the electrics when fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MBMAYO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to make your review. As you point out our property is steeped in history with a notable mention in James Joyces' masterpiece 'Ulysses'. We have undergone full refurbishment but are extremely proud and were conscious of maintaining the atmosphere of the natural Georgian property.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had à great time in Dublin and have recommended your hotel to many people. Special thanks to claire who surprised us with champagne when we got engaged on our stay. Food great and breakfast plentiful. Cant wait go go back .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muckypup2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Firstly, congratulations to you and your fiancé on your recent engagement, we are delighted at The North Star to have been a part of it! Clare was delighted with the mention, she is a romantic!! Hopefully see you for your one year engagement anniversary (better yet, before!)

Wishing you every happiness in your future together,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Address at Dublin 1
#108 of 151 in Dublin
24 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,479 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,777 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing