We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but flawed”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice but flawed”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

After flying from the US, a shower is imperative. I was disheartened to find out there was no hot water. Guest services came and said I just needed to let the water run a little longer. Thus began my vacation, waking up up every day to have to let the water run prior to getting in the shower. The room was very clean, as was the hotel in general. The location was superb. To be considered four stars, I expect to have hot water without having to wait fifteen minutes.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmflucus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    936
    440
    193
    149
See reviews for
401
1,090
105
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We came up for the weekend had a great time.This hotel is in a good location and there are plenty of buses and taxis.The room was lovely, nice and clean.The breakfast was lovely. The only fault i have is the dinner wasnt that great and if you wanted veg you would have to pay for it which in my opinion is rediculous but overall all a good stay

Room Tip: I would say not near the road you can hear all the cars during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineO741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Really nice hotel great service and food ! Good location great breakfast and very efficient friendly staff, the shuttle bus to O2 is great, room very modern and stylish. Had a great sleep very comfortable beds!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just had a wonderful two night stay at the North Star. Close to the station and easy walk to all the attractions. Excellent accommodation and friendly, efficient service.Would recommend this hotel to all. Excellent value too! - can you tell I was impressed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ding5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel came as a shock to me. It's somewhere I'd never considered before, in fact I'd never heard of it but I'm so glad I discovered it.

This hotel is very stylish in a comfortable way. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, beds are very comfortable and every room is well equipped. The standard of cleanliness is outstanding. The rooms are impeccably serviced every day by a team of very smart and very polite staff. In fact every member of staff I encountered over 6 nights were very helpful, friendly and professional. The staff really stand out as being so professional, far more so than in virtually every other hotel I've stayed in.

The food is first class, the bar is well stocked and not as over-priced as many others are. There are comfortable communal areas, a quiet residents lounge, a gym & sauna and a concierge in the reception to help plan any day trips etc.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of O'Connell Street and there is a Luas (tram) station opposite the hotel. There are supermarkets and restaurants within a two minute walk of the hotel. It's an ideal hotel for a stay in Dublin. I'm very impressed indeed.

Room Tip: They are all good but some ground floor rooms to the rear of the hotel are a little dark during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cligereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

North Star is in the process of upgrading to 4 star.
There is a distinction however,between Premier Club Suites and the regular hotel rooms.
The Two of us stayed in the regular rooms.
A short walk from the very centre,15 mins,the value was outstanding.
Walking is no problem,even at night.
If it were located in Temple Bar,room prices would at least, be doubled.
Staff are obliging,rooms comfortable,breakfast very tasty,
The hotel is sparkling clean and a good place to relax.
Bar staff are great.
There is a rail station opposite,but the commuter access is round the back.
Train noise is not a problem,as they do not run through the night.
I certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steviegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

First we booked a package with Aer Lingus and got a great deal. We stayed here for 7 nights, in one of the older rooms which is very small and a bit dated. Rooms are clean and staff a very good. The website advertises a free continental breakfast, not true unless you are on premium package, not even coffe service in lobby. The breakfast available for sale I thought was a bit pricey. Overall if you don't mind a small room no continental breakfast, and you are looking for central location good choice. Restaurant is excellent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank duganjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#115 of 151 in Dublin
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,437 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beresford Hotel
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing