We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #65 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is small enough to feel like a local spot. Location is convenient to the train station (across the street), and there is some shopping nearby - mostly little grocery and convenience stores. We were on the 2nd floor and it was noisy, especially after games let out, plus the train tracks run close to the hotel at one spot. AC was nice though! Internet access is s-l-o-w in the rooms, better in the lobby, but still if a lot of people are online at the same time ... you'll wait forever to get a signal. Hotel staff is very nice. I had gotten sick one of the days, and they were very helpful to my daughter who was worried about me. They told her to bring me tea, which she did and it was lovely. And then I went down to dinner with her that night and just had a bowl of mashed potatoes, which were really very good. Everyone in the dining room, including some of the customers, asked me how I was feeling! We had a "Family Room" which was pleasantly large. Beds were comfy, rooms were clean, huge deep bathtub! Don't know that I would walk around that neighborhood after dark, but that might just be me.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxValleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It is sincerely a pleasure to read that our team so were considerate and helpful and I do hope your illness quickly passed and you managed to enjoy the rest of your time in Ireland.

Thank you for sharing your review.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 2,840 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a great stay this weekend. The room was great, really comfortable beds and was lovely and spacious and the balcony a great asset to enjoy! All staff were really helpful and great service was received. The restaurant and bar was very good and excellent friendly service, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the North Star Hotel for your recent weekend break, we look forward to being your first choice in Dublin for future visits.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Despite being in a noisy area the rooms are very quiet and clean too... no mini-bar in my room though.
Dinner at the hotel pub was great.. average price and good food... loved the chicken wings :)
All the people that I have met are nice and helpful and it makes you feel good. They do really care of their customers! :)
Location is great for any purpose. City tram and many buses pass in front of the hotel and trains as well as it is located in front of Connolly Station and beside Busaras (Coach Station).
5 Minutes walking to the Spire.
The breakfast included was "continental" but you can also get the upgrade to the "full Irish"...
:)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Claudia S,

Delighted to read you had such a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us and our city centre location was so ideal for your requirements. As you mention, we do not have minibars in our rooms however do offer 24 hour room service for food and beverages. Also, in our Premier rooms we do offer cooling units, ideal for chilled beverages, as standard. On your next visit with us please do not hesitate to let us know if we can at all further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how lovely this hotel is! My personal experience of city hotels is that you have to pay quite a lot of money to get a decent hotel, however this hotel was decently priced and had a lovely interior. I also did not realise how big our room was until we arrived, as there was a separate extra room adjoined to our room which had a tea and coffee maker with a dressing table. The man at reception was extremely polite and breakfast was fantastic (and included in our stay!). The hotel is only a short walking distance from the bus station which was handy, as well as a short walk to temple bar area. I would definitely stay at this hotel the next time I'm in Dublin and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank so very much for taking the time to make your review. We appreciate our guests feedback in order to continue to meet the high standards we set ourselves as a Dublin City Centrally located 4* hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back back hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My best friend and I staid here at the beginning and the end of our tour of Ireland. The first stay was very good. The view was horrid, but we're in a city...
There was air conditioning in the room because the windows didn't open in that particular room. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the rooms very clean.
Our second stay in the North Star was... warm. Be aware some rooms do not have a/c because they really don't need them. They supply fans and the windows open to let in a breeze.
The staff is very nice and I totally recommend this hotel.

Also, I don't know how the in-house restaurant is, but please go eat brunch at Graingers on the corner of Talbot right by the hotel.

Room Tip: There are plenty of stairs and weird hallways, and some rooms don't have a/c, so if this is an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Jamey W,

I do hope that you and your friend had a great recent trip to Dublin. Many thanks for making your review, we very much appreciate and value our guest feedback.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Spent a night here recently while experiencing Dolly Parton. Great hotel in a convenient location close to Connolly Station and Luas Stop with easy access to nearby major Theatres and Shows. Very nice hotel with exceptionally clean rooms and great front office and bar staff. A special mention for Paul in the Bar/Restaurant, very friendly and super efficient. Breakfast room a bit out of reach, no windows and staff could be a little brighter. Bedroom was well kitted out and exceptionally clean. Only downside was we needed to have the window open for air but nearby air-conditioning equipment caused some irritating noise interrupting sleep. (Ok, it was at a budget price and someone has to draw the short straw, but staff should have warned about noise and provided earmuffs.) Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for earmuffs if you are near the external aircon units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faganman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Faganman,

I hope you enjoyed the concert, reports from guests that attended were that Dolly put on a fabulous show! Thank you for choosing the North Star Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked 2 double rooms for 5 nights without breakfast, so I can't comment on the latter. Our room was very good and well equipped, clean and with coffee and tea preparing machine. The only disadvantage: our room was located on ground level and consequently the windows were barred. The staff were very friendly and helpful while we were also very pleased with the restaurant.
The hotel is well situated, just opposite to the Connoly Railway Station and the Busaras bus station. There are plenty of bars, pubs, cafes and restaurants nearby

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsterixThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for making your review, I do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#93 of 152 in Dublin
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#44 of 152 in Dublin
4,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#39 of 152 in Dublin
2,743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £88 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing