We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean rooms, friendly staff”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #63 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Especially if you are planning to take the train to other cities in Ireland, including Belfast in Northern Ireland, consider the convenience of this hotel. We stayed here at the beginning of our trip to shake off jet lag for a couple of days and at the end of our trip before departing for the airport. Both times we had clean rooms, enjoyed the easy walk to the center of Dublin and its shopping and sites, as well as being able to walk across the street to the train station. Some of the areas around the hotel are a bit seedy, so we didn't go out walking late at night but we felt very safe and comfortable in the hotel. The beds are super comfortable, and the air conditioning kept the temperature in our room where we wanted it. At one point, we opened a window, but the street noise was too annoying, so we relied on the AC for temperature control. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AblaAmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

I am very pleased to read from your review that our facilities and service met and surpassed your expectations. It is with particular delight to read that you found our team members to be so friendly and hospitable. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,420 - 1,426 of 2,841 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just got back from my break to galway and dublin must say i was very dissapointed in the stay in dublin , i have stayed in the northstar hotel 2 or 3 times ayear for the last eight years loved staying there but not this time booked a premier room as always normaly on 6th or 7th floor got 5th floor room not up to usual standard toilet was blocked reported it just after i arrived still the same when i left . The staff where not as helpful or friendly as they where before seem to change all the time will not be booking again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear James F,

I am disappointed to read your review. Our premier rooms are located on floors 5, 6 & 7 and are equally equipped in facilities and decor.

Due to the peak season of our industry and to ensure consistent delivery in customer service standards we have proudly increased the number of our hotel team members. I do regret that on your visit you felt that these levels were not met which I must acknowledge based on previous reviews are normally highly commended.

Kindly contact me direct to further discuss the issues you encountered and so as I may confirm in which room you stayed and address the maintenance issue you highlight within your review rhona@northstarhotel.ie

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from a six night trip to Dublin staying at the North Star hotel.The hotel is situated opposite Connelly railway station making it convenient for travel on the Dart along the coast and just a short walk to O'Conner Street. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful The room was immaculate and well serviced. Unfortunately we hit a heat wave and the room was without aircon but a fan was provided. Breakfast was plentiful and meals served in the bar in the evening were good and reasonable. The concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgeable also the reception staff. The whole hotel wasextremely clean and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We did request a quiet room which was provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Great to read you had such a fantastic six night break with us. The city has been enjoying some glorious weather recently, hopefully with much more to come. A small number of our rooms in our Georgian wing are not equipped with air conditioning, I am glad to read our team were able to make your stay comfortable. Your kind comments regarding our team and the service extended to you are particularly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel facing the Connolly station, half a mile distance to the landmark tower Spire, very near to Airport coaches and Luas tram stop. The area may be called as Bus, Coach, Train and Tram junction.
We requested to change our standard room from back to the front building. Unfortunately the old front building has no air condition then the room is being too warm. We did not prefer such a change. Safe, iron board, tea/coffee machine are standards in the room. You have to ring the bell to enter the hotel after midnight for the safety. There are few doors you can only open by plastic card for safety again to get to the room even in the day time. Safety is strict. Full İrish breakfast contains many choices, hot and cold. Finding seat at the basement breakfast room is so easy. There are fitness, meeting rooms, premier suites too. Staff were warm and friendly. İrish people is incredibly warm and helpful too though they are northern people. The manager lady is always on duty scrutinizing the hotel. We have stayed five nights, enjoyed well. Price/service ratio of the Hotel is reasonable. İreland and their folks really mesmerized us. We have had heard of praises of Dublin from magazine journalist Mr. Erçetingöz in Turkey and wanted to see this country very much. That was the reason we were in Dublin. Don't miss İrish stew, the Temple Bar, Guinness beer, İrish coffee and whisky.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritzy375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear ritzy375,

Thank you for choosing the North Star Hotel as your first choice for your recent trip to Dublin and that you so enjoyed our service and facilities.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our CIETOUR booked us all in to this hotel the night before transportation to Dublin Airport. Room was clean and well equipped but WARM. The evening manager was most gracious about our concern about breakfast. Our taxi was booked before to arrive before the dining room opened. She assured us we would be accommodated. In reality, in the AM, it took some questions to various staff to accomplish this, BUT eat we did.
Pub food was geeat and service even better.

Room Tip: we were ona busy street, I would try to get another perspective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucsonSiobbhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear TucsonSiobbhan,

I have enquired with my management colleague Clare as to the brief misunderstanding regarding breakfast and she has confirmed to me that our night porter had misunderstood that we were accommodating an early breakfast for you on the morning of your departure but am pleased that it was promptly clarified. Full breakfast service begins at 7am daily. We are however more than happy to facilitate our guests with early continental before this time as can appreciate our guests can often have itineraries and scheduled commitments.

Many thanks for your feedback.
Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is well located - except for being bank opposite the railway station which does cause a bit of noise. It is within walking distance of the shopping and tourist district.

However the USP of the hotel is one: extremely comfortable beds. The beds are by far the best I have slept in over a decade of business/leisure travel. I didn't think other reviewers would comment on this but clearly people have noticed this aspect which means other experiences also reflect this fact. Also, the rooms are tastefully done and cheery.

I would definitely recommend this hotel - do stay here if you want to sleep like a baby!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors if its going to face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VK_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us at the North Star Hotel. Indeed, we do receive many comments on the excellent standards of our beds throughout our rooms, I can confidently say however this is only one of the very many features of our hotel which encourage our guests to return.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next opportunity to visit Dublin.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is small enough to feel like a local spot. Location is convenient to the train station (across the street), and there is some shopping nearby - mostly little grocery and convenience stores. We were on the 2nd floor and it was noisy, especially after games let out, plus the train tracks run close to the hotel at one spot. AC was nice though! Internet access is s-l-o-w in the rooms, better in the lobby, but still if a lot of people are online at the same time ... you'll wait forever to get a signal. Hotel staff is very nice. I had gotten sick one of the days, and they were very helpful to my daughter who was worried about me. They told her to bring me tea, which she did and it was lovely. And then I went down to dinner with her that night and just had a bowl of mashed potatoes, which were really very good. Everyone in the dining room, including some of the customers, asked me how I was feeling! We had a "Family Room" which was pleasantly large. Beds were comfy, rooms were clean, huge deep bathtub! Don't know that I would walk around that neighborhood after dark, but that might just be me.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxValleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It is sincerely a pleasure to read that our team so were considerate and helpful and I do hope your illness quickly passed and you managed to enjoy the rest of your time in Ireland.

Thank you for sharing your review.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#94 of 152 in Dublin
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.5 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#40 of 152 in Dublin
2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#45 of 152 in Dublin
4,796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £89 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing