We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay- wonderful customer service”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #64 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
“Great stay- wonderful customer service”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great customer service. They helped keep with my bags, brought in a fan, delivered breakfast to my room for no extra charge, and even made breakfast earlier than breakfast hours for me because I had an early flight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicolekae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Great to read that our team could be so accommodating during your stay, I hope you had a pleasant trip home.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    956
    451
    201
    152
See reviews for
415
1,111
109
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and three days in January. The staff were fantastic, they did everything possible to help us organise our stay. We came up from Belfast on the early train and they were able to organise our room to be ready for 9 in the morning, which was fantastic as they couldn't guarantee it so it was a nice surprise. The breakfasts were good and it was nice to be seated. Our room was fairly quiet, you could barely hear the trains passing overhead. It was nice to have wifi in the room although it could be temperamental at times. We booked through trivago, saving a lot of money and getting a brilliant room. When leaving the hotel, we were getting an afternoon train but wanted to enjoy the last dublin had to offer in the morning. We asked reception could they look after our bags for a few hours, which was no problem. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernIrelandLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Great to read you so enjoyed your post Christmas break with us and our team delivered the exceptionally standards in service we consistently strive to aim for. Hopefully you might have the opportunity to revisit with us over the summer months.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillestrom, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed in the newer part of the hotel. Facing the railway and the noice from it did not bother me. The room was nice and had enough space to make me feel well (double room, one person). With a small lounge chair, a desk with a chair, an empty fridge and a double cupboard it suited me well. This is 15-20 minutes walk from the most touristic area and 10 minutes from the main shopping street. Across the road there is the Connoly Railway station and 50 meters away you will find the tram.
The front might not look impressive and the walk to the rooms reminds you that this is not new. Still it was nice to stay there. No problems with the cleanliness. The bathroom was fairly small, but I does not stay in that romm more than I need. I would recomend this hotel for a stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50_years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for your recommendation of the North Star Hotel. The original building of our property is of 19th Century Georgian structure steeped in Irish history, most notably immortalised in James Joyces masterpiece 'Ulysses'. In recent years we have added to this beautiful building however remained mindful of maintaining the original historic exterior.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Rhona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked for the above and wanted to see Dublin properly, so stayed 5 days. Premier suite on top floor has great views at the back of the hotel looking Northwards towards Croake Park stadium and includes use of the premier lounge with very good facilities (entry with key card). The room was very clean, beds were very comfortable and there was no street noise even when out on the balcony.

Room Tip: If you want quiet choose top floor at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skibum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Skibum63,

Many thanks for your review, I do hope that you had every opportunity to make the most of your time in Dublin and enjoy the best the city has to offer. On your next trip please feel free to contact our concierge prior to you arrival, he will be delighted to offer any assistance at all in making some recommendations concierge@northstarhotel.ie

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, WA, USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Especially if you are planning to take the train to other cities in Ireland, including Belfast in Northern Ireland, consider the convenience of this hotel. We stayed here at the beginning of our trip to shake off jet lag for a couple of days and at the end of our trip before departing for the airport. Both times we had clean rooms, enjoyed the easy walk to the center of Dublin and its shopping and sites, as well as being able to walk across the street to the train station. Some of the areas around the hotel are a bit seedy, so we didn't go out walking late at night but we felt very safe and comfortable in the hotel. The beds are super comfortable, and the air conditioning kept the temperature in our room where we wanted it. At one point, we opened a window, but the street noise was too annoying, so we relied on the AC for temperature control. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AblaAmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

I am very pleased to read from your review that our facilities and service met and surpassed your expectations. It is with particular delight to read that you found our team members to be so friendly and hospitable. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just got back from my break to galway and dublin must say i was very dissapointed in the stay in dublin , i have stayed in the northstar hotel 2 or 3 times ayear for the last eight years loved staying there but not this time booked a premier room as always normaly on 6th or 7th floor got 5th floor room not up to usual standard toilet was blocked reported it just after i arrived still the same when i left . The staff where not as helpful or friendly as they where before seem to change all the time will not be booking again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear James F,

I am disappointed to read your review. Our premier rooms are located on floors 5, 6 & 7 and are equally equipped in facilities and decor.

Due to the peak season of our industry and to ensure consistent delivery in customer service standards we have proudly increased the number of our hotel team members. I do regret that on your visit you felt that these levels were not met which I must acknowledge based on previous reviews are normally highly commended.

Kindly contact me direct to further discuss the issues you encountered and so as I may confirm in which room you stayed and address the maintenance issue you highlight within your review rhona@northstarhotel.ie

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from a six night trip to Dublin staying at the North Star hotel.The hotel is situated opposite Connelly railway station making it convenient for travel on the Dart along the coast and just a short walk to O'Conner Street. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful The room was immaculate and well serviced. Unfortunately we hit a heat wave and the room was without aircon but a fan was provided. Breakfast was plentiful and meals served in the bar in the evening were good and reasonable. The concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgeable also the reception staff. The whole hotel wasextremely clean and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We did request a quiet room which was provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Great to read you had such a fantastic six night break with us. The city has been enjoying some glorious weather recently, hopefully with much more to come. A small number of our rooms in our Georgian wing are not equipped with air conditioning, I am glad to read our team were able to make your stay comfortable. Your kind comments regarding our team and the service extended to you are particularly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#102 of 151 in Dublin
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,398 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,817 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing