We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very inviting atmosphere.”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #62 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
1 review
“Very inviting atmosphere.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Great place. They even checked us in early even though we arrived 9 hrs before allowed checkin. That saved us because we were exhausted. They even upgraded the room!

I wish continental breakfast was free because it's definitely not worth an extra 8.50 for a bowl of cereal and orange juice. The hot breakfast was tasty though. That cost extra.

The restaurant was very good. Awesome food and although the world cup was on, it wasn't ridiculously noisy.

I noticed a lot of places in Ireland had a unique floor plan layout. This was another very neat one to explore.

We thought we were in a prime location because of all the shopping, but more exploring revealed that we were far from the area we wanted to be in. The downtown old part of Dublin. It is right next to the train station though. This can be convenient, or cumbersome because of the loud trains. It didnt bother us though, although our window wouldn't close completely.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    952
    449
    194
    151
See reviews for
411
1,103
108
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very nice hotel, room was spacious , very clean & tidy. Reception & bar staff were very helpful. The staff attended to you quickly when entering the breakfast room.Good English breakfast every morning ,choice of food was plentiful and hot. Train station just over the road and not too far to walk into the main centre of Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I booked a premier room with hopes of using premiere lounge. Advertised pictures premiere lounge with food. But that is only a coffee machine, mineral water and tea bag no snack or any food. Room is clean but there is no sleepers or bathrobe. Beforr I booked this hotel I made a call to the hotel to find out about the lounge if they serves afternoon tea or evening cocktail in premier lounge. They staff a lady said yes. But I really disappointed there is nothing in there. I felt cheated.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sur Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booked a room in this hotel in November 2013 to stay overnight for the Dolly Parton concert . the booking form specified that the room I booked was air conditioned. When we got there we were allocated a nice room in the old section of the premises. The room was well equipped except for one big drawback it had old style radiators which despite the high temperatures at this time we were unable to switch off. I spoke to the receptionist who agreed to send somebody to solve the problem. within an hour a very young porter arrived, looked at the radiator and departed. silly me thought that a plumber would deal with the problem while we were at the concert but we arrived back to a sweltering room compounded by the noise from the trains which travelled just outside the window.

Room Tip: Avoid the older part of the hotel and check your booking data when going there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 912silly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Dont stay at the front of the hotel, very noisey with traffic and station opposite.
Resteraunt in the hotel was quality.
Rooms clean and tidy and the hotel was in a handy location, I would stay there again but would take earplugs just in case I got another front room

Room Tip: back not front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank biglad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in Dublin for a few days in June, and found the North Star to be one of the better inexpensive hotels in the area. We had no problem walking around and finding good places to eat and to visit from the hotel's location, and for the most part our room was very quiet. The wifi signal was pretty strong, which was nice. In regards to critiques of the hotel - my boyfriend and I arrived during a surprisingly intense hot spell, and found that the air conditioning could not compete with the heat, so we had to leave the windows open and allow some noise from the back street in. The first night we were there, there was also somebody in the hallway painting the walls, so we had to throw a towel under the door to prevent the paint fumes from wandering in (it seems this hotel is still doing minor refurbishments). Overall though, we had a very nice time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good hotel, clean, friendly, good location, nice breakfast but be carefull you don't eat too much ;-).
Used the airlink bus which was perfect to get to and from the hotel from the airport.

Also had some food in the restaurant which was very tasty!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Address at Dublin 1
#108 of 151 in Dublin
24 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,483 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,781 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing