We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Star Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Maple Hotel(Dublin)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (2,892)
    Filter reviews
    2,892 results
    Traveller rating
    1,012
    1,017
    481
    222
    160
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,012
    1,017
    481
    222
    160
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsconnolly stationpremier roomtrain noisetrain lineo'connell streetbreakfast roomcity centretemple barlovely hotelhotel restaurantbooked this hotelfantastic staytea coffeewe arrived earlyfull irish breakfastfollowing morningcroke park
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,413 - 1,418 of 2,892 reviews
    Reviewed 20 July 2014

    We stayed two nights here whilst touring Ireland. It is opposite the entrance to Connolly station so perfect and only 10 minutes on the tram to Heuston station. There is a really warm welcome, nice bar and outside space for a nightcap after being out on the town. It is a 15 minute walk across the river to the main streets of Dublin, but this means the hotel area is fairly quiet. Wifi is really hit an miss, but you will log on eventually, speed is good once you jump on. Breakfast is served in a hot windowless basement, and a bit stuufy and claustraphobic. It is great though and set us up for the day. A bit expensive though,so eat all you can. All in all a great hidden gem and great for getting around.

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank AdrianH1967
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

    Dear valued guest,

    Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

    Kind regards,
    Rhona Brady

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 July 2014

    We enjoyed our stay at North Star. The staff was wonderful. Over our stay in Dublin, we were in two different rooms. Both were clean and nicely furbished. Loved our bathroom (especially with the second room:-) it was huge and beautifully remodeled. We loved the location of North Star to all the places we wanted to see in Dublin (Temple Bar, Henry Street, Grafton Street)

    Room Tip: If you can stay in the newly refurbished wing, it was lovely!
    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Olive M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

    Dear valued guest,

    Thank you for choosing the North Star Hotel for your recent trip to Dublin, delighted to read that we enhanced your time in Dublin nad that you had an enjoyable stay. I hope that you may have the opportunity to revisit in the future.

    Kind regards,
    Rhona Brady

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 July 2014

    JUst back from the north star ,very clean , lovely hotel , great location , very near the train , and bus station ,Breakfast was absolutely superb with very helpful and attentive staff , We had a room in the older part of the hotel (room 210) initial reaction was clean modern and well appointed ,with small opening window ,
    It Was always very warm but as the day drew on it became even hotter and stuffier (i think it must have been over a kitchen and caught afternoon sun ) , so we opened the little window , (no aircon) , Problem was its within 20 yards of a busy railway , not much of a problem in the day with double glazing but a nightmare in the evening and early morning as it was just so hot ,even with the widow wide open ,! Sleep was very interrupted which spoiled our break .
    If we went again would try and stay in the newer part of the hotel (premier rooms ?)
    The management really need to address these issues , as the hotel itself is a great place to stay and eat .

    Room Tip: Pick a Premier room i should think , Rooms in older part to the rear are a nightmare to sleep
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank andybk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

    Dear Valued Guest,

    On behalf of myself and my management colleagues I assure we have taken your comments onboard constructively. We very much value all of our guest feedback in order to continue to strive to meet our high standards.

    Kind regards,
    Rhona Brady

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 July 2014

    The hotel was in a very convenient location. Nice first impression and most of the staff was friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was the air conditioner didn't work and our room was very hot. We asked if we could move to another room, but they said the hotel was booked, except for the upgraded rooms. They offered to move us for $30.00 euros more per night.

    Room Tip: Make sure air works or upgrade.
    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank CherylW1959
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Many thanks for your feedback, I hope that you had an great trip in Ireland.

    Kind regards,
    Rhona Brady

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

    Staff was wonderful! They were so helpful and welcoming. Rooms are gorgeous (though, A/C was either not working or the room didn't have one-- didn't deter us from enjoying it). Great location. Loved it.

    • Stayed: July 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Michelle K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

    Dear Michelle K,

    Greatly pleased to read you had a great recent stay with us, I do hope we may welcome you back in the near future.

    Kind regards,
    Rhona Brady

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews