We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and Hotel.”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff and Hotel.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Your staff was very helpful and accommodating. They were right on top of things. The room was pleasant. The Hotel is about a ten to fifteen minute stroll to the city center. The North Star is just across the street from the railway station, so its handy for rail travelers. My wife and I stayed at the North Star for the two nights we were in Dublin. I would recommend this Hotel to everyone

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the railway track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wayne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your recommendation and in particular your compliments towards our team. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    935
    439
    193
    148
See reviews for
400
1,088
105
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We decided to stay in Dublin for a night for our anniversary, and checked out some last minute websites - there was a surprise hotel for a super cheap rate, so we booked it on a whim and it turned out to be the North Star Hotel.

Reception is small and friendly, the layout of the hotel is a little strange, with lots of small corridors and inter-joining buildings, but all in all for the price it is a great value hotel!

The room was everything you would expect it to be, tidy and clean with normal hotel type things. For a more budget hotel, everything was well designed and the bed was large, lush and super comfortable.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but were really happy with the close proximity to shops, restaurants, bars etc. For the price we were extremely happy with our stay and would recommend the North Star Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kungfukitty_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recommendation, delighted that you were so pleased with our service and facilities. I do hope you have the opportunity to revisit Dublin in the near future and chose The North Star Hotel as your first choice in Dublin.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were worried when we first arrived, as it appears that a train (some sort of electric tram?) runs right through the middle of the hotel. But whether it does or not you cannot tell from inside the hotel. We never heard anything nor felt any indication of it's presence. The Northstar is a strange layout. The elevator to the rooms is not located on the ground floor. it's up a steep set of stairs and down a long hall (that crosses over a street I believe). Carrying our luggage all that way was difficult for me as I am a senior. Fortunately you only do that when you arrive and when you leave ... since we were there for a week the rest of the time it was just a the stairs and walk but no luggage. Everything else was as we would expect from any decent hotel. The staff was friendly the 'full Irish' breakfast was very good, the room was large enough and clean, there were makings for tea or coffee in the room etc. etc. Would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pupsdad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Delighted to read we can expect the opportunity to welcome you back to The North Star Hotel.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
224 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As our GB weekend was doomed, we decided to abandon our previously booked Travelodge which was now a bit too far away( despite being described as city centre). We were now much handier to see things and liked the hotel. Food in the bistro was excellent. Room was a bit noisy but don't know where the noise came from. Would go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PeeTeeMascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks fro your review.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed a this hotel for a total of 3 nights: a single night when we first flew into Dublin, then two nights at the end of our vacation in Ireland. The first night we were given a fairly nice room that looked recently refurbished. Only problem was there was a place on the floor next to the bed that when one stepped on it, it sounded like the entire floor was giving way. Kind of annoying when getting up at night to use the WC.

About 6 days later we checked back in for our last two nights in Dublin. There was only me and my wife but we were given a "family room" with 3 beds--a double and two twins. Had enough towels, shampoo and soap to service a small army. Problem was the AC was not up to par. That week the temps in Dublin were unseasonably warm and the room was very uncomfortable. We asked to be moved and were told there were no other "family rooms" available. We explained we were only two and didn't need a family room. When we came back from touring we were told that the AC had been fixed and was working "perfectly" and we could keep our family room. Sadly, the AC was NOT fixed, but instead of making a stink we rode it out our last night there.

The staff was very polite and seemed to try to work with us, so I don't know where the resistance was coming from. I'd avoid staying here if possible.

On the plus side it almost across the street from the tram and Connelly Station, making it very convenient for town travel.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC works as soon as you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frankidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Frankidee,

Thank you for posting your valuable review. We are always keen to hear the guests’ feedback in order to improve our services; your feedback is very much appreciated.

I am delighted to hear that our polite and helpful staff stood out as a real positive and the location of the hotel worked to your advantage. However I regret that you had a number of issues during your stay with us.

I would like to assure you that we have maintenance systems in place which would normally flag up any faults in bedrooms and I can only assume this was a very unusual oversight on our part. I sincerely regret if you were inconvenienced in any way on your return visit to the North Star Hotel and I can assure you that this is most certainly not the high standards we set for ourselves. We endeavor to ensure that each and every customer has a memorable experience when they stay with us.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the North Star Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Diana Salciute
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great experience overall.. Lovely food, great location and friendly staff.One thing to mention is the car park.. The hotel car park is run by a seperate company which the guest is required to hand over the keys, me and partner where not very comfortable with this so we requested to keep the keys but the company would not oblige. We then spoke with the hotel manager who was ever so helpful and got our keys back. This is the first time of such a policy and totally disagree!! But as I stated it is not the hotels fault and they where very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Lavina22,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. All feedback we receive helps us to consistently review the service we provide our guests.

I was delighted to see that you had an opportunity to experience fabulous food we have to offer in McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar and that our staff took such good care of you throughout your stay.

Despite the inconvenience that you experienced with our Car Park service providers I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the North Star Hotel in the near future.

Do let us know when you are coming back again and if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Warm Regards,
Diana Salciute
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for one night here in July 2014. Central location ten minute walk to city centre. On site parking available which is a plus in Dublin! Rooms were clean and a good size. Good breakfast plenty of choice, and friendly staff. Well definitely stay here next time I'm in Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna-mct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Shauna,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay at the North Star Hotel especially our newly refurbished contemporary design room and breakfast buffet with a wide range of fruits, cold meats, freshly baked pastries & yogurts as well as hot Irish buffet using only the highest quality of freshly cooked products.

We are indeed located in Dublin City Center and so all you need is within reach of a hand. Car Park Services is privately owned yet it is available to all of our guests which is highly beneficial to our customers.

Once again thank you for posting your valuable review. I am looking forward welcoming you back to the North Star Hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Diana Salciute
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#117 of 151 in Dublin
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#52 of 151 in Dublin
3,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,436 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beresford Hotel
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing