We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and leisure”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #64 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Business and leisure”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I booked a family room for the stay for myself and my two teenage children, and whilst the room possessed enough beds (a double and a single), everything else was as per the single/double occupancy room I had previously had stayed in. The first room we received had a sink that did not drain and a toilet that did not flush, but we were offered another room as soon as I complained. The second room was adequate, however the AC was too noisy to have on at night, fortunately the Dublin weather meant that was not an issue after the first day or two!
I also used the laundry service, however this was a frustrating experience. I sent a bag of clothes, including shirts, for the wash/dry/iron service advertised in the hotel services folder, and received back washed and dried clothes, but un-ironed - not great for work the next morning. Again the hotel resolved this within 24 hours, however I would not expect that this sort of thing should happen in a hotel that insists on its 4-star rating.
The breakfast service is adequate, and my family and I enjoyed evening meals in McGettigans.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Marc S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your evening meals at our newly launched and already well-known McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar as well as breakfast at the North Star Hotel.

I was however disappointed to see that that you had a few issues during your stay with us. I sincerely regret if you were inconvenienced in any way on your visit to the North Star Hotel and I can assure you that this is most certainly not the high standard we set for ourselves.

We understand the importance of comfort to the business and leisure traveller and we look forward to welcoming you back to the North Star Hotel. Do let us know when you are coming back again and if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.


Kind Regards
Diana Salciute
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    958
    451
    202
    152
See reviews for
418
1,112
109
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Perfect in every way. Staff very helpful and available to help with every need, whether it was questions on Dublin or hotel needs. The location is brilliant - walking distance from Connolly and Lucas - parking available too which was a plus! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Historyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Your review is a delight to read. I am very pleased that we met and surpassed your expectations.

Many thanks,
Rhona Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the North Star Hotel in Dublin. We found it was in a good location, within walking distance of many of the attractions, the bar was relaxing, breakfast tastt and staff very friendly.

The only downfall waa our room was at the front of the hotel on the main road. The room was boiling, boiling hot, with no fan provided, so we had to have the window open 24/7 which ended up being quite noisy.

We coped and it didn't ruin our staff.

We would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbieGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, I do hope you have the opportunity to revisit in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have been in the hotel for two nights. The room was very clean, well decorated and with a lot of facilities; hairdresser, iron,...the restauurant was very very good. About the location is not in the center but 10 min walking and just near the first station of Lya tram.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuriaPinol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review. A pleasure to read you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Your staff was very helpful and accommodating. They were right on top of things. The room was pleasant. The Hotel is about a ten to fifteen minute stroll to the city center. The North Star is just across the street from the railway station, so its handy for rail travelers. My wife and I stayed at the North Star for the two nights we were in Dublin. I would recommend this Hotel to everyone

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the railway track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wayne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your recommendation and in particular your compliments towards our team. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We decided to stay in Dublin for a night for our anniversary, and checked out some last minute websites - there was a surprise hotel for a super cheap rate, so we booked it on a whim and it turned out to be the North Star Hotel.

Reception is small and friendly, the layout of the hotel is a little strange, with lots of small corridors and inter-joining buildings, but all in all for the price it is a great value hotel!

The room was everything you would expect it to be, tidy and clean with normal hotel type things. For a more budget hotel, everything was well designed and the bed was large, lush and super comfortable.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but were really happy with the close proximity to shops, restaurants, bars etc. For the price we were extremely happy with our stay and would recommend the North Star Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kungfukitty_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recommendation, delighted that you were so pleased with our service and facilities. I do hope you have the opportunity to revisit Dublin in the near future and chose The North Star Hotel as your first choice in Dublin.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were worried when we first arrived, as it appears that a train (some sort of electric tram?) runs right through the middle of the hotel. But whether it does or not you cannot tell from inside the hotel. We never heard anything nor felt any indication of it's presence. The Northstar is a strange layout. The elevator to the rooms is not located on the ground floor. it's up a steep set of stairs and down a long hall (that crosses over a street I believe). Carrying our luggage all that way was difficult for me as I am a senior. Fortunately you only do that when you arrive and when you leave ... since we were there for a week the rest of the time it was just a the stairs and walk but no luggage. Everything else was as we would expect from any decent hotel. The staff was friendly the 'full Irish' breakfast was very good, the room was large enough and clean, there were makings for tea or coffee in the room etc. etc. Would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pupsdad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Delighted to read we can expect the opportunity to welcome you back to The North Star Hotel.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#101 of 151 in Dublin
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,530 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,402 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing