We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a quiet room and you will get one - great location and top value!”
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harcourt Hotel
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
LukewarmCatastrophe
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Ask for a quiet room and you will get one - great location and top value!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Dublin is a very expensive city and often, the price to quality ratio with the hotels is not always favourable.

I scoured the top booking sites reading dozens of reviews and weighing up many factors before finally deciding to take a punt on The Harcourt Hotel. I booked through Expedia for £145 (pre pay/non-refundable cost) for 3 nights, plus cashback through my employer which made the price even more attractive.

I was familiar with the area having stayed in the nearby Jackson Court hotel 4 years ago and much like the Jackson Court, the Harcourt Hotel go to great lengths to explain what a noisy area of Dublin this is before you book. Bars and clubs line this street and from Thursday night through to the weekends, you are gonna need your earplugs unless you plan in advance and ask for a quiet room like we did.

We were kindly allocated a top floor loft room (5102) in the adjacent building to the main block/reception. Although our room faced out onto the street, this was apparently a far quieter option than the rooms which face out onto the rear beer garden!

Indeed, for 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed, we experienced complete tranquility! It was only the third night where a combination of throbbing rain on our skylight window, sirens and general partying kept us awake which wasn't ideal due to us having a very early flight - but it certainly wasn't the hotels fault!

We were happy with our room. It was fairly compact in size, but the bed was cosy, the bathroom despite being tiny was clean and served its purpose well. Plenty of clean towels, a hairdryer, wardrobe space, ironing board, tea and coffee facilities etc all added to the value.

Staff were friendly although we had minimal contact with them other than initial check in and check out. They arranged a taxi for us which we booked using our room phone and this arrived promptly at 4:30am for our trip to the airport.

We spent two nights at the Olympia Theatre for a concert which was within a 10 minute walking distance. The beautiful St Stephen's Green park is 5 minutes down the road and we had a lovely stroll around it.

We would return to the Harcourt in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukewarmCatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    338
    282
    191
    270
See reviews for
152
324
68
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ft mitchell, ky
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very noisy, a residence turned into an hotel. Part of a complex of a late night bar/club with an after hours club across the street so figure loud people noise until 4 or 5. Breakfast experience was at best described as disorganized.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank leccvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Possibly the worst hotel I have stayed at. The venue is actually a night club, which they don't tell you when you book. That's great if you want high levels of noise and light until 2am and beyond. They do supply ear plugs in every room which will tell you how bad it is but that doesn't help much as light also floods through every available window. You can't open the window for ventilation as that just increases the noise and there's no aircon. two of us stayed and both room's had flaking woodwork, my sink was broken and falling away from its surround (RM 1604). Food, even when order fresh off the menu was cold and the last straw was 3.50 for 1/2 pint of Guiness. Breakfast was ok but even arriving at 7:30 when its starts doesn't guarantee hot food.

Room Tip: don't stay here unless you want to club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevejaytog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel offers a good size room for travelers and is close to the shopping district of Dublin and many attractions. It is conveniently a walking distance to the several sites to see in the city.
The breakfast that is included in the stay offers a variety of hot and cold dishes and is a good value.

I would like to mention the night porter, Thomas Deane who was most helpful in giving us inside information around Dublin and the rest of Ireland. He was not only helpful but also courteous and gracious to the guests.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street as it can get noisy on week-end nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lovely staff, rooms and perfect location. Rooms are spacious and quiet. Hotel was very clean. Receptionist recommended places for us to eat and drink. Located right beside Stephens Green and the Luas line.

Room Tip: Get rooms to the back of the hotel. The Luas line can be quite loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0m92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmullet, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I am amazed at the positive reviews about this hotel on here. I stayed here the weekend of 24/25 May 2014 with my two children for the One Direction concerts in Croker. Whilst the location of the hotel is excellent, the family "suite" we stayed in consisted of what was obviously a former office workspace - there were three single beds and one double bed - two of the single beds were randomly placed in the middle of the room..... filthy divan style beds with stains visible across the base of the divan.. Hairy dirty brown blankets as covers. The double bed and other single were pull out beds from a unit across a wall - again hairy dirty brown blankets as covers - when I pulled back the sheet on the double bed there were black hairs in the bed which made me wonder had it been changed from the last occupants.... Could not sleep with the blankets anywhere near me. The double bed mattress had seen better days - a big hollow in the middle of it which we rolled into every time we turned. There were square power points sunken into the ground in the middle of the room, and double doors into the next room which shook anytime anyone moved in either room. The bathroom was however clean which was a bonus. The best was yet to come - on Sunday night after the concert we were sleeping in the room (just about!!) and the fire alarm went off. It went off 3 more times - on investigation we discovered who I presume was the duty manager at the room opposite us frantically waving his hands in the air trying to dispel thick smoke... the female occupant of the room was laughing hysterically - she had set fire to papers on top of the fake logs in the fireplace in the room triggering the fire alarms. A stream of people left their rooms, children included, to stand on the the steps in the rain at 3.45 a.m. The manager was still dancing around the place waving his arms wildly... Fawlty Towers comes to mind! Another resident of the hotel then took exception to the high pitched laughing and tomfoolery going on from the female responsible for the fire...so she began rowing at top volume with her, threatening to put the smile on the other side of her face etc. etc. etc. At this point the Gardai were called - not sure who called them. The rowing continued for a further half hour or so with the Guards eventually threatening arrest. Around quarter to five in the morning we went back to bed... On checking out the following morning the receptionist asked "Was everything good with your stay?????" I did ask if she was joking.... and explained what happened. At the very least i expected an apology... how foolish was I? She said "There was nothing the hotel could do about that" .... Well I can do something about it - never staying there again - would rather sleep in my car and to add insult to injury it cost us €285 for the "pleasure"...... Nevery again and if you are considering booking this hotel, run in the opposite direction very fast

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you're looking to sleep before 4AM then this isn't the hotel for you!!

However if you're in Dublin for the nightlife then this is the perfect place!

Our rooms, 106 and 601, were vibrating from the nightclub until about 4AM every night!!

Room 601 was in fact directly next door to the nightclub... so you might as well join them for a drink in the club if you get this room!!

The rooms were clean and the staff were generally a pleasure to deal with. However there is a young gentleman, with dark hair/glasses, that works on reception that was always quite grumpy - think he could do with a good night out himself!!!!

If you're here for a hen/stag party then look no further as the location is ideal for town - anything else then you may want to pay a little more and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bensterich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Harrington Hall
#86 of 151 in Dublin
523 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#79 of 151 in Dublin
782 reviews
Albany House
#68 of 151 in Dublin
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#133 of 151 in Dublin
467 reviews
The Dean
#69 of 151 in Dublin
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Property: Harcourt Hotel
Address: 60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing