We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad”
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harcourt Hotel
Ranked #116 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the harcourt in May 2014, yes it was a bit noisy but we had no trouble sleeping and the staff we really great, helpful and friendly.
The hotel is well located and 5 minute walk to Temple Bar

Room Tip: The noise comes more from the street with all the people coming and going from a few nightclubs in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Excellent location for all areas in city centre , night club below hotel excellent also , would highly recommend , usual complaint is the high prices for entertainment ie drink , but again would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just back from a Weekend at this Hotel. We Checked in at 3 0' Clock our Rooms were not ready till 6 0' Clock. We got our card keys and they were not working, got other ones and they were not working, so back down again and it turns out the Girl at desk came giving us wrong cards each time as she couldn't understand what name we were saying as "Her English was Very Bad" We told her our name again "Very Slowly" she got it this time. Got to rooms around after 7.30 tired and hungry. So had quick showers and headed to restaurant looking forward to family dinner. But the Restaurant was Closed so told to get food in The Bar. Ok. We headed in, Ordered what was left on Menu witch was not much. Were in middle of Eating Starters and this Guy comes over and Says you have to leave with that Child as she can't be here after certain time. (We were not even Drinking) He said eat that as soon as can and leave. Waitress started taking food of us before we were finished. And stood there so we pay for what we had Quick and leave. We were still Hungry as was Our little Girl, so asked could we bring one thing to eat to our rooms. Told NO the Chef was finished now. We were so upset, I wanted to leave there and then, but were so tired. So went back to our rooms. Says Twin Rm suit 3, but it doesn't as 2 very small single beds, and very pokey Room, with Terrible Lot Of Street Noise During whole night til early morn. Was so disappointed with there lack of thought and the Assistants in Hotel.

Room Tip: You Might not get your Room on time of Arrival and Not Get to Eat Food ESP if in Bar. And Get NO Sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melcollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is so old and outdated...windows don't open fully and the rooms are so small it's like a sweat box!!! Tv didn't work!!! The parking in the college of surgeons isn't on the college it's in the Stephens green multi story car park which they neglect to tell you tell you have spent a hour driving around Dublin and rang them to get the response the locals know!!!!!! Won't be staying here again!!!! Few quid more and you will get a hotel 100 times better!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a twin room booked for a business stay and it was the smallest room I have ever stayed in as well as the hottest. The small tv had no reception so was unusable and there was no room to store my things so it was very uncomfortable. The shower was dirty and at 4:00pm we were asked if we wanted the room cleaned? My main issue was staying in the 3rd floor with no elevator. My other option was to use one of 2 staircases. We carried heavy babe up to the 2nd floor to find the door locked so had to carry the bags back down to reception towards the 2nd staircase. On getting to the 2nd floor we were stopped by workmen who were installing a new stater axe so again had to go back to reception. We the. Bad to carry bags up a third time to the first floor across this floor and then up another narrow staircase. We stayed for 2 nights with no use of an elevator. As pre warned the hotel does have a lot of outside noise but this wasn't as distressing as the exit route from the hotel narrow, half finished staircase, bare wires, exposed nails (which scratched my shoes) rolled up carpets etc.....not safe if there was a fire or emergency evacuation. Would not stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank jimmii977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We've just been for a weekend away for a hen night and this hotel was perfect. It has a great club and bar downstairs in the evenings. Friday night we didn't use the club and didn't really have any trouble with noise even though we were on the first floor. There is a lovely garden to the bar too so during the day is a nice place to sit and have a drink. We had breakfast included and have no complaints, everything was being cooked and topped up regularly so was hot and plenty of choice. We had big rooms for 3 or 4 of us which was nice too. Would definitely recommend for groups of friends but nice friendly atmosphere for anyone so good if you want somewhere with some nightlife, we didn't realise before but worked perfectly for us. Short walk down into Dublin too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank hlbrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Dublin is a very expensive city and often, the price to quality ratio with the hotels is not always favourable.

I scoured the top booking sites reading dozens of reviews and weighing up many factors before finally deciding to take a punt on The Harcourt Hotel. I booked through Expedia for £145 (pre pay/non-refundable cost) for 3 nights, plus cashback through my employer which made the price even more attractive.

I was familiar with the area having stayed in the nearby Jackson Court hotel 4 years ago and much like the Jackson Court, the Harcourt Hotel go to great lengths to explain what a noisy area of Dublin this is before you book. Bars and clubs line this street and from Thursday night through to the weekends, you are gonna need your earplugs unless you plan in advance and ask for a quiet room like we did.

We were kindly allocated a top floor loft room (5102) in the adjacent building to the main block/reception. Although our room faced out onto the street, this was apparently a far quieter option than the rooms which face out onto the rear beer garden!

Indeed, for 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed, we experienced complete tranquility! It was only the third night where a combination of throbbing rain on our skylight window, sirens and general partying kept us awake which wasn't ideal due to us having a very early flight - but it certainly wasn't the hotels fault!

We were happy with our room. It was fairly compact in size, but the bed was cosy, the bathroom despite being tiny was clean and served its purpose well. Plenty of clean towels, a hairdryer, wardrobe space, ironing board, tea and coffee facilities etc all added to the value.

Staff were friendly although we had minimal contact with them other than initial check in and check out. They arranged a taxi for us which we booked using our room phone and this arrived promptly at 4:30am for our trip to the airport.

We spent two nights at the Olympia Theatre for a concert which was within a 10 minute walking distance. The beautiful St Stephen's Green park is 5 minutes down the road and we had a lovely stroll around it.

We would return to the Harcourt in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LukewarmCatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Albany House
#63 of 150 in Dublin
837 reviews
Harrington Hall
#91 of 150 in Dublin
553 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#64 of 150 in Dublin
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#112 of 150 in Dublin
798 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#83 of 150 in Dublin
1,171 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#130 of 150 in Dublin
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Address: 60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £48 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing