We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harcourt Hotel
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

At top of Harcourt St. and with Iveagh Gardens just behind it. Centre of Dublin City and Luas right next to it. Handy for music lovers with music/concert venues nearby and good night night all along Harcourt St.

I stayed here in July for a few nights with my girlfriend while recording Season 3 of The Vikings.

Only issue was parking. Discounted Price is ok for overnight parking in Dublin city centre, but bit of a distance from hotel. Overall though, enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lb_barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    338
    282
    191
    270
See reviews for
152
324
68
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights in August. My daughter had made a change to the original booking date and was charged £8 for this. When we arrived ,tired after a 4am start for our flight, we were asked to pay this again. We told the receptionist we' d already paid and she said she'd sort it. 4 days later upon checking out we were asked for £8 again. We proved that it had been paid already and were assured it was sorted. Today , a week later, we found that they debited the card we paid with!
One afternoon we returned to our room at 4.30 and the room had not been serviced. A maid appeared around 5pm and asked us to leave while she cleaned. We complained to reception but we're told room servicing was carried out until 6 pm. No apology. We had to wait in the bar as these is no residents´ lounge and nobody had the courtesy to tell us when the room was ready.
And when we initially checked in they had reserved a double room when we´d asked for a twin. The receptionist acted as though she was doing us a favour to give us the type of room we had reserved. And the breakfasts were awful...tinned fruit!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Stockholm County, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel with good & good breakfast, comfortable beds, neat & tidy, fast internet connection and good service. A short walk of 10 minutes & you are in the city's downtown. Cool bars & restaurants at very good prices and you get measured by noon, cannon.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank christer i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and both nights were awful. 3 of us in tiny room with even smaller bathroom. TV only had one workable channel, the beds hadn't been renewed since the 70s. No sound proofing at all. We could hear anyone that walked passed our room as the floor vibrated Everytime. Walks were so thin we could hear every conversation from the next room. We were warm in the nights but couldn't open window due to there being a very loud extractor fan than was running 24/7 followed by constant construction in the daytime from somewhere inside the hotel. Also a very loud nightclub and party animals are connected to the hotel. Location is not idea for center as it's 15-20 mins walk and the tram from hotel goes in the opposite direction. Certainly not recommended for a descent nights sleep.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

After reading scattered reviews on this hotel, we rolled the dice and it turned out great. We had a family room on the basement floor and it was perfect. We saw that there was the possibility of hearing the nightclub and that wouldn't have been so good. If you're young and out late, this place would be perfect for you. The nightclub was packed, the music was pumping, the drinks were flowing, and the dance floor was full most nights. Many rooms were surrounding the nightclub area (the property covers several buildings) and I could see that some of those would be blasted by music late into the night. However, we were far away and weren't bothered a bit. We tried the bar food for dinner and weren't very impressed, but there was a nice restaurant we didn't try. We didn't do brekki there either - found other less expensive options out and about. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They let us camp out in the empty nightclub during the morning (getting over jet lag) while our room was prepared. The hotel was within walking distance of most everything you would want to visit - or just a quick cab ride away.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a Friday night with some friends. At about 11pm, we heard an incredibly loud thumping from the bass and speakers at a club attached to the hotel. This continued along with drunken yelling and partying in the streets right outside our window until about 4am. We did not sleep at all and wd had a misefable night. Thankfully, the hotel refunded our stay after we complained. Do not stay at this hotel unless you want to feel like your hotel room is up in da club.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Laois, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel on Saturday 16th August with two friends. The room was ok but needed a facelife and the bathroom was tiny. On arrival we were greeted by professional reception staff but unfortunately thats where the professionalism ended. We went to bar to order some food and while we were waiting on food to arrive a staff member approached us and asked for payment, this is unusual practice. We found the same at breakfast the next morning when we were asked to pay immediately food arrived. This was on top of the floors being washed with a strong disinfectant just as we sat down to eat. Maybe guests in the past had left without paying! We sat in the bar on the Saturday night and we were constantly approached by different staff to order drinks, if glass was empty is was swiped away immediately. Drinks on the night were expensive and tasted different depending on who served you. Overall this wasn't a good experience for any of us and we wouldn't be booking the Harcourt again.

The whole experience made me ponder the question as to why do people work in the hospitality field if they don't believe in offering a good customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Harrington Hall
#86 of 151 in Dublin
523 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#79 of 151 in Dublin
782 reviews
Albany House
#68 of 151 in Dublin
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#133 of 151 in Dublin
467 reviews
The Dean
#69 of 151 in Dublin
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Property: Harcourt Hotel
Address: 60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing