We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else - there are plenty other hotels there”
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harcourt Hotel
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Brno
1 review
“Stay somewhere else - there are plenty other hotels there”
Reviewed 18 October 2006

I love Dublin, I stayed there many times in a different hotels but this one is by far the worst. The NOISE from the club is unbearable - that's why they provide you with the free ear plugs - they know why. TV has 4 channels with incredibly bad reception so forget about it. Rooms are tiny and it's like a dungeon. After you check in you have to go out, three steps down, down the street, three steps up and then it depends which room you get - I had to go 3 steps down U turn, 20 steps down, 10 meters, out of the building in the backyard! 20 meters upwise, another stairs up and then finally room - that was the most exhaustive part of the trip!!! Breakfasts are terrible - unless you like to cut your watermelons with the same knife as onions yuck!!! Really bad, avoid the hotel.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarekKonecny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    338
    282
    191
    270
See reviews for
152
324
68
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2006

Like a lot of people, upon reading all of the negative reviews for this hotel, I was quite worried about our trip. However, I found the hotel to be great! Nothing at all like described in those reviews! 8 of us went and I am currently pregnant, but had no trouble with sleeping at all! The hotel is nicely decorated. We stayed in the seperate building of the hotel, had a room at the front. The rooms are a fair size and well kept. Not a bad distance from the main area either.

I would recommend the Harcourt Hotel and would stay there again upon another visit to Dublin!

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulaStinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2006

Read previous reviews the day before we left and was really concerned about the noise. Mentioned this to the hotel and they offered to put our rooms in the new part of the hotel. We were on the front on the 1st floor and really didn't hear much noise at all. The location of the hotel isfantastic a nice street just a short 10 min walk from the centre. beautifully decorated and clean. We had 2 quad rooms the eliza doolittle suite it was really big and grand. Loved it. Went very worried and was pleasantly surprised. Not necessarily one for husband and kids but for a girls weekend it was fab. Great price included breakfast and club on site was great from a safety point of view. Would go again.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aloaburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2006

I stay in hotels all week every week and so have had some experiences but this has to be the worse.

Check in was ok, I found my room, 100, between 105 and 106. It was obviously the cleaning cupboard originally. And then the key was not activated, so back to check in where there was no appology.

Opened the door and yes, it was the cleaners cupboard!! Nowhere to sit so down to the bar.... The staff did not know how to book drinks to the room so I had to get cash, and no receipt for claiming expenses.... Therefore decided to eat out..

Back in my room at 9.30 and went to sleep at 10pm... Then at midnight I woke up to what I thought was someone knocking on my door, it wasn't, it was the base from the nightclub in the basement!!! This kept me in a semi contious state until 2.30 when the music stopped and everyone who was in the club decided to stay in the street for a further two hours!! I managed to then sleep from 4.30 to 6.30 ready to go back to work.

Sorry about the spelling but I am not functioning correctly today!!

If you are on a budget or a stag party and are going to be joining the party then ok, stay there... If not then stay well away!

A very tired tripadvisor member.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank si_orch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2006

Stayed at this Hotel as part of a tour party of 24 people.
Found the hotel to be clean,comfortable and friendly.
Centrally located and with the tram passing outside the front door, it is the perfect location to explore the wonders that the city of Dublin has to offer.
Read all th negative reviews and have to say not in experience !!!!
It can be a little noisey,but what do you expect from a hotel with a Nightclub in its basement !!!! (FREE ENTRY TO ALL HOTEL GUESTS).
Found the Buffet Breakfast to be substantial & all the other meals we had at the hotel were of good quality and reasonably priced.
All staff that we encountered were very friendly,courteious and helpfull.
In summary , would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Its location.
  • Disliked — A little noisy, but not a problem.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LORDWROXALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

We stayed at the Harcourt Hotel as part of a package through EF Educational Tours, so we had no control in choosing this hotel. I had read the horrible reviews about the noise, but tried to have a positive outlook anyway before coming to the hotel. Well, I have to admit that the negative reviews about this hotel are right on the money. Thankfully, we only had to stay here one night, but the noise truly was horrible. It would've helped if the hotel had provided a large fan in the room to help drown out the excessively loud noise from the street below, but of course, they didn't.

Also, the elevator was broken for the entire time we were there. We had to lug 60-pound luggage bags up 3 flights of stairs.

Do not stay at this place. It is just not worth the aggravation.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — noise; broken elevator
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2006

We had a party of six, they found us two triple rooms, one at the front which was noisy and one at the back which was up and down a lot of stairs but quiet. The rooms were clean and fine for a Dublin hotel. The staff were pleasant and helpful even finding a wheelchair for my mother in law who is slow at walking.
The drawbacks of no hotel parking only affected us one night as street parking is free on Sundays and it required a bit of meter feeding. Very central for Dublin 2 we walked pretty well everywhere.
Breakfast was included and was OK with a reasonable choice, though they hid the fried eggs and you had to ask for them instead of scrambled.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable and cheap
  • Disliked — Some rooms are noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room at the back
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank apq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Harrington Hall
#86 of 151 in Dublin
521 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#80 of 151 in Dublin
782 reviews
Albany House
#67 of 151 in Dublin
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#132 of 151 in Dublin
467 reviews
The Dean
#69 of 151 in Dublin
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Property: Harcourt Hotel
Address: 60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing