We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it!”
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cassidys Hotel
Ranked #40 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a fab hotel, situated in a fantastic location - incredibly central, yet away from loads of bars so you get a peaceful night's sleep. I stayed here with my two best friends - we had a triple room which was over in the executive wing and it was huge! Two single beds and a double meant there was no fighting over who had to share the double as is normal in triple rooms.

The staff are super friendly and are full of helpful tips on where to go. On our one crazy night out we rolled in at 5am and were greeted with smiles, which isn't always the case in other places I've stayed in!

If there was one thing I'd complain about, it was that getting the shower to a decent temperature was a delicate balancing act, but we all figured it out by the second day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acidfairyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 2,750 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked this hotel due to its location (near O'Connell street). The hotel is old, but fairly clean. We got the standard double room. Although its clean, the shower tap was leaky and the shower curtains was mouldy at the edges. Not something you'll like to see when you're paying like 99 Euros per night. Maybe we got a poorer condition room as we are only staying for one night, our room faced the back of the hotel and its near to a kitchen/pantry? We kept getting woke up by sounds of people throwing glass bottles into the rubbish bin throughout the night.

Good points:
Location, free wifi, hassle-free check-in

Not sure if we will choose to stay here again. Maybe if we can't find any room elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chew782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at this hotel as I write this review and on e again I can not fault it. We where last here in jan and had a fantastic time with. O complaints and we have checked in today for our friends 40 ti and got a fab upgrade.y comments are fantastic hotel and would highly recommend as will our friends.. Defiantly will come back..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratoatatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Located on dublin so Main Street close to main attractions and transport links. Clean and comfortable rooms although can be rather hot if heating left on. Free safe in rooms and quiet enough even with location in mind. Free wi if is excellent and easy to connect. The breakfast is self serve and has a good variety of choice both for continental and cooked and is well worth the price. Very friendly and helpful staff with the the amenities you would need. Very good value for money and would make for a pleasant stay in this lovely city

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Cassidy Hotel is conveniently located at the north end of O'Connel Street, one of the major street in Dublin. It is only 1 km walk from the main bus station (Busaras) and an abundance of taxi stands nearby.
The check in and check out processes are a whiz with pleasant staff.
The hotel itself is old but still clean and properly maintained.
The walls are thin and you can hear what the guests next doors voices/conversations.
The floor is creaky and i have to tiptoe to make sure i dont disturb the other guests too much.
The room itself is small but sufficient. The bed is comfortable and wifi is complimentary with good speed.
Staff is helpful and enjoyed a day trip to Galway arranged by the reception staff, ever pleasant Sarah.
A good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sazz1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I chose this hotel as I hadn't been to Dublin for over 20 years and as was on O'Connell Street and travelling in from the airport by local bus (my choice as I like authentic experiences) I knew I could get off at a stop close by

On arriving at the hotel, after visiting a few bars on O'Connell (obligatory in Ireland) late at night, the two receptionists were very welcoming and bubbly, offering me an upgrade to an executive room, which was appreciated

To reach the room was a little confusing. like a maze, but when actually getting there was pleased to see was allocated to the rear of the hotel, so no noise from the very busy O'Connell street. Room had warm décor, good sized along with adequate bathroom

I only saw the restaurant / bar area on exiting the hotel, which was extremely quick check out, which looked inviting an will visit, hopefully for longer than this one night, on another occasion

The hotel location is its selling point, especially for the price I got and would recommend to anyone looking for a decent 3* in the heart of Dublin

The walk to the River Liffey was 10 minutes down O'Connell street and temple Bar, Dublins nightlife area just a few minutes more

A perfect city break hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff in a generally ok hotel. Rooms basic but beds are comfy and wifi is free and quick. Incredibly hot and quite noisy but the staff were very helpful and put a fan in our room for the second night. Didn't have the breakfast so can't comment. Good location- an easy 5-10 mins walk to south of the river for shopping, bars and restaurants.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank amrbAmrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Academy Plaza Hotel
#45 of 152 in Dublin
4,798 reviews
Castle Hotel
#54 of 152 in Dublin
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belvedere Hotel
#59 of 152 in Dublin
1,435 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,089 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#42 of 152 in Dublin
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#60 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £67 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing