We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay at cassidy's”
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cassidys Hotel
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely stay at cassidy's”
Reviewed 19 October 2008

stayed for 4 nights with friends. Had a lovely room, very comfortable . Room was very clean and everything we needed was there. Staff were all helpful and had lots of useful advice on places to visit. Location was great - easy walking to all loctions and to and from air coach was only a short walk. Irish bar staff in Grooms bar were great!! Breakfast was really great and the chef was really friendly, he regularly came out to replenish the buffet.Thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definatley go back.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRDJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    1,087
    390
    113
    66
See reviews for
430
1,154
108
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We stayed at Cassidy's at the end of our 7 night self drive tour and if it had been the start of our tour, we would have dreaded the remainder of it.......

There were only a few options for accommodation in Dublin available to us, and it seemed that Cassidy's was the only one with rooms available on both nights. Cassidy's was reasonably easy to find and was in quite a good location, but the standard of accommodation was disgusting.

We checked in and found that the girl on the front desk could only barely speak English and she really wasn't interested in helping us at all. We parked our car in the rear, then went inside to find our room. We walked in the rear hallway and found a disgusting smell that we later found out was due to broken waterpipes on the underground level. Although we were only there 2 days, nothing was done to even dry the carpet, so the stench remained.

We then wondered whether we were even still in Ireland as it appeared that we had arrived in downtown Moscow. It seemed that every other guest and the majority of staff were Russian or Eastern European. There was nothing Irish about it!

We then went into our room which was nothing less than foul. There was rubbish from previous occupants, the doonas didn't even cover the beds and the bathroom was full of mould, from top to bottom. When we complained about it, we had to show the manager what we were disgusted with, and he agreed that it was sub-standard. He then offered us a free dinner in the restaurant and upgraded us to an "executive room", which is only what I would consider to be a standard hotel room. While it was a LOT cleaner and more suitable than the other room, it was still drab and nowhere near the standard of the other hotels we had stayed in during our trip in Ireland.

Admittedly, we live in an apartment in a 5 star hotel, so our expectations of service are perhaps higher than most, however it's not above average to expect a shower without mould, and to have the rubbish removed from the room once the occupants check out.

While we were impressed with the service of the manager on duty, and the bartender in their bar (who, surprisingly were actually Irish), there is absolutely no way we would stay at Cassidy's again, and would never recommend that other people stay there.

  • Liked — Bar tender at Groome's Bar
  • Disliked — filthy room, bad attitude of staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

It’s not a bad hotel but a few things about it made me feel quite unwelcome.
GOOD things first: My single room was specious, clean, nice, comfortable, with a big bed. Bathroom was spacious and sparkling clean with nice toiletries. Location is good (right on O'Connell street) and conven ient for Tour buses and for the Airlink airport bus though... next time I am definitely staying in the Temple Bar area!

NEGATIVES (two in fact):
STAFF: the hotel staff are mostly Eastern Europeans which equals some strange attitudes and lack of manners.
ROOM location (an amusing bit): my room was on the 2nd floor which is split into executive and non-executive parts. The lift from the lobby goes to the executive section of the 2nd floor with NO ACCESS to non-executive rooms. So to get to my room, I had to: take stairs from the lobby into the basement, walk through the basement with a leaking ceiling to the lifts, take lifts to the second floor. Ridiculous, inconvenient, and made me feel as if I had to apologise for not paying for an executive suite.

  • Liked — cleanliness, spacious room, central
  • Disliked — staff, access to the room through the basement (!), location is good (but I advise Temple Bar instead)
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2008

I booked through hrs.com and I was very glad to have found a central, quiet, comfortable and not-expensive hotel. Full irish breakfast was included in the price. People are very kind and helpful, both at the reception and on the floors. I would like to advice this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — central and convenient
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Max-and-Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2008

rooms basic and small bed and quilt did not cover the bed,owner to freindly some of the other staff were.breakfast not greta at all....look elswere!

  • Liked — view going in
  • Disliked — rooms and breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Stayed at Cassidy's for a 2 night stay on our first trip to Dublin. Arrived early so left our case with the staff so we could do some sight-seeing. Very happy with our room, we had a double and single in the room even though there was only 2 of us. VERY comfortable beds!!! More comfortable than the Marriott and Hilton hotels i've stayed in before. Breakfast was excellent, a good choice, very friendly service, the chef would pop in and have a little chat as he was refilling the trays. Excellent location, easy to find your way back as it's fairly close to the 120 metre spike. Would definitely stay again!

  • Liked — The comfy beds!
  • Disliked — Wish I could have stayed longer!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Cassidys was an O.K Hotel.
A great location, we were only there for a stopover. The staff were reasonably helpful, we were expecting great service being what we heard about the friendliness of Ireland. We got it from the Irish employed there can't say the same for the other nationalities they had employed. Good idea to stick with what works.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brentnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#59 of 151 in Dublin
1,958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Property: Cassidys Hotel
Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Dublin
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#60 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing