We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to city center, amazing staff!”
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cassidys Hotel
Ranked #49 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close to city center, amazing staff!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for one night in Dublin with my husband and 3 year old daughter. From the moment we walked in the front desk staff was attentive and courteous! The room we booked had a smaller bed and my daughter was too big for the cot they had available so almost immediately they moved us to a larger room to accommodate us. The location is perfect! Close enough to the center but not right in the busiest part. Walking distance to everything. The room was clean the bed was comfy (ish) and the breakfast they had in the morning was good and filling. The view was not the best but we were out and about the whole day so it wasn't a big deal.

I can't rave about the staff enough! Since we were only in town for one day the manager showed us where to go and what we could do without visiting. They even let us borrow an umbrella, which came in handy almost immediately! They even gave my daughter a goodie bag with a little coloring book and stickers. They next morning the called us a car and ensured a flat rate with the driver. I would definitely stay at Cassidys again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lidale11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    1,048
    376
    111
    66
See reviews for
410
1,118
103
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Cassidys Hotel is conveniently located near Central Dublin, along with many other choices and should be looked over if you plan to have a good nights sleep. Parking in a secure car park is on offer for 12 euros. Check in was a very seamless process and the reception staff were nice.

Overall the room was clean but the bed was uncomfortable. The toilet in the bathroom was running and we first reported this as we were leaving for dinner. We were told that somebody would be up to look at it. I was not sure if they were but when we returned it was still running. We rang to mention this again but admittedly it was 11pm at night. Our room was facing the back alley and the hotel either has a garbage compactor or their neighbor does. Either way at 3am in the morning somebody thought it was a good time to empty some bins.

I was not a fan of the breakfast and generally avoid taking this option in accommodation in the UK and Ireland. There a some good cafes in walking distance from the hotel so take this option over anything else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Cassidy's hotel was very clean and had what we needed. We got in early - around 11am and they were able to get our room even though check-in wasn't till 3pm. This worked out well as we had just arrived from San Francisco and desperately needed showers and naps. The beds were comfortable and we slept well except for the seagulls that woke us as soon as the sun came up - around 4:30 am but that can't be helped. My only issue and it's not the fault of the hotel was the location was a bit of a food desert. we usually ended up going closer to the Liffey or to Temple Bar or Grafton Street. However, it is close to the Writers Museum and the theatre which worked out well. also easy to get a taxi - only about 1/2 block away. The staff was very helpful as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuesday_Moon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I had a one night stay in this hotel recently. The location is very good for day time trips and shopping and it suited my needs very well in terms of where I had to be. Not sure what the area is like at night as there are some dodgy streets and characters nearby. The check in was efficient and the receptionist friendly. My room was located down one long corridor, into a lift to a basement, another long corridor that smelt musty and into a lift to the fifth floor - good exercise. The room was basic but clean. The TV had a small selection of channels. The configuration of the bed and TV made it hard to lie on the bed to watch anything. There was free WiFi in the room. The buffet breakfast was awful. The apples in the fruit bowl had badly oxidised, the scrambled eggs looked dry and very unappetising. The rashers were cheap (judging by the salt extract that covered them), pale and undercooked. Poor selection of breads. The offered continental breakfast was a few slices of cheap ham and a similar number of hard looking red chedder that had seen better days. One staff member had the appearance that customers were an inconvenience to her. Avoid the breakfast and go to one of the many cafes around the area.

Room Tip: Unless you enjoy a good walk ask not to be placed in the 'executive wing' where I was locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Went to Dublin on a whim and this was an excellent find. It's a travelers hotel -- nothing fancy or luxurious but cheap and cheerful - well located -- right by the historic 1916 uprising post office and and an easy 10 minute stroll to the Liffey. Rooms are traditional European pension size -- designed for sleeping not really hanging out in. Very helpful front desk and a wonderful pub on premises with a great selection of local drafts. There's a breakfast room with an absolutely adequate hot/cold buffet and made to order eggs. Overall a great budget option and base for exploring this amazing city.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrekkers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carnoustie
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good location in O'Connell Street..nice walk into town but plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from in close proximity. Rooms and bathrooms were nice and very clean but one day our room wasn't made up but I suppose everyone makes mistakes! Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with ample choice but only scrambled eggs available from buffet...fried or poached had to be ordered separately and sometimes didn't arrive!! On the whole we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Watch out for pickpockets in Dublin. My friend was targeted right outside the hotel....she didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Good hotel clean comfy room good size only fault is that the hotel is very warm, breakfast full Irish don't bother the plates where dirty and if you roam around you will find loads of cafés.
The location is good not too far from centre and there is also a bar in the hotel.
I would stay again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skye04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Property: Cassidys Hotel
Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Dublin
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#60 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing