We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cassidys Hotel
Ranked #40 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2008

It's a fantastic hotel right in the heart of Dublin on Upper O Connell St. It was ideal for us for Temple Bar, Guinness Museum, walks along the river and shopping.

Staff were friendly and efficient and the room was a good size, nice and clean and the bed was very comfy. There's a nice reasonably large bar downstairs and the breakfast was good.

All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAgencyManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,095 - 2,101 of 2,748 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Cassidy's Hotel at the beginning of October for 4 nights and what a great time we had.

We stayed in a Twin Room (Room 229) which was very spacious, with a large ensuite and good facilities (i.e: a coded safe/hairdryer etc). The only downside to this particular room is the noise from the kitchen generators below which became a bit of a nuisance towards the end of our stay but this has not put us off staying at Cassidys again.

The Buffet Breakfast each morning was top notch and the breakfast staff were great. We even got to meet the breakfast chef on the last morning.

We chose to eat in the hotel restaurant every evening which was great. The restaurant staff were really friendly and professional, especially John & Aine, the food was well priced and absolutely brilliant.

The one thing I will say about Cassidy's is to be aware of the Reception staff, which is a shame because the hotel is brilliant. Before arriving in Dublin we double checked our reservation with the hotel as we booked online. For some reason the staff had put our name into the computer the wrong way round so there was some confusion as to whether we had actually booked or not. This also happened again on check-in, not a great start. Also, most of the Reception staff are quite abrupt and make you feel as if you are an inconvienience. This is why we chose to ask the local Tourist Information Centre for local knowledge on things to do.

Having spent 4 days throughly exploring Dublin, the things that I would highly recommend to do are: Dublin Zoo, this place is fantastic and only a short journey from O'Connell Street by bus. Wild Wicklow Tour, which is again fantastic as the tour guide picks you outside the TIC and takes you all through the County Wicklow mountains, stopping off at a traditional Irish Pub along the way.

Overall we both really enjoyed our stay in Dublin and we would recommend the Cassidy's Hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FEFA35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

stayed for 4 nights with friends. Had a lovely room, very comfortable . Room was very clean and everything we needed was there. Staff were all helpful and had lots of useful advice on places to visit. Location was great - easy walking to all loctions and to and from air coach was only a short walk. Irish bar staff in Grooms bar were great!! Breakfast was really great and the chef was really friendly, he regularly came out to replenish the buffet.Thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definatley go back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRDJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We stayed at Cassidy's at the end of our 7 night self drive tour and if it had been the start of our tour, we would have dreaded the remainder of it.......

There were only a few options for accommodation in Dublin available to us, and it seemed that Cassidy's was the only one with rooms available on both nights. Cassidy's was reasonably easy to find and was in quite a good location, but the standard of accommodation was disgusting.

We checked in and found that the girl on the front desk could only barely speak English and she really wasn't interested in helping us at all. We parked our car in the rear, then went inside to find our room. We walked in the rear hallway and found a disgusting smell that we later found out was due to broken waterpipes on the underground level. Although we were only there 2 days, nothing was done to even dry the carpet, so the stench remained.

We then wondered whether we were even still in Ireland as it appeared that we had arrived in downtown Moscow. It seemed that every other guest and the majority of staff were Russian or Eastern European. There was nothing Irish about it!

We then went into our room which was nothing less than foul. There was rubbish from previous occupants, the doonas didn't even cover the beds and the bathroom was full of mould, from top to bottom. When we complained about it, we had to show the manager what we were disgusted with, and he agreed that it was sub-standard. He then offered us a free dinner in the restaurant and upgraded us to an "executive room", which is only what I would consider to be a standard hotel room. While it was a LOT cleaner and more suitable than the other room, it was still drab and nowhere near the standard of the other hotels we had stayed in during our trip in Ireland.

Admittedly, we live in an apartment in a 5 star hotel, so our expectations of service are perhaps higher than most, however it's not above average to expect a shower without mould, and to have the rubbish removed from the room once the occupants check out.

While we were impressed with the service of the manager on duty, and the bartender in their bar (who, surprisingly were actually Irish), there is absolutely no way we would stay at Cassidy's again, and would never recommend that other people stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

It’s not a bad hotel but a few things about it made me feel quite unwelcome.
GOOD things first: My single room was specious, clean, nice, comfortable, with a big bed. Bathroom was spacious and sparkling clean with nice toiletries. Location is good (right on O'Connell street) and conven ient for Tour buses and for the Airlink airport bus though... next time I am definitely staying in the Temple Bar area!

NEGATIVES (two in fact):
STAFF: the hotel staff are mostly Eastern Europeans which equals some strange attitudes and lack of manners.
ROOM location (an amusing bit): my room was on the 2nd floor which is split into executive and non-executive parts. The lift from the lobby goes to the executive section of the 2nd floor with NO ACCESS to non-executive rooms. So to get to my room, I had to: take stairs from the lobby into the basement, walk through the basement with a leaking ceiling to the lifts, take lifts to the second floor. Ridiculous, inconvenient, and made me feel as if I had to apologise for not paying for an executive suite.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

I booked through hrs.com and I was very glad to have found a central, quiet, comfortable and not-expensive hotel. Full irish breakfast was included in the price. People are very kind and helpful, both at the reception and on the floors. I would like to advice this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Max-and-Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

rooms basic and small bed and quilt did not cover the bed,owner to freindly some of the other staff were.breakfast not greta at all....look elswere!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Academy Plaza Hotel
#45 of 152 in Dublin
4,795 reviews
Castle Hotel
#54 of 152 in Dublin
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belvedere Hotel
#59 of 152 in Dublin
1,435 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,089 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#42 of 152 in Dublin
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#60 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £67 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing