We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cassidy's hotel upper o'connell street”
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Cassidys Hotel
Ranked #45 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2008

whilst this hotel is friendlyand clean we did have a problem with our breakfasts for the four days we stayed there.
The breakfast is based on a buffet self service and served from unmanned hot plates which other inconsiderate guests constantly leave with the lids open. this results in the food quickly going cold.
The kitchen is also slow when refilling these hotplates and on several occassions some items of food are not available.
At busy times because of the limited seating in the dining room, guests are sometimes having to wait 15 - 20 mins to be seated.
All in all this is a very disorganised method and not really acceptable.
On a positive note the waitressing staff do their very best under these circumstances dispite the stress involved. So if you can tolorate a cold breakfast after a 20 min wait ...............Cassidy's may be for you

Thank SpiritofWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,988 - 1,994 of 2,623 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2008

Great location & staff were very friendly. They provided good recommendations for restaurants and everything was handled very well.

Rooms were clean and nice, and very good value for money. Breakfast was good, nothing too fancy but nice enough to start off the day, the usual bacon, eggs, cereal, hash browns.

Would stay here again. Walking distance to temple bar, shopping and all the sights of Dublin.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aka_cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

Booked a weekend treat through Octopus Travel website to stay at the 3* Cassidys. Great Location & staff v.pleasant when we arrived at 12:30pm. Able to leave luggage at the hotel prior to rooms being ready at 2pm.

Hotel happy to help with tour bus etc, and so off to the sights. Rooms of very high standard when we picked up the keys later, very clean, and great value for the price paid.

Hotel bar great for Guinness drinking into the small hours, but the Gym beckoned on Sunday. Small but functional although not all TV monitors were working. Hey what a minor issue!

Breakfast - get down early as may have to wait in overflow park to get a table- handled pleasantly enough by the staff, and liquid refreshment available whilst we waited.

Checkout - easy & hassle free.

Great choice of hotel within walking distance of shops/Temple Bar, but not sure if high heels are your thing!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

It's a fantastic hotel right in the heart of Dublin on Upper O Connell St. It was ideal for us for Temple Bar, Guinness Museum, walks along the river and shopping.

Staff were friendly and efficient and the room was a good size, nice and clean and the bed was very comfy. There's a nice reasonably large bar downstairs and the breakfast was good.

All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAgencyManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Cassidy's Hotel at the beginning of October for 4 nights and what a great time we had.

We stayed in a Twin Room (Room 229) which was very spacious, with a large ensuite and good facilities (i.e: a coded safe/hairdryer etc). The only downside to this particular room is the noise from the kitchen generators below which became a bit of a nuisance towards the end of our stay but this has not put us off staying at Cassidys again.

The Buffet Breakfast each morning was top notch and the breakfast staff were great. We even got to meet the breakfast chef on the last morning.

We chose to eat in the hotel restaurant every evening which was great. The restaurant staff were really friendly and professional, especially John & Aine, the food was well priced and absolutely brilliant.

The one thing I will say about Cassidy's is to be aware of the Reception staff, which is a shame because the hotel is brilliant. Before arriving in Dublin we double checked our reservation with the hotel as we booked online. For some reason the staff had put our name into the computer the wrong way round so there was some confusion as to whether we had actually booked or not. This also happened again on check-in, not a great start. Also, most of the Reception staff are quite abrupt and make you feel as if you are an inconvienience. This is why we chose to ask the local Tourist Information Centre for local knowledge on things to do.

Having spent 4 days throughly exploring Dublin, the things that I would highly recommend to do are: Dublin Zoo, this place is fantastic and only a short journey from O'Connell Street by bus. Wild Wicklow Tour, which is again fantastic as the tour guide picks you outside the TIC and takes you all through the County Wicklow mountains, stopping off at a traditional Irish Pub along the way.

Overall we both really enjoyed our stay in Dublin and we would recommend the Cassidy's Hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FEFA35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

stayed for 4 nights with friends. Had a lovely room, very comfortable . Room was very clean and everything we needed was there. Staff were all helpful and had lots of useful advice on places to visit. Location was great - easy walking to all loctions and to and from air coach was only a short walk. Irish bar staff in Grooms bar were great!! Breakfast was really great and the chef was really friendly, he regularly came out to replenish the buffet.Thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definatley go back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRDJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We stayed at Cassidy's at the end of our 7 night self drive tour and if it had been the start of our tour, we would have dreaded the remainder of it.......

There were only a few options for accommodation in Dublin available to us, and it seemed that Cassidy's was the only one with rooms available on both nights. Cassidy's was reasonably easy to find and was in quite a good location, but the standard of accommodation was disgusting.

We checked in and found that the girl on the front desk could only barely speak English and she really wasn't interested in helping us at all. We parked our car in the rear, then went inside to find our room. We walked in the rear hallway and found a disgusting smell that we later found out was due to broken waterpipes on the underground level. Although we were only there 2 days, nothing was done to even dry the carpet, so the stench remained.

We then wondered whether we were even still in Ireland as it appeared that we had arrived in downtown Moscow. It seemed that every other guest and the majority of staff were Russian or Eastern European. There was nothing Irish about it!

We then went into our room which was nothing less than foul. There was rubbish from previous occupants, the doonas didn't even cover the beds and the bathroom was full of mould, from top to bottom. When we complained about it, we had to show the manager what we were disgusted with, and he agreed that it was sub-standard. He then offered us a free dinner in the restaurant and upgraded us to an "executive room", which is only what I would consider to be a standard hotel room. While it was a LOT cleaner and more suitable than the other room, it was still drab and nowhere near the standard of the other hotels we had stayed in during our trip in Ireland.

Admittedly, we live in an apartment in a 5 star hotel, so our expectations of service are perhaps higher than most, however it's not above average to expect a shower without mould, and to have the rubbish removed from the room once the occupants check out.

While we were impressed with the service of the manager on duty, and the bartender in their bar (who, surprisingly were actually Irish), there is absolutely no way we would stay at Cassidy's again, and would never recommend that other people stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#62 of 150 in Dublin
1,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#57 of 150 in Dublin
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Dublin
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#60 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £68 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing