We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect mid week getaway!”
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cassidys Hotel
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect mid week getaway!”
Reviewed 25 May 2007

I stayed here for three nights whilst on a short break with my parents. We booked a single and a double room, upon arrival we were welcomed by the very friendly reception staff and were given rooms in the new part of the hotel. Although the rooms were some walk from reception they were very tastefully decorated and very, very clean. My room was infact a double not single and was very spacious.
The restaurant was nice and the breakfast wast vast although the hot food could have been warmer.
Overall this hotel is great value for money, has great staff, and is situated in a good location.

  • Liked — cleanliness, and value
  • Disliked — lukewarm breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridge_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    1,087
    390
    113
    66
See reviews for
430
1,154
108
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leics
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2007

I visited this hotel with a friend, having booked a twin room. When we went to our room, we found it was already occupied, which was embarrassing for the couple in there. On returning to reception it turned out that our twin room had mistakenly been given to another couple who only needed 1 bed, and there was nothing that could be done about it.
With one of us having to sleep on the floor it did not represent good value for money, and given that the receptionist's main job is to check people into the correct room, it shows the member of staff concerned to be rather negligent. We were told there were no spare fold up beds that could be wheeled in, even though we saw one the next day in an old disused room.
We were given a twin room the next night, but it was still a pretty poor example of customer service.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chris052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

Cassidys is conveniently located for the centre of Dublin, 200m from Tour buses and the airport buses. Good service, excellent value food and quiet rooms on the first floor at the side, rooms in the front could be a bit noisy.

Excellent value, we'll use it again.

  • Liked — Location and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbotsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2007

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Cassidy's Hotel for 2 nights, we loved everything about this hotel. The room was very comfortable with a flat screen tv, tea and coffee facilities and the use of a safe free of charge.
The bathroom was clean, breakfast was excellent with a choice of hot and cold food. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would definitley recommend this hotel if only for its perfect location, we found we could walk to the main attractions in Dublin.
The only problem we had was a very drunk irish man in the next room from us shouting and keeping us awake till about 1 in the morning...but you can't have everything!
Also i think the bed was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in!
Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Liked — Comfy bed, and location
  • Disliked — Noisy fellow guests
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2007

what an excellent hotel. excellent service from the minute we arrived. excellent breakfast. excellent location. Could not have been better.

Nothing too grand but could not be faulted.

No views to speak of by then we werent here to look out the window. Perfect location to explore the city

  • Liked — All round excellent service
  • Disliked — perhaps a lack of a large flat dining area.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ppppppppppppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2007

Cassidys had been recommended to us for its convenient location, excellent accommodation and staff who couldn't do enough to help. Unfortunately, although the first recommendation was very accurate the accommodation and staff did not quite meet with our expectation. We were accommodated in the new wing of the hotel a short distance via lift, under road walk and second lift away from the main hotel. Although supposedly new, the room it was poorly decorated, sparsely appointed and completely lacked character which I believe is present in the rooms of the main hotel. The bathroom (without a bath) was very poorly finished. I must say however that the beds were the most comfy we had slept in during our Ireland stay. The staff found difficulty in understanding our requirements when ordering food and drink or seeking assistance in other matters. I would still recommend Cassidys for a short break, but make sure you ask to be located in the main hotel.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2007

I spent 4 nights at the Cassidys over the Easter break with my wife and 5 year old daughter. We booked a Double bedded room with a camp bed and were delighted to get a nice room with a Double and a Single bed (not a fold away)

The room was lovely and confortable with crisp duvets (I hate blankets) and Flat screen TV (men will appriciate)

My wife is in training for a mini marathon and was delighted to find a fitness suite in the hotel while I checked out the bar for a Guinness with my daughter Joy.

We were sitting there for about 5 minutes when one of the staff came over to Joy and offered her a hotel colouring book and pencils for her to draw. (Really nice touch) There were lots of these little things that made the difference.

On the final morning my wife was waiting for me in the lobby as I went out with Joy to the shops, the receptionist brought her over the morning paper for her to read while she waited.

We did not try the Restaurant except for breakfast which was a buffet and lots of it. We did have lunch in the bar and were very happy with the value. Not as expensive as some places in Dublin. Make sure you check the menu before you go into some of the restaurants in Dublin as they can be pricy.

I have lovely memories of our Easter in Dublin in no small way due to the Cassidys hotel. Thank you.

  • Liked — Staff Friendliness
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#59 of 151 in Dublin
1,958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Property: Cassidys Hotel
Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Dublin
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#60 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Lastminute, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing