We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place to Stay”
Review of Camden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camden Court Hotel
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place to Stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Camden Court is centrally located and close to the tram line and Grafton St. Due to my error was there a day earlier than scheduled for a tour. They had a room available at reasonable price. Staff and food was great. They had fans available for when the room was to warm and brought to the room quickly. Had trouble connecting to the internet, but help came to our room quickly and resolved the problem. Stayed the first week in May. Would stay here again if I get the chance to return to Dublin, Ireland.

Despite what other reviews have reported this location is not out dated and is a fabulous place to stay.

Room Tip: The tram is two blocks away and stops at Grafton St and St. Stephens Green where all the fabulous sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scamperrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your kind comments are much appreciated, we are delighted you had such an enjoyable experience here at our hotel. Our staff will also be pleased to read your comments. Indeed we had some minor issues with Wi-Fi as we are in the process of upgrading our in-room TV's to smart TV's but rest assured this has been resolved. We're glad we were able to combat this issue quickly for you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Rebekah Lavelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    920
    253
    94
    31
See reviews for
326
702
67
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better location to from which to explore Dublin. Most of the attractions are within walking distance and there are a number of excellent restaurants and bars nearby. The rooms were reasonably sized, fairly well-decorated and clean, and because we were facing the parking lot, it was fairly quiet at night. There is no air conditioning, and although the windows opened, it became a bit muggy and uncomfortably warm in the room, especially after taking showers. Though the staff was friendly enough, they didn't exhibit the same level of customer service we experienced elsewhere in Dublin. For instance, after waiting a while for someone to notice us at the desk trying to check out, a staff member opted to answer the phone rather than prioritize the guests standing in front of him. And instead of being able to provide a forgotten toothbrush, despite what it says in the hotel guide, I was sent down the road to buy one. These are admittedly very small things that would not prevent me from staying there again, but they are small things that are easy to fix and would help make guests feel more welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank US2EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are some what pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay such as location and in-room comfort but are disappointed to learn that you found our staff unhelpful in the situations you outlined. Please note your comments will be passed to management and will be dealt with accordingly. We do not supply toothbrushes as a standard vanity product in our rooms at the hotel and do not list this in our brochure or website. We do of course supply the usual shampoo, soap, body wash and moisturizers. We are sorry if you were misinformed in this respect. In relation to the staff at the front desk, generally our staff members would answer a ringing phone and kindly ask the guest to hold or take their details and call them back in the case of assisting with a guest in front of them. This is for both the convenience of the guest on the phone and to avoid the discomfort of the phone ringing when a guest is checking in or out. Our staff can then give the guest the attention needed. We apologise sincerely if this came across in an unhelpful manner. We do hope to restore your faith in our hotel in the near future, please let me know if I can be of assistance in any way. Kind Regards, Rebekah Lavelle, email: rlavelle@camdencourthotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Although I haven't as yet stayed overnight, I use this hotel regularly as a training venue and the level of service in the business centre is excellent. While Sandra and Orla are great, and nothing is a problem for them, I particularly want to mention a member of staff called Marcin. He is so friendly and efficient as regards servicing of the room and seems to appear, as if by magic, to sort things out whenever I have a 'laptop malfunction'!!
I've had a couple of 'working' breakfasts and lunches here and they were fine but I'm looking forward to an opportunity to discover more of what this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Kate1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldmohr, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This weekend we visited Dublin and stayed in Camden Court. The excellent customer service started out upon making the reservation. Although, we made a reservation for a twin room with an extra bed, we were offered a family room of same price which gave us the extra room needed. However, upon checkin, we were kind of shewed away. I shook it off and just took it as a hard day. However, from that day forward, they were all excellent! Well some more than others. They went out of their way to make us all comfortable. When traveling with small children, this makes all the difference.

We had one family room and one double room. Both rooms were clean and very comfortable. The beds and rooms were roomy and comfortable. The bathrooms were bigger than normal and provided all the extras. My children loved the pool and I loved the jacuzzi and steam room. Something for the whole family. The hotel is close to central centre. It is approximately a 15 minute walk when traveling with children. There is several supermarkets and restaurants within a 5 minute walk and a few bakeries. Free parking was great! Just don't forget to get your ticket validated.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a family. The customer service made all the difference for me and my family. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jump5mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife & I spent a three-day trip to Dublin at The Camden Court. We'd pre-arranged a refurbished room, which had been decorated very pleasantly to a good standard. There were a couple of items that needed attention in the bathroom: the handrail on the wall beside the bath was a bit rickety and the tap on the handbasin was coming loose. It wasn't a problem and, to be fair, they're not going to know unless they're told, which we did on leaving. The room was clean and well tended by the service staff. The hotel itself we found to be generally well placed and, although Temple Bar is about 20 minutes walk away, this isn't really an issue unless you plan to spend all your time there, in which case you should perhaps make plans to stay at a hotel closer to that area. We didn't eat in the restaurant, so can't comment in that regard. Only two complaints - and they are relatively minor - firstly, our room was overlooking the hotel entrance plaza which houses some pretty big air-conditioning units. They are audible at times when one might prefer an early night or a lie-in and we did have to keep the windows closed at night. The other was the depth - or shallowness - of the bath! After a hike around a town I do like to come back to a nice relaxing bath and I found ours to be rather a let down in that respect. It was extremely shallow to the point that, even when the water was up to the level of the outlet, there was only enough depth to get your bum wet! I actually measured it and there can't have been more than about 8 inches of water in there by the time the bath was as full as it could be. It was probably the shallowest bath I've ever experienced and I can't work out why it was installed, unless The Camden is trying to save on water! Probably not an issue as far as most people are concerned, though, and we'd recommend this hotel to anyone on a visit here.

Room Tip: I'd advise taking a room that doesn't overlook air-conditioning units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diximix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Tucked away in an otherwise uninspiring area of the city this hotel is superb.
Good WiFi access, excellent pool, sauna, steam room gym etc. Rooms a decent size, clean and tidy. Good breakfast.
There is an abundance of good restaurants and cafés within easy walking distance, to suit all tastes. There are many parks in the immediate area..

Room Tip: We had a room at the back on the top floor, quiet if a little warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inspector2Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I, visited the camden court hotel for my birthday. It was amazing, the staff were ok, some where offish and rude. But others like the twin men at the bar couldn't do enough for you. I remember one of their names which was Gary. We said we would for sure revisit the camden again. Rooms were lovely. Nothing to complain about apart from....The food is a bit expensive in the hotel and not much choice. But we tried it and enjoyed it. Everybody in dublin are really friendly and like to help. Also try the gravedigger bus tour. Was really funny the guys just have you in stitches.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Louise and Zoe, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Also, thank you for choosing to stay with us on such a special occasion. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and Tony and John (Twin Bar Staff) will be thrilled to read your comments. We hope you return to Dublin soon and that we have the chance to welcome you back to The Camden Court Hotel. Kind Regards, Rebekah Lavelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Dean
The Dean
#69 of 151 in Dublin
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#49 of 151 in Dublin
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#18 of 151 in Dublin
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.7 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Court Hotel

Property: Camden Court Hotel
Address: Camden Street | Dublin 2, Dublin D02W086, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#44 Family Hotel in Dublin
#45 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden Court Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located in Dublin city centre, Ireland. The hotel is located on Camden Street, Dublin 2 which is within close proximity to Harcourt Street and St.Stephen's Green. It is also within minutes walk of Dublin's famous shopping area, Grafton Street. Nearby attractions include the National Concert Hall and the Iveagh Gardens. The hotel boasts 251 high spec bedrooms, as well as excellent conference and leisure facilities. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and access to the TLC leisure centre (gym, 16 metre swimming pool, kids pool, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi) are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Camden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Court Dublin
Hotel Camden Court
Camden Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing