We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate choice”
Review of Camden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camden Court Hotel
Ranked #45 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

There wasn't anything awful about this tired hotel other than the heat wave and lack of air con (they did bring me a fan which helped a tiny bit) but overall it was just not that nice. The bed was pretty uncomfortable, the wifi disconnected literally 10 or more times, the plumbing in the sink sprayed everywhere, and the decor was dismal. However, the staff were quite nice and breakfast was decent. I will not return, but it wasn't so bad that I had to move hotels after the first night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank sarahmstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our valued staff and your breakfast dining experience. We are however disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied other aspects of your stay. Our usual moderate climate doesn't present a demand for air conditioning but the recent uncommon warmth it seems has raised some discomfort. We are sorry the addition of fans in your room did not help in your case. Our hotel rarely experiences Wi-Fi complications, but we had a recent update of our televisions to 'smart' televisions so this may have affected the connection temporarily during the installation period. We truly apologise for any inconvenience caused. We do hope to be able to restore you faith in our property in the future and I would kindly request to contact me directly should you opt to stay with us again so that I can monitor your stay. Also please feel free to contact me should you have any questions or queries. Kind Regards, Rebekah Lavelle - rlavelle@camdencourthotel.ie / 01 4283920.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed for one night midweek as location great for National Concert Hall.Room/bathroom better than I expected.
Bar and restaurant looks fine but let down by very poor bar food.I found the burger/chips almost inedible. It wasn't cheap either so I was very disappointed by that as I normally find bar food excellent in Dublin. Must say the breakfast was faultless and service excellent. I would stay here again but eat out.Had to keep windows open as so hot but very noisey. Didn't have time to try leisure facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank starfish159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our service and breakfast offerings excellent. In regards to the bar food, we are disappointed to learn you did not enjoy your meal. Our burger and chips are usually a popular choice with the locals and guests. We would be eager to learn more about when you stayed exactly so that we can look into why this dish was not up to standard. We apologise this was not up to satisfaction. I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me directly on rlavelle@camdencourthotel.ie or 01 4283920 should you wish to share your details. We are pleased to hear you would stay with us on another occasion. Kind Regards, Rebekah Lavelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here June bank holiday weekend, clean hotel bed rooms,you need to open your windows straight away as it gets really hot at night ( you have been warned) , free and plentiful parking. I have eaten lunch here before which was good but did not eat there this weekend. good WiFi just ask at reception for password. just 5 mins from st Stephens Green. all in all a good place to stay if visiting Dublin city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkKenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Pleanty of FREE parking. Lovely spacious foyer. Great bar with a lovely food menu plus very helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable king size beds. Good quality breakfast. On check in, WiFi password printed on key receipt. Really lovely touch

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted to learn we exceeded all your expectations. Indeed our free parking is one of our unique offerings for a city centre hotel, we are pleased you were able to make use of this facility. Our Wi-Fi access is extremely important for our guests so we do try make it as easy as possible to have access at their convenience, we are delighted you thought our keycard holders were at nice touch. We hope to welcome you again on another occasion. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Kind Regards, Rebekah Lavelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our 2nd visit to the Camden Court hotel, we were put up on the 6th floor. As soon as you enter the corridors you are hit with heat, we were lucky to have a warm weekend in May but all of the radiators were blaring in the corridors making our room extremely hot and hard to sleep.

That said we highlighted this to the team and they gave us a fan which did help, as even with the windows open it was way too hot. Everything else about the hotel is great, a short walk into the main town, close to Luas stops and great bars and restaurants.

The hotel bar is lovely and welcoming, nice just sitting in the grand foyer having a coffee watching the world go by. Rooms are spotless housekeeping staff do a great job and don't wake you up to early! look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthd1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Sadly disappointed by this establishment. Its location is a bit out of the way from the city centre.
It just looked terribly out of date, not in a good chic way, but in a 'it should be renovated' sort of way. Dreary is the best word I could find for the place.
Room had all the basic needs, but bed not great. Room dull.
Breakfast was a bit of a shambles, over crowded, and needed to really have to think - where on earth do i get x,y,z. A poor experience.

Fire escape - I always check out locations when I stay. What I thought was the closest one (looking from my room door) was actually 50 paces away. There was one closer (less than 20). The corridor was quite narrow en route to the longer of the two - would not like to be going along that in an emergency with people pouring out of their rooms. It probably complies ok, but it just felt narrow?

If you do stay and you enjoy Middle Eastern cuisine, try the Damascus Gate restaurant across Camden road

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W5WPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to learn your experience was not of satisfaction. It is surprising to hear you felt our hotel was out of date as our hotel has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment particularly in our bedrooms. It seems you may have been allocated one of our few remaining non refurbished rooms. We do however strive to offer the best in service and comfort in all bedrooms. We are sorry you felt our choices were not of satisfaction. In relation to the fire exits, we ensure we comply to strict policy and regulations in this matter as safety is of utmost importance. I would appreciate it if you could send on your booking details/room number so we can look into this. Fire Exit notices are checked on an on-going basis by our maintenance team. We do hope to restore your faith in our property in the near future and If I can be of assistance in any way you can contact me directly at rlavelle@camdencourthotel.ie or call 01 4283920. Kind Regards, Rebekah Lavelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely hotel, only had one night but was very comfortable. Comfortable beds and room was spotless. Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety Staff were efficient but not over friendly. It was a bit out of the way of the main city area. Overall we loved the rooms and had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin
#47 of 150 in Dublin
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Court Hotel

Address: Camden Street | Dublin 2, Dublin D02W086, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#45 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £105 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden Court Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located in Dublin city centre, Ireland. The hotel is located on Camden Street, Dublin 2 which is within close proximity to Harcourt Street and St.Stephen's Green. It is also within minutes walk of Dublin's famous shopping area, Grafton Street. Nearby attractions include the National Concert Hall and the Iveagh Gardens. The hotel boasts 251 high spec bedrooms, as well as excellent conference and leisure facilities. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and access to the TLC leisure centre (gym, 16 metre swimming pool, kids pool, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi) are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Court Dublin
Hotel Camden Court
Camden Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing