We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great after the change of room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camden Court Hotel
Ranked #46 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great after the change of room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

James at the front desk was very helpful checking us in and telling us about the facilities. Went to get in the lift and after waiting a minute or 2 for one to come about 6 members of the hotel's management staff pushed in leaving no room for us or any other guests to use the lift. A minor problem but felt very rude to us and the other guests waiting to go to their room. Perhaps making staff use the stairs or a staff lift would be better. The room, 611, was dated; lots of dents and chips in the furniture, some very ugly paintings on the wall, layers of dust along the skirting boards, dirt on the bathroom walls and chips out of the bath. Nothing like the room advertised online and the one we thought we had booked. I'm not one to complain usually but wanted to after spending 135 Euros on a room no better than a 2 star one. James at the front desk was really helpful and had no problem moving us into a more recently refurbished room on the 5th floor. The new room was great, tastefully decorated, clean and well cared for. If you are going to let guests stay in the old rooms please give them a choice of which type of room they would rather stay in and make a difference in price. It's plain lying to show only the most refurbished rooms online and give one option! The rest of our stay was great, nice room and helpful staff. Parking was free till 1pm on checkout and 3 euro per hour after that and plenty of spaces. There was a great choice at breakfast and the waiting staff were lovely, only down side was the music they played which sounded like hold music! All in all very good after the change of room and would happily stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank katherinekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us as it is only through customer feedback like yours, that we can continue to monitor, maintain, and improve our standards.

We are appalled to have learned of your dissatisfaction in regards to our staff members with the lift, please be assured this has been addressed with our general manager. Staff members are asked to the use our service lifts or staircase at all times. This type of behaviour is unacceptable and will not be tolerated in the future. We sincerely apologise for this inconvenience.

In regards to the bedrooms, we have refurbished the majority of rooms so they feature a more modern décor. There are very few of the older rooms remaining in which case they are been updated on an on-going basis and plan to be completed in the coming months ahead. We are sorry room 611 was not of satisfaction. We strive to offer the same level of service or comfort regardless of the décor type. It seems this did not match in your instance in which case we apologise. Special requests are something we always try to accommodate where possible, they cannot be guaranteed but we will take note to action these requests a little more diligently.

I am pleased to read however that you commended our waiting staff and James from our front desk. It is also great to know considering the above that you would happily stay again.

Thank you for your feedback on the restaurant music, this will be looked into by our operations manager to ensure a more pleasant ambiance.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Rebekah Lavelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    885
    238
    90
    29
See reviews for
312
664
64
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times. It does need updating but it's a lovely hotel and very clean, with great location . How much time do you spend in your room when on a city break, and like I said it's clean. It's about 10/15 min walk into town which is a nice walk. The bar next door is nice and friendly and much cheaper on drinks than in Dublin. When I go back again to Dublin I ll use this hotel over and over again. Great value for money

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

the hotel location is really good you can walk to st.stephens green and grafton street.....but the hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired. apart from the location i cant recomment anything else. its clean , the rooms are clean , but if you are going there in the summer then there is no airconditioning, not even in the lobby, so you sweat and sweat,,, the heat in the bedroom in the night was unbareable so there, the decor was so dated...even in the bedrooms. the breakfast was not included in the price,,and that was 13 euro each extra , so no points there,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.This feedback is important to us. I am truly sorry that we do not measure up to your expectation in various areas. We do have A/C in the lobby area and all common areas of the hotel, it seems it was not to a satisfactory level during your stay with us. The bedrooms do not have A/C and rightly noted, as we are experiencing warmer weather this summer we have given the option of guests to avail of fans in the bedrooms on request. We are sorry this was an inconvenience to you.

It also seems that you had stayed in one of our older styled bedrooms in which case there are very few remaining, we have refurbished the majority of our rooms in recent months but strive to offer the exact same level of comfort and facilities regardless of room type. Should you wish to stay with us on another occasion we would be delighted to request a newly refurbished room for you.

Breakfast can be pre-booked at a cost of €10.00 per person directly with the hotel. We often encourage our guests to book directly with us to avoid any communication issues with special requests and of course to avail of the best possible price.

I do hope we get the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. Please feel free to contact me personally at rlavelle@camdencourthotel.ie if I can assist you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Rebekah Lavelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location, staff very attentive and helpful, rooms nice and clean (albeit small). Buffet breakfast was extensive although some mof the food was a little dry (avoid the puddings as they were so dry as to be almost inedible). But you can walk a couple of blocks to a local breakfast place called Gerry's that was excellent and cheap. Short walk to St Stephen's Green, Trinity College, etc. Our room overlooked Camden Rd, so was a little noisy, and the pub next door (The Bleeding Horse) had a late-night crowd that liked to sing outside - but we were on vacation, so didn't really care...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights at the end of July. I had been there before. Rooms are clean and spacious. Restaurant buffet is varied and good (10EUR per person if you book in advance) I recommend a back room since it is in quite a busy street and you might hear some noise. Tram station to city centre (Saint Stephen's Green) is just a few metres away from hotel entrance or you can go walking and it is about 10 mins.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bcntripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
252 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Locations was great for walking to most places, hotel was clean, garage parking was tight and only place our car was scratched in the 2 weeks in Ireland, 2 of front desk employees were never able to answer questions (ie: Where is the bus stop? How do you get to St Stephen's Green), noise level was still loud from the street (local residents, bars, gambling places, and (YES) street fist fighting), arrived at 8am and was told we couldn't leave our luggage - luckily had a rental car for storing our items, did not eat in any hotel restaurants, plenty of local eateries by hotel for great (and cheap) breakfasts & lunches, hotel provided a fan since our room was hot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside (overlooking parking area) would be quieter. We were on 3rd floor and the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to learn that your service experience with our front desk did not meet your expectations. I will ensure that this issue is discussed with our team. Our front desk are highly trained in relation to guest services such as advice on local attractions and transport links so it is surprising to learn that our staff members could not assist you with your request. Luggage is generally stowed away on request at all times but it seems there was a break down in communication on our part so we sincerely apologise for this inconvenience.

Our hotel is situated in a very central location and with that on occasion some traffic and pedestrian noise can be experienced with exterior rooms when the bedroom window is open. Again we apologise for the inconvenience caused, should you wish to stay with us again on another occasion we can always request a quieter interior room for you.

Please do let me know if you would like to discuss any aspects of your stay or if I can assist at all. We hope to be able to restore your faith in our property and have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Rebekah Lavelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Camden Court Hotel is located perfectly in Dublin. It was an easy walk wherever we needed to go. Most of the staff was accommodating, but I did encounter two very rude bartenders during our second night. I couldn't remember if they had my credit card on file, so I asked to pay for our glasses of wine outright instead of charging it to our room. They were not pleased (God knows why?) My husband even saw one roll his eyes as I was reaching for our credit card. I notified management, so hopefully they fix the problem. Other than that it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caseyjackson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn you found our location beneficial and that you enjoyed your stay overall. We are disappointed however to learn of your experience with our bar staff, please note this has been noted with management and dealt with accordingly. We usually take pride in our high level of service but it seems in this instance we did not meet these standards. We apologise for the inconvenience caused and we do hope to be able to restore your faith in our property in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss this further. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Kind Regards, Rebekah Lavelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Dean
The Dean
#69 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Court Hotel

Property: Camden Court Hotel
Address: Camden Street | Dublin 2, Dublin D02W086, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#44 Family Hotel in Dublin
#45 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden Court Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located in Dublin city centre, Ireland. The hotel is located on Camden Street, Dublin 2 which is within close proximity to Harcourt Street and St.Stephen's Green. It is also within minutes walk of Dublin's famous shopping area, Grafton Street. Nearby attractions include the National Concert Hall and the Iveagh Gardens. The hotel boasts 251 high spec bedrooms, as well as excellent conference and leisure facilities. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and access to the TLC leisure centre (gym, 16 metre swimming pool, kids pool, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi) are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Court Dublin
Hotel Camden Court
Camden Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing