We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, basic, clean. Can be very noisy!”
Review of Blooms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blooms Hotel
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We booked this a few months ago through a booking website. Upon arrival we prepaid the two days. The receptionists are friendly and helpful. The room (3rd floor) was tidy, not very large, with a small outdated TV, and an interior of which I could not figure out if it was really old or just retro style. It was however not unpleasant and all was clean. The bathroom was clean with a good shower and everything was basic, but generally clean. We received a voucher for a small drink, to be claimed in the adjacent bar (worth $5 or so)
When we returned in the evening (Friday and Saturday in the small hours) there was a massive noise from the nearby discos, which even made the sideboards in the room vibrate. Although we both fell asleep immediately and slept through the night, and were not woken up, I could image that this may inconvenience people quite considerable. At the second night we returned around 3AM and it was still a massive noise out there. We had back-facing rooms, but the receptionist explained to us that all rooms in fact are noisy, also the front facing ones! Regarding value for money: It is centrally located, therefore rather pricey, has only basic comfort, but clean, so we guess that we pay for the location and compromise on comfort and amenities (No WIFI available in the rooms, did not test the WIFI in the lobby. As this Hotel is aimed at city exploring travellers, the lack of WIFI can be annoying for many!
Airport access is very good, as the 747 green bus leaves just around the corner (50m away), which is convenient even with massive luggage,

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are very noisy all night, They are directly above loud discos. My poor rating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBNLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your reviews.

I am delighted that your overall stay with was enjoyable. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused due to street noise. As we are very centrally located therefore we couldn't control street noise.

We hope to welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,280 - 1,286 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked our stay directly on the hotel website. We asked for a quiet room, which I'm happy to say we were given. We arrived before check-in and our luggage was securely stored until our room was available. The room was clean, roomy enough for two people, bathroom well-stocked and clean. We enjoyed the tea/coffee-making facilities and the little treats, when we returned to our room after a busy day of sight-seeing. The staff was very helpful when I needed to make a phone call, and answered any other questions we had. The location is perfect for walking to many sights, as well as to the bus to the airport. We stayed 3 nights and were pleased with the buffet breakfast that was offered. I will gladly stay at Blooms when I return to Dublin.

Room Tip: When booking as for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheels2g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Sincere thanks for your high recommendation based on your recent stay with us.

Our team do at all times endeavour to deliver the highest standards in customer service. Great to read that you found our hotel facilities and service to your liking.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

What a great city hotel. Right in the heart of Dublin City . Don't let the fact that it's in Temple Bar put you off. Clean rooms with plenty of space. It may become noisy on the weekends but we stayed for 4 nights and had no problems. Very friendly and efficient service from the staff.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Shergar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Sincere thanks for your high recommendation based on your recent stay with us. Our team do at all times endeavour to deliver the higher standards in customer service. Great to read that you found our facilities and service to your liking and staff to be friendly.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

To start the plane was early and got to Temple Bar early. Went to drop my bag at Blooms and was delighted to be given an early check in and complimentary welcome drink in the hotels own bar/pub.

Hotel staff are great, friendly and polite. The breakfast is reasonable. It's a help yourself buffet and that works well enough for me. The location of the hotel makes it thou. Central to everything, walking distance of everywhere, it's perfect and very good value for the price.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to read that our team were able to facilitate and early check-in. It is great to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted that you found our hotel facilities and service to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Picked the hotel for a family reunion. Brother in law travelling from America with wife and baby and mother in law from the UK. Location great. Room allocated to brother in law and baby too small and inadequate.

Breakfast - useless - ran out of everything. Quizzed at entrance and only allowed into dining room if money handed over there and then. Made people feel very uncomfortable. Only one person serving - unable to cope with taking people's money and keeping the food replenished. Had to go to reception to complain. Ruined holiday for whole party

Room Tip: be very careful about breakfast - it is not a traditional Irish breakfast - better to buy one outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeffrob111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am very disappointed that your stay with us was not enjoyable because our Breakfast offering didn't meet your expectation and would like to reassure you again that this an exception to our usually high standard of service. I will share you feedback with our relevant departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of August and as our plane didn't land until around 11.30 PM, 24hr check in here is much appreciated.
It's not a posh hotel by any means, the rooms and bed are comfortable and clean and you get a TV, kettle and a safe to store belongings.

It takes them a while to service the rooms so sometimes ours wasn't ready even when we had come back from being out for the day so had to do with a bag put outside of our room with new loo roll and clean towels. No biggie really, we are not posh!

Yeah it's noisy but you are in the middle of temple bar so what do you expect? actually quite quiet with the windows shut but it does get hot and stuffy as there is no AC.
The hotel is within easy reach of everything so you don't have far to go which was great, there is also a bar downstairs which serves food as well as drinks.

We paid around 100 euros per night so I guess it's reasonable for the location, I would stay again and the staff seem friendly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted that you found our hotel facilities and service to your liking and staff to be friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is not luxury by any stretch of the imagination but it doesn't pretend to be. Rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. It did slide on the tiled floor though if you were sitting up in bed reading. Temple Bar is very noisy and if your room is located to the road side you will hear noise till the early hours. If you are located at the back of the hotel there is an air conditioning unit which sounds like road works. This does go off at the weekend but I bought ear plugs to drown out most of the noise. I would advise anyone going here for a stay to buy some. Steer clear of the breakfast. It looked nothing like the poster advertising it and I have to say the worst I have ever had. There are plenty of other places nearby.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Firball2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR0113, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review of your stay with us, a pleasure to read it was enjoyable and comfortable.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Kris Kumar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,328 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#73 of 150 in Dublin
1,048 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
932 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
The Morgan
#40 of 150 in Dublin
2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooms Hotel

Address: 6 Anglesea Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £60 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blooms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blooms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blooms Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing