We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just okay...”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's just okay...”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Nice enough, but far from a 5-star hotel. Nobody to valet park my car (had to go inside to grab somebody) and most nights couldn't avail of the hotel's 10 spaces (so had to park at a public lot). Bathrooms were really pretty depressing. Old toilets that required multiple attempts to flush and minuscule shower stalls. The bar downstairs used to be a bank vault and has terrific potential. Sadly, most of the time they had the lights at full volume and at eye level, which made the place look contrived--or as though they were shooing customers at last call. The food in "The Mint" was simple fare, the kind produced at any pub in Temple Bar. Very nice folks working there so I really hate to knock the place. That said, they really can't charge US$350 a night when the Four Seasons offers the same rate.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DajomoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,529
    658
    174
    55
    48
See reviews for
450
980
140
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We thought this hotel was outstanding. Perfect location close to Trinity College, Grafton Street, and Temple Bar area. All these were within 2 to 3 blocks of the hotel. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Would stay there again in a heartbeat and hope we get the chance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0ckyMtnHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear R0ckyMtnHigh,

I am thrilled to hear your stay was such a positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Spent two nights at this great hotel. Good location for first time Dublin visitors. Room was very comfortable (although a bit "stuffy" one night). Staff was wonderful, very helpful and professional. Offered suggestions for good restaurants, sightseeing, etc. Extremely helpful in getting us off to the next part of our vacation - cab was waiting with our luggage loaded when we got back from lunch. We'd stay there again on our next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear dottic,

I am delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto our team here.
I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My room overlooked the atrium lobby. I had a Walk-in shower & nice tub. There was a speaker in the bathroom so I could hear the TV. Formal restaurant was closed the weekend I was there so I had a nice lunch in the basement pub. There is formal afternoon tea in the atrium. I walked to Grafton St, St. Teresa Church, Abbey Theatre, Stephen's Green, Trinity College, etc. The Viking Splash was the best tour. Airport bus stops across the street or take 747 (?) bus 2 blocks away near College Green.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The Westin Dublin is a block from the gates of Trinity College. My daughter and I were in Dublin for four days as tourists, and found the location perfect for what we were intersted in. It was walking distance from Trinity College, Grafton Street, St. Stephen's Green, Temple Bar, O'Connell Street, the Archaeology Museum, and so much more. Admittedly, we love to walk (we call it "Endurance Tourism") but we only needed one cab and a couple of tram and bus rides the whole time we were in Dublin. Am Ex Platinum got us an upgrade and breakfast, which made the hotel a good value too.

What we really liked is the way the hotel went out of its way to accommodate our particular schedule. Two of our four days we had to leave early, before the restaurant opened, and once even before regular breakfast service in the room was scheduled to begin, and each time, they brought breakfast to our room as early as we needed it. That really helped to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cameraman612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear Cameraman612,

It is a pleasure to read your very positive review and I am delighted to read our central location was such an addition to your visit to Dublin.

I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto our In-room dining team here which I am sure will be very well received.

I hope to welcome you back to The Westin Dublin very soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband and I chose the city of Dublin and staying at the Westin to celebrate a significant anniversary, fifty years married. Our early arrival did not present a problem, we were anticipated with smiles, Celtic charm and cake! Our room was large, lovely overlooking Westmoreland Street with all of its bubbly activity. The staff was a delight always a good morning or good evening, we certainly felt welcome and safe as first time visitors to this friendly city. The Westin made a special occasion very special indeed.
I must mention that the Westin Dublin is not only centrally located to all that Dublin has to offer a visitor, but, it’s location is kind to people who enjoy getting to know a city by walking about. We walked and walked always knowing at the end would be our lovely room and comfy bed.
A suggestion for people who would like to visit a well stocked food emporium, we suggest Fallon and Byrne on 11-17 Exchequer Street. Here you can make up a take out or go down the stairs for a sit down, casual and fun, tasty too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
173 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Great location, good rooms we upgraded to Oscar Wilde Suite it did cost nearly 300 euros a night which we happily paid but we checked in on the Sunday with a lot of bags, we were dressed in jeans and jumpers and the concierge looked at us as if what are you doing here ( never judge a book by its cover} and I thought jobs were tough here in Ireland. He never offered to help. Then every time we go through reception no one speaks or smiles { this is unusual in Ireland everywhere else was great ) they are not rude there is no love here. We had a problem after I paid the bill the day before we left to go back to Tasmania and the girl at reception made a mistake and Diego the front office Manager was great he fixed the problem and by the way the young lady was lovely and we told him of our experience's. I came back to the hotel two and half hours later and I walked in and two of the male staff again one was a conceirge and I said good afternoon they didn't break their conversation with each other and did'nt speak , again I was in jeans and jumper. Westin Management send these guys back where they come from and employ some of the staff from pubs in the Temple bar area they are polite and they know how to look after the tourist and lets face thats what you need is the tourist dollar. Maybe we have been unlucky but we have just been in Russia and stayed at W Hotel in St Petersburg and the staff were wonderful and I thought the Russians were supposed to be very reserved and the Irish were supposed to be friendly, but maybe the are better trained, next time I will bring a suit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dogsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Dogsey,
I appreciate you taking the time to post your valuable review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, however it is very disappointing to read you did not receive the welcome we extend to all our patrons here at The Westin Dublin upon their arrival and during their stay. I will be sure to relay your comments to our concierge team and see that this misconception does not occur again.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Dublin soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,839 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing