We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice classy hotel”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a nice classy hotel”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel earlier this week, meeting American colleagues who are Starwood points obsessed. So did not hold much hope. However this is in a great location just off Temple bar, away from the noise, so on the south side. I had an executive room on the top floor which had recently been renovated. Very well decorated, huge bathroom with free standing rain shower and a great little terrace overlooking the street below. This would be a real bonus in the summer, a very romantic little spot to watch Dubliners pass by below. Best of all was the bed. Oh so nice and comfy. Go try. Will visit again when in Dublin on business next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMaxxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear TravelMaxxer
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is lovely to read your comments and to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. I am so happy that you were pleased with your accommodations and liked our newly refurbished rooms. I am delighted that your experience will mean that you will return to stay with us- that is our ultimate goal. I hope that you signed up to our SPG loyalty program and you too can become points obsessed! We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,508
    656
    174
    54
    47
See reviews for
445
970
139
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a great one night stay here. Very central location opposite Trinity College. Was assigned a king-size room which was very spacious and very well fitted out. Found the staff very welcoming and professional. Will definitely return again for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkmvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello wkmvisit
Thanks for your lovely review; I am always happy when our guests are this pleased after their stay with us. We are lucky with our location I want to say thanks for your special mention of the team. It’s great to read that you would be happy to return to visit us again.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Westin is a global chain so there is a bit of sameness to each property. The service and rooms were just fine, nothing really outstanding or negative. Staff was pleasant. The hotel is laid out a bit oddly, from a physical perspective. But it was all fine, nothing too memorable (either positive or negative). Personally I prefer a hotel with a bit more character and uniqueness but Westin is pretty dependable and consistent.

Room Tip: My room was right above one of the bars so I heard noise at night. Request a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorcas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello Dorcas K

Thank you for sharing your comments after your stay with us here in The Westin Dublin. I am sorry to read that your visit did not have any memorable moments during your visit. Did you know that we are lucky enough to be located in a wonderful old building that is steeped in history? The Westin is located in an opulent 19th century building that was originally a bank and we have kept many of the original features. I am sorry that you did not get to see any of these beautiful features. I hope we will get the chance to welcome you again and I would be delighted to give you a tour of our lovely old Hotel.
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
592 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Niggly little things. The lighting in our room was bizarrely configured, one of the ceiling speakers did not work, we reported this but it was not fixed as promised. We asked for a small table for the balcony, again this was accepted without question as a request but never happened. We couldn't pay in the Atrium as there was no waiter present so went to the desk in reception and one of the staff was, we thought, rather curt for a 5 star. Overall our stay was very good but these are four star not five star behaviours. Room was spacious with aforesaid balcony giving a wonderful view across to the Wicklow Mountains. Bed was awesomely comfortable but for the price paid these were inadequate compensations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksw3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear marksw3960
Thanks for your review after you stayed with us in the Westin Dublin. I am unhappy to read that you found the service four stars and not five stars. This is not how I want our guests to feel after they have stayed with us. I have passed your comments to the relevant teams and we are looking into the issues you have brought to our attention. If you would like to get in contact with me directly I would be happy to speak with you about these matters. I look forward to speaking with you in person.
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I had a fantastic experience here. The hotel is beautiful and the location is ideal. I walked all over Dublin and felt this was centrally located to everything I wanted to see. Trinity College is across the street, Grafton Street shopping area is 5 minute walk, Temple Bar area is also right next door. The hotel room was superb, clean, roomy, and well appointed. I thought the hotel was charming but also modern and up to date. The bar downstairs was warm and inviting, I had a nice afternoon lunch to get out of the cold. The staff were exceptionally helpful. They really went out of their way to help me store bags there when I arrived (before the day I checked in) during a brief layover before heading to meeting in Belfast; the bell captain kept my stuff so I could tour around Dublin for a few hours before taking the train. I then returned a few days later and found the service equally friendly and helpful. I would DEFINITELY stay here agin if I return to Dublin.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jtcampbell87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi Jtcampbell87
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely words after your stay with us in November. I am delighted to read that you were so happy with your accommodations. Thank you for your nice comments about the team in general I am always so pleased to read that our guests leave us this happy. I have passed your comments on to the team and I know they are delighted to receive comments such as yours. I hope we will have the chance to look after you again the next time you visit Dublin from Maryland. In the meantime be well.
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was a five day rocket-fast holiday from California to Dublin, so it was a whirl-wind to say the least. I chose the Westin over other 4-5 star hotels in Dublin because of stellar reviews on Trip Advisor and its physical location right in the middle of center city.
Our long flight landed in Dublin at 6AM, so I dreaded the time gap until we could check into the hotel, thinking it would be 3PM as it usually is. We walked into the lobby at 8:30 AM and told that our room would be ready after we had breakfast. Unbelievably, the clerk called before we even ordered coffee to advise that our room was ready. That is wonderful service.
Everything about the Westin was superb. We usually stay in Marriotts, so we are spoiled by consistent high quality and were not disappointed here. Along with the staff being incredibly helpful and friendly, the hotel was beautiful and immaculate. Our room was lovely by any standard; the bedding was sumptuous and the very modern bathroom (with both a large shower and a separate bath tub) was huge by American standards, let alone the typical European small bathroom. The room included one US style electrical outlet and USB jacks built into the desk area.
The location was perfect. Most things we wanted to see were less than 10 minutes away from the Westin. We bought a bus pass for 28 euros and it took us everywhere else, including the seasde sights and to & from the airport.
In fairness, this rating should be 4.75 instead of a 5, because wi-fi was not included even in common areas.

A minor disappointment was no coffee available in the morning in the lobby as Marriott provides. However, there is a Starbucks right next door which opens early.

This was our second stay at a Starwood Hotel this year (Zihuatenao Mexico earlier) and both were so splendid that I have become a member and feel perfectly comfortable staying there any time.

Room Tip: The clerk offered us a suite for another 50 euros per night, but after seeing our king non-smoking r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hello Garry L and thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review after your five day visit here in The Westin and Dublin city.
It is lovely to read your comments and to read that you had a wonderful time. I am delighted that the team was both friendly and helpful. I am very happy that we were able to accommodate you with an early check –in it is always great when that works out for our guests. Thanks again for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin the next time you are in Dublin from California.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanside
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Westin Dublin
has a perfect location , across from Temple Bar and next to Trinity College. They also have a perfect staff, the most helpful overall hotel I have ever stayed at. The rooms are nice and comfortable and the bathroom lovely. We ate at the Mint Bar one night (were to tired to go back to Temple Bar) food was good bar service timely and again staff was so friendly. We can't wait to return to Ireland.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noriOceanside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear noriOceanside
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is lovely to read your comments and to read that you had a wonderful time. Thanks for your lovely words about the Mint bar I am very happy to read them. I am delighted to read that you found the team to be ‘perfect’ and the most helpful hotel you I have ever stayed at. I have shared your comments with the team and we very much look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again in the not too distant future.
thanks again
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,797 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing