We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a central location”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a central location”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My son and I stayed here in April of this year and found the hotel and its location to be ideal for everything we wanted to do. It was quiet and the staff were couteous. We even had a nice view of Trinity College from our room. We were within walking distance of the typical touristy things like Guinness and Jameson but far enough removed from Temple Bar and the drunk college students when we wanted to be!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glbltrvlr989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi glbltrvlr989 thank you for your lovely comments following you and your son's stay with us in April. I am pleased that you both enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient for sightseeing around Dublin. Thanks again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin the next time you visit Dublin.
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,556
    670
    180
    57
    51
See reviews for
461
1,003
142
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in the Westin for a 6 day trip to Ireland and could not have made a better choice. The location was terrific. Close enough to night life at temple bar area yet removed enough to be away from the noise. Short walk to everything. We toured the city by foot and never had a problem. Tour buses for day tours meet a few blocks away and transportation to the airport via the airbus is right across the steer. The staff were all welcoming and extremely helpful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else only next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolandMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi CarolandMich and thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us. I am happy that you found our location 'terrific'! We are very well placed for you to enjoy sightseeing throughout Dublin. I am very happy to read that you will be back to stay with us again that means a lot to us. I hope your flight home was a safe and comfortable one.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at this property with my husband at the end of Jan '14 for a long weekend. The hotel is centrally located, within walking distance to many Dublin attractions including Grafton St., Temple Bar, and Trinity College. Lots of great pubs and dining options within walking distance. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. We arrived very early on a Friday morning from an overnight flight from Boston and we were able to check into our room upon arrival, as the room was already ready. My only complaints are around the quality of the food available at the hotel. I found the room service menu to be lacking in variety and the quality of the food sub par, especially after 10pm and the breakfast buffet in the restaurant was just ok. However, with so many great dining options within walking distance or a quick cab ride away, it shouldn't impact anyone's decision to stay at the Westin.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor facing the atrium. The room was quiet and little to no noise traveled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gray1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi BeanTownTraveler and thank you for your comments after your stay back in January. Thank you for your positive comments about our reception team and I am happy to read that they were able to accommodate you with an early check in. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your dining experience while you stayed. I do want to let you know that we have changed all our menus so I hope that the next time you visit you will have a better experience. Thanks again for your review.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel, home away from home. Have stayed here 3 times! Super friendly staff & helpful with any problems/questions. The breakfast buffet it amazing and the bar in the basement has a cool underground vibe. Centrally located for hop on hop off bus, attractions and Temple Bar district. Will def stay here again!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tish2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Tish2424I am really delighted that your stay was enjoyable while you visited us from Arizona. It is so nice to read comments like yours it makes all our hard work worthwhile. It is great to read that you feel like we are a home away from home, I hope that we continue to make you feel at home with us and very much look forward to your next visit.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I took a business trip to Dublin in March and stayed for the first time at the Westin.
Firstly, location is excellent, good restaurants and pubs are within walking distance. Check in took slightly longer than I wanted, but room was very big (and quiet given that you are in the middle of the city). Stay were pleasant, check out was easier....as a business traveller the cost was not high on my list of priorities, but everything else stacked up. - Great location for going to meetings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidfromireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear DavidfromIreland thanks for your nice comments and taking the time to share them with us. I am very happy to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. You are so right our location is very convenient for getting around the city. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Westin the next time you visit Dublin from London.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Good rooms, great location and very friendly staff. We had room on fourth floor in the front. Noise was not an issue. Was there for fun but probably a good business choice as well. Walking distance for all central Dublin. Grafton street to the south and the river to the north. Next to trinity college. Also across street from temple bar if that is your type of area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi scott s and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review after your stay with us here in the Westin Dublin. I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your trip to Dublin and were able to take advantage of our central location. I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Westin in the near future.
Be Well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

For the price you pay to stay in this hotel, it's totally not worth it, granted the location is great, but the service is substandard. The desk and night stand in the room was dusty, internet connection (free in the lobby but 15 euros in the room per day) was inconsistent.

Worse of all, their night manager , a very short (perhaps less than 5 feet 2 inches, 160 cm) was rude, arrogant, non-helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear cc c thank you for taking the time to share your comments after your stay with us here in the Westin Dublin. I am sorry that you were unhappy with several aspects of your stay. I am sorry to read that you found the Duty Manager to be unhelpful, I have discussed the issue that you raised with him and I am sorry that you were not pleased with the outcome of the discussion. We appreciate your comments and I hope that your flight back to the US was a comfortable and enjoyable one. All the best Fred Smits General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,947 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing