We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I am very picky when it comes to where I stay, and more often than not I am often disappointed in the price vs. quality of most European hotels.

I am happy to say that after a two night stay this past week, I can confirm that the Westin Dublin deserves 5 stars!

Location: Perfect. 5 minutes to Trinity College, Grafton, Temple Bar, and pretty much any other centrally located attraction one could think of.

Room: The Westin is part of Amex's Fine Hotel and Resorts program, which is often the service we use when booking our hotels. We booked a deluxe room and were upgraded to a two story suite per the FHR deal. From the winding staircase to the beautiful sitting room to the balcony, I have nothing negative to say. The room was also spotless, which is always a huge thing for me.

Service: Top notch. Everyone was super friendly and helpful, check-in and check-out was a breeze, and I loved the added note on each name tag of what the individual's "passion" is. Such a great conversation starter.

A few minor negatives: room service food is rather bland and (as always) overpriced. Avoid it. Also, our duvet had a blood stain on it but that problem was quickly remedied by the cleaning staff.

Overall: I highly recommend this hotel. I've had great luck with Westins around the world. Definitely my go-to hotel when traveling.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ameenadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear ameenadin, thank you so much for your lovely comments following your two night stay with us here in the Westin Dublin. It is great to read that you would highly recommend us, thanks for that! I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your in room dining, I have passed your comments on to our executive chef and he is looking into the menu options that are available. So I hope that the next time you visit it will be just right for you. Thanks again for your kind comments and I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Westin again.
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,529
    658
    174
    55
    48
See reviews for
450
980
140
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

First we only stayed for one night and did not avail of any of the hotels Food and Beverage options, It is primarily a city centre business hotel with internal rooms facing an internal sealed court yard. Rooms are of the class you would expect with Westin group and the service we experienced was efficient.
As this is a city hotel we requested an internal court yard room to avoid the street noise, this worked well for us however I am not sure if the windows opened, this was not a big deal for us but may be for some people.
Room was quiet and air con worked, usual corridor noise but could not hear anything through the walls.
great location for city walks and seemed to have a decent foor offering.

Room Tip: Internal rooms look onto a court yard and avoid street noise, but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi voproductions, thanks for taking the time to share your comments following your stay with us here in the Westin. I am happy to read that you were pleased with your accommodations, however I see that you have only given us three stars and I wonder how we could have done better? If you would like to discuss this further please do get in contact with me I would be delighted to speak with you in person. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review, I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just had my birthday weekend in Dublin. Stayed at the Westin Dublin. Lovely stay! Check in was quick and staff very polite. We were upgraded to a city view room on the second floor. Room was very clean, spacious and cosy. When we arrived to the room a cake was sent up, which was really nice of them! We ordered room service and even though it was just after 22h30, the kind staff allowed us to order from the normal menu as the night time menu kicks in at 22h30. We had the tomato soup as a starter and created our own salads as a main. We also had a bottle of sauvignon blanc from New Zealand. The food and drinks arrived quite quickly and the presentation was lovely. Best room service I have had in a long time. Bed was very comfortable. Westin beds are the best! Staff was kind enough to give us a late check out on the Sunday at 1pm. Wifi free in the lobby but paid for in the room. Location great, right opposite Trinity College and various bus stops. Concierge very good and friendly too. Hope to return soon, thanks for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amroid22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi amroid22 I am delighted that we were part of your birthday celebration, and that the team looked after you so well. Thanks for all your lovely comments and I have shared them with the team. I do hope you will be back again and we can be part of your next big celebration, we very much look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again in the not too distant future.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sion mills
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Westin on Westmoreland street could not be more convenient to Temple Bar, Trinity College and all the street vendors. The hotel itself is beautiful and staff more than attentive when asked questions. Would definately recommend and stay again

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe twin room which provided 2 double beds. Beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanoSionMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi jeanoSionMills, thanks for your lovely comments following your stay with us here in the Westin Dublin. I am delighted that you would recommend us and that your visit means that you will be back again. Its great to read that the team were attentive to you and your friends during your stay. We look forward to your return visit.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I started our trip to Ireland in Dublin. This hotel is in a great central location,near to Temple Bar, the River and Trinity College.
The staff were quite accomadating, we got our room early, and the concierge was very helpful in his advice.
The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast in the Exchange restaurant is expensive, and the charge for in room wifi seems unreasonable.
Overall a very good choice for a Dublin stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear IanT thanks for your comments following your stay with us here in the Westin, I am delighted to read that the team were able to accommodate you and your wife with an early check in. Its great to read that the team looked after you both during your stay and I do hope that you enjoyed your trip around Ireland. I am delighted that you would recommend us and I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you both back again the next time you visit Dublin.
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night here for business. As I was arriving in the morning I had planned to go to the gym until my room would be ready.

Surprise, the gym doesn't look as on the pictures... It is a room without windows and just few exercising tools. No place where you could change... Nor shower...

I had also checked out the "spa"... It is located in front of the elevator and is so small that everything is squeezed in... But the service there was good!

The room I got was on the 4th floor with a window but no view as there is a wall until half height...

Overall very good located, but if you travel often for business probably not the best option...


The curry in the bar lower level was great! And also a very good service there.

Average because things aren't as they look. And because this doesn't come up to the expectations you have for such a hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mitochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi mitochi and thank you for your review following your stay with us here in the Westin Dublin. I am sorry that you felt that your stay was only average, and were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. However I am glad that you did enjoy a bite to eat tin the Mint and found our location to be convenient . If you would like to discuss this further please do get in contact with me directly, and I would be happy to speak with you. Thank you again for your comments and I do hope that your trip back to Switzerland was a safe and comfortable one.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

After traveling over night it was wonderful to arrive to a clean and comfortable stay at the Westin. We were able to get into 1 of our 2 rooms early which made things easier for all of us. Location was great, we walked around easily to pubs, restaurants, trinity college and shopping. The doorman was very kind and helpful. It was a bit disappointing that of all 6 places we stayed while in Ireland (and by double the most expensive) it was the only place to charge for WIFI. overall this was a great starting point for our Ireland vacation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 6inourfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear 6inourfamily, thank you for taking the time to share your comments following you and your family's stay with us here in the Westin Dublin. I am delighted to read that you were all happy with your accommodations and were able to take advantage of our location right here in the centre of Dublin city. I hope you all enjoyed your trip around Ireland and had a safe trip back to the US.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,838 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing