We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Prospect, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

What you would expect from a Westin - nice room, friendly staff. The hotel is centrally located to all the attractions in Dublin....it is steps away from Trinity College and Temple Bar. Only surprise was WIFI was not free.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenSchoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello JenSchoen and thank you for taking the time to share your comments after you and your family stayed with us here in the Westin Dublin. It is great to read your comments that you all enjoyed your stay and the team were helpful and friendly. I hope that you were able to avail of our complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby areas and in the restaurants and the bar. I hope that your trip home to Kentucky was a comfortable and pleasant one and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin again.
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,552
    668
    178
    57
    51
See reviews for
458
1,002
142
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We used points to stay at this hotel, which was our primary reason for choosing it, but the location is great - it's right next to Trinity College with easy access to Temple Bar and Grafton Street. It's a Westin, so the hotel itself is nice. We were in a library suite which was spectacular. The hotel bar is fine although it's off the beaten track, so it's mainly hotel guests. No big deal though since there are tons of great bars and restaurants nearby. It's a perfect hotel if you want to be out exploring Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slnoonanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi slnoonanj and thank you for your lovely comments after you and your family stayed with us here in the Westin Dublin. I am delighted that you were able to benefit from our great location, we are perfectly placed for you to enjoy all the fantastic sights of Dublin. I am glad to read that you were happy with your accommodations. I do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Westin and to Dublin in the near future.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We went in for a beer on Thursday but ended up having the most awesome drinks we have had on our trip to Ireland. The Staff where knowledgeable and well trained in the mint bar. The hotel was spotlessly clean, staff friendly especially the bar staff.
We will definitely return to this bar and hopefully stay a night or two.

Room Tip: if you like gin youll love this bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi kathy it is lovely to read your review and to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Mint bar on our 'Gin and Jazz' night and I am very happy that you had such a great time. I have shared your comments with the team in the Mint and they are delighted to hear them. We look forward to welcoming you for a visit with us here in the Westin. Thanks again for your lovely comments.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great hotel in Central Dublin. Very spacious rooms . Great staff .! my only bad point is that in 2014 a 5 star hotel should Not be charging for wifi . This would not stop me from staying in this hotel again .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesmurphyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi jamesmurphyEdinburgh, and thank you so much for your nice comments following your stay with us here in the Westin Dublin. I am sorry to read that you are unhappy with the cost of Wi-Fi during your stay. I am sure that the team told you about our complimentary Wi-Fi available to all our guests in the restaurants and the lobby areas, however our aim is to provide high quality internet to our guests. I look forward to welcoming back to the Westin the next time you visit Dublin from Edinburgh.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is located a few yards from Trinity College. A couple of blocks from Grafton Street and four blocks from the Temple Bar district. If you want to be in central Dublin, without the noise of the busy night life, this is the place to be. Rooms are relatively large for European standards. Breakfast is very good. Concierge help is limited.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielL105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Gabriel L, thank you so much for your lovely comments following you stay with us here in the Westin Dublin. It’s great that you liked your room and enjoyed the hotel and our great location. I am delighted that the team looked after your needs while you were with us. Thanks again and I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Westin the next time you visit Dublin.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

When I rang to book the room in the Westin I asked for a disabled room or fully accessible room for my brother who is completely wheelchair bound. I was told this wouldn't be a problem. However, upon arrival and after checking into the hotel we went up to the disabled room to discover that the bathroom had a bath and not a roll in shower as is customary for fully accessible rooms. I immediately rang down to reception and voiced my concern on the matter only to be told they would send up a stool for the bath as they have no rooms with roll in showers.

This wasn't acceptable. My brother is a fully grown man who cannot walk or lift or hoist himself in or out of precarious situations that a bath would cause and neither I nor my mother would have had the strength to lift him in and out of the bath. Life is hard enough without adding the extra pressure of an unadapted bath into the equation.

I told the staff that it wouldn't be suitable and was told that I could look at a room that had a normal walk in shower in it to see if that would be suitable. I obliged and was shown what seemed to be a very lovely room that would suit anyone who wasn't disabled. Again I explained it wasn't suitable, the shower cubicle was far too small and with a step up into the shower (no matter how small) the situation was impossible.

The girl I was speaking to was very lovely and very apologetic and informed us she would ring The Shelbourne to see if they had rooms (with roll in showers) we could book into, which luckily they did.

While the hotel is beautiful and the staff very friendly I cannot express how disappointed I was in this experience. It's 2014 and for a hotel to not have suitable facilities for someone in a wheelchair is beyond unacceptable. All I can conclude from this experience is that the Westin in Dublin is fostering an attitude of exclusion and prejudice for those among us who have disabilities. And I can say without hesitation that I will never stay in this hotel again and will advise those I know to avoid it in the future also, unless they find a way around the issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BilindaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear BilindaS thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us following your experience with us. I am so sorry to read that your brother was unable to stay with us because we were unable to provide a fully accessible room. I can understand your upset and frustration and I would very much like to speak with you in person. I do hope that you will to get in contact with me directly and I look forward to speaking with you in person.
Kind regards
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated in a great location for visiting various attractions and not too far I imagine from commercial area either.

Westin has been great in my European travels. The staff here was excellent at front desk, concierge, and restaurants.

Rooms are clean.

I don't have a comparison to judge against in Dublin but enjoyed the stay here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ADfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear ADfromLA thank you for taking the time to share you comments with us following your stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the team looked after you. We are very lucky with our location and I am delighted that you benefited from that. I do hope that you will be back again to stay.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,936 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing