We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could live there..”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #14 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed at the Westin Dublin both and the start and at the end of our Ireland trip. We arrived in Dublin after an overnight flight from the US and went directly to the hotel. We did not expect our room to be available since it was just 8am but the front desk staff assured us they would try to check us in as early as possible. With that, she took our bags, gave us a map of the city and suggested numerous places to grab breakfast. By the time we got back to the hotel after breakfast and walking around a bit, our room was ready with our luggage already in it. And, it was just after 10am. The room was very nice and very updated.

At the end of our trip, after driving around the country we checked back into the Westin Dublin. Just as great of an experience as the first time. Room was very nice and again very updated. The bathrooms were spacious and I fell in love with the toiletries they had there.

I have nothing but positive things to say about the hotel and the staff. I would definately recommed this hotel and if I get the chance would absolutely stay there again without hesitation. It was a great location too!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,272 - 2,278 of 2,629 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. The bathroom and decor looked much better in pix. They are in desperate need of an upgrade. We stayed in a deluxe room. We initially checked into a room with a strong cigarette odor. The receptionist grudgingly moved us into a room on the second floor facing the main street despite requesting a quiet room. We then changed into a smaller room on the 5th floor. The concierge was friendly but not very knowledgable. This hotel should not be a 5* and looks and feels more like a 3+* hotel. We travelled to 6 countries in Europe this July and this hotel was by far the worst place we stayed in. It is way too expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank engineer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The location was excellent and the hotel was very nice. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC200999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed at the Westin Dublin for six days starting July 23rd, 2009. The hotel was clean, the staff were great, and the room was nice and comfortable. We have no complaints. It is located in a perfect location right across the street from the Temple Bar District where the shops and pubs are. It is walking distance from most of the Dublin attractions. We would stay here again if we returned to the same area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APDJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

My partner and I stayed for three nights at the beginning of a two week trip to Ireland. I'm a gold level Starwood Preferred Guest and usually try to stay at Starwood properties. While the Westin was comfortable, we might very well consider another hotel in Dublin on our next trip to Dublin.

While the best feature of the Westin is its location--right across from Trinity College and steps away from Grafton Street, Temple Bar, and the river--the truth is that central Dublin is really quite compact. Unless you don't like to walk at all, most of the better and highly rated hotels are within easy walking distance of just about everything.

The Westin is a boutique-style hotel in an old converted bank building, and this probably explains why, as other reviewers have commented, everything about the the hotel seems hidden away. The Mint Bar is in the basement, the restaurant is hidden off to the side of the entranceway, and the small atrium with another lounge area is up one flight of stairs. It's easy to not see any of these as you walk through the entrance and lobby to the elevators. I made a point of going down to see the Mint Bar, and, frankly, didn't find it attractive since there were no windows or natural light. With Ireland's long summer days (rain or shine), why would you not want to have a view outside while sipping a libation?

PLUSES:
1) Location -- Aircoach airport shuttle stops right outside the hotel.
2) Quiet, comfortable average-sized rooms. Traditional decor that differs from Westin's usual modern style. Westin's Heavenly Bed, however, is a mainstay.
3) Breakfast buffet offering an elegant assortment of cereals, pastries, irish breads, cheese and cold cuts, and hot dishes. Quality was remarkable!
4) Complimentary PC internet access in the business center. Expensive wireless access elsewhere throughout the hotel.

MINUSES:
1) Breakfast environment is quiet--almost subdued. Our breakfast was included in the room rate; otherwise, it would have been a whopping 27 Euros (approx $40/person).
2) Westin Workout room barely worked! Four out of six machines (treadmills, rower, cycles and cross-trainer) were malfunctioning in some way. After alerting the front desk on my first day, nothing was different by our third day.

Given that everything is expensive in Dublin, the Westin, in my opinion, provides questionable value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwitravelerpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Excellent hotel. Clean and well staffed. Always able to answer our questions and went out of their way to ensure that we were well taken care of. Room was average size but plenty for two people. The bathroom was large, clean, and well stocked with robes and plenty of soaps/lotions etc. The location was key. We never walked more then 10 minutes to all the major sites. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kappatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This hotel was worth every penny. It was very clean, the location could not be beat and the staff was very accomodating. I traveled with my two sons (14 and 16) and we had two singles with a rollaway...all beds were very comfortable, even the rollaway!

Hotel restaurant is somewhat pricey, but quite frankly, anywhere trendy and delish in Dublin will be.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybug618Durham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.7 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,485 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#14 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £165 - £564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing