We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel in the heart of temple bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #11 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
“Grand hotel in the heart of temple bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

My husband and I booked a long weekend in Dublin for labor day weekend as a treat for our extended family, and our goal was to use Starwoods points for his parents and aunt. The hotel was more than accommodating about exchanging points for rooms, and with the location, we figured this would be a great hotel for us. Checking in, the hotel was even nicer than I expected with a grand old lobby and beautiful common areas. The building is the site of an old Irish bank and they've kept that feel in the common spaces, and the hip "vault" bar. Having been to Europe many times, we expected the rooms to be a bit smaller than American hotels but we were pleasantly surprised at the spacious and well-laid out sleeping rooms. And the soaking tubs were a hit with our family! The entire staff couldn't have been nicer to us, and were happy to fetch cabs, make dinner recommendations, and ask how our stay was. The surrounding area can get a bit raucous at night (and especially on weekends during the summer) but it was worth it for the older members of our group to be able to easily and quickly walk to so many of the tourist attractions. I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biztraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,464
    643
    168
    53
    46
See reviews for
429
945
136
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Lived in the Westin for 2 months while my spouse was working in Ireland. We checked out every weekend so stayed in a few different rooms.

The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Dublin and all major attractions are within walking distance. I recommend if you are a light sleeper that you request a higher floor or an interior facing room as the hotel is sandwiched between Trinity College and Temple Bar (most famous nightlife area) so the street noise can be fairly loud.

Our rooms varied in size and layout because of the hotel being constructed from already existing buildings. Cleaning is on point, although some of the carpets and furniture are a little worn. The library suites with the spiral staircases up to their sitting room are quite unique.

It’s a very comfortable hotel and outside of their host at breakfast, they have a very helpful and friendly staff. He, on the other hand, was the one dark spot in what was really a lovely extended hotel stay. His manner is quite rude. Even after weeks of going to breakfast every morning he acted as if he had never seen us before and once made quite the issue with me when his list stated our room was only for 1 person. Even after I told him he could feel free to charge me for the breakfast and I would work it out with the our hotel account contact myself he felt the need to interrupt my breakfast to state again that he didn’t think I was correct. I had already been coming for breakfast every morning for a month . I think it’s just his personality, but in comparison to the other staff members (the concierge hugged me upon our departure) he’s far from an asset to the hotel. Dublin is such a warm welcoming place his attitude just seems really out of place.

The breakfast buffet has all the normal choices as well as an ala carte menu. The atrium area is a nice place for an afternoon tea and the downstairs restaurant is great point for a pint to start the evening.

We were very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend for the convenient location, wonderful service and nice accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1girlintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We chose this hotel because of its location it was perfect in the heart of everything and most places were walking distance.Stayed in a junior suite, clean and spacious. Reception were helpful with directions and suggested areas to visit and restaurants to dine in. Only issue was cost of parking but the stay in the hotel overall was great, would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael081926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel on a 2 night trip to Dublin. The hotel used to be the allied Irish bank and has all the grandeur you'd expect. The location is perfect for any trip to Dublin. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights. We couldn't have been happier with the location. Reasonable price too. Busy and safe at night. Easy to walk to everything. Temple Bar and Ha Penny Bridge are 5 minutes away. St Stephen's Green and Grafton St are that close too. Trinity College is across the street. Merrion Square is 10-15 min away. St Pat's and Dublin Castle 15-20 min walk. Guiness about 20-25 min walk away. Great service and wonderful beds. Only downside was the toilet plumbing, but the building is very old. There was plenty of hot water and a great tub though. Even loved the toiletries. The AirCoach from the airport drops off around the corner and picks up across the street every 15 minutes during the day. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband & I stayed at the Westin for our trip to Dublin. The hotel was in an amazing location - right in the middle of everything. We were within quick walking distance to tons of shopping, lots of great bars, and a quick cab ride to the train station to visit other parts of Ireland. The hotel staff was very friendly & the concierge had lots of suggestions for places to eat & things to do. They gave us a discount for the on/off bus (which I highly recommend) and they made reservations for us for dinners and shows. They also have a very nice tea that they do, but unfortunately we never had the time. If you are visiting Dublin and need a hotel this is the place to stay - it is seriously in the best location - right next to the college. I also recommend taking trains to Cork, Galway and Waterford - we also did a tour of the Cliffs of Moher - and make sure you go to the Blarney Castle and kiss the stone!!! Just an FYI the rooms in Europe are a little smaller than you might be used to, even the upgraded suites - but we weren't in our room much, we were trying to see as much as possible! Also make sure you bring plug adapters for the outlets!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redluvsbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

First time to Europe and wasn't sure what to expect in a hotel. We truly enjoyed our stay at The Westin! It was comfortable, clean and quiet. Walking distance to almost every place we intended to go to. Restaurants and attractions were all nearby.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,694 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing