We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We had our wedding here in the Grand Hall on May 2nd 2013. From start to finish the whole day was amazing and that was mainly thanks to all the staff at Clontarf Castle Hotel. Many of our guests have said the same and the food was beautiful. The whole day ran like clockwork. The venue itself is amazing, it is a very unique hotel with fantastic decor. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: There is no
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I'm absolutely delighted to read such lovely feedback from someone who had their big day here at the castle. Thank you so much for such a great recommendation. We were delighted to be a part of your wedding day and are so happy that it all went well for you. Thanks again for your review, we really appreciate it and we wish you and your partner all the very best, congratulations!

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,510
    786
    263
    100
    69
See reviews for
807
1,786
73
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Only a few minues outside of Dublin, this hotel was perfect. The decor of the castle was fascinating and the room was pleasant. My favorite part of the stay was charging my iPad with the American plug in the room! The price was reasonable and the experience was great.

Room Tip: Get higher than second floor. Our view was the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmondattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review and for choosing to spend a part of your honeymoon with us at the castle. I'm delighted to read you liked the room and had a great time. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Had some friends for a weekend and stayed there and all were very impressed with it ! It's in a quiet - residential part of Dublin that is easy to get to the city from - and all loved it and all said they would stay again. Loads of US visitors there busy with their cameras taking pics of the genuine history that goes with this special location. Would highly recommend if you are not set on staying in Dublin city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonJRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel and for your lovely recommendation. I'm delighted that you and your party had such a nice stay. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Like many others have written this hotel is really in a residential community. Which isn't a bad thing just good to know.

I was able to book an Executive room for a really good price during a spring sale promotion. The booking also included a free bottel of wine.

Upon getting to our room and bringing the luggage up I start to wonder if we got the right room. The room was quite small and no bathtub. I go down to the front desk to confirm we had the right room level and we did not. We were upgraded to a really nice suite on the top floor. So, we had to move our luggage again to the new room.

I couldn't help but wonder why we were put in the cheaper room and I started to think, the other room had robes and slippers out on the bed. That is not included in the lower level room. Could this mean they were trying to pass off this room as a higher level on purpose? I emailed the hotel and they looked into the matter but was never able to give me an answer of why. They did offer a room upgrade on my next stay.

Now, the suite was very large but many of the finishes were broken or damaged. My biggest problem was there was only one sink in the bathroom but room for 2. If this is your best room you have double sinks. Also, no shower cap and the cups were plastic like you would find in a cafeteria. The bed was nice and comfortable.

Breakfast was pretty terrible. It was the worst we had at any hotel on our trip. The buffet was lacking and not very tasty. The staff was nice and helpful.

Be sure to check your bill carefully. The free bottel of wine that came with our room package was on the bill. They promptly took it off.

This is not a bad place to stay when you are flying out the next morning since it is pretty close to the airport. Just heed my advice and make sure you get what you booked and paid for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aWendybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I'm very sorry that this mistake was made with your room and I can assure you that this was a genuine mistake. I'm also disappointed that you were not impressed with the suite you stayed in or the breakfast you received. You are very much entitled to your opinion and we appreciate your feedback. You have my sincere apologies for any inconvenience or disappointment you incurred during your stay. We would love to welcome you back to the castle in the future to improve your perceptions of us so please do get in touch if you would like to take up the offer of a free room upgrade. Thanks again for your feedback, I really appreciate it.


Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We arrived after 9 pm, hungry and tired after long flights and a slow check out of our rental car. The staff was exceedingly friendly, especially the concierge who helped us quickly book our activities for the following day, seated us in the charming "dungeon." It's a semi-private stone walled room in the lobby with one dining table surrounded by cushy armchairs. He quickly brought us dinner and drinks and made sure we had everything we needed.

Our 5 year old son loved the suits of armor and the dungeon along with the "king's chairs" near the stairs. We were just thrilled to be able to relax after 16 hours of travel. We stayed for three nights, and enjoyed a nice breakfast one of the days and also ate dinner at the hotel once. The hotel is a 5 minute walk and a 10-15 minute bus ride from the city center. They have free parking.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thirstybursty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I'm delighted you found the service at the castle to be so excellent and that you and your family were well looked after during your stay. We strive to offer excellent customer service to our guests so I'm delighted that you experienced this. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we'd love to welcome you all back in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just home from a long weekend in Ireland staying at this very, very nice hotel. Excellent staff, happy and friendly and extremely helpful. A few tiny niggles but they were tiny.
I would recommend this to anyone that wants good access to Dublin Centre but without the accompanying noise. It is so quiet and peaceful there despite events going on and a band playing, never even heard a peep.

Room Tip: If you decide to take the 130 bus service to the city, on the return journey, get off at the bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBlackstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was very happy to read about your long weekend at the castle, particularly that you found the staff to be so helpful and friendly.Thanks again for the feedback, we really appreciate it and would be happy to welcome you back again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely surprise since I booked over the Internet & thought I was taking a chance b/c how could it be great at the price I was paying? Wrong. This is a gem just outside Dublin city limits and short drive from airport.. Clontarf is a 10th century castle w/21st century amenities. Service was great. Rooms were beautiful & well appointed. I only wish we had stayed more than 1 night.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Queentyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. It's so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and found it to be such good value. We'd love to welcome you back for longer in the future if you return to Dublin. Thanks again for your lovely recommendation, we really appreciate it.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing