We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Clontarf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay at Clontarf”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We hade an amazing stay. Loved the hotel and staff. The only complaint I would have is the shower in our room was so small I had to open the door to wash my hair. Very minor. Food and drinks at the hotel were great, so no need to go out after a long day. Taking the bus was a few blocks away, but not horrible.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or spa If that is a must for you, which it's not for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdenewellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really pleased to read that you were so impressed with your stay at the hotel. I'm delighted you loved the staff and the food and drink at the castle. I'm also pleased you liked your room, however I am very sorry about your issue with the shower, I will look in to this. Many thanks again for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to the area.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,574
    796
    264
    101
    69
See reviews for
826
1,825
74
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 729 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at Clontarf Castle while on a family vacation to Ireland. I found the accommodations to be less than comfortable. Clontarf Castle has a four-star facade, but the accommodations are no better than a lowly two-star hotel. Definitely room for improvement.

The hotel has a regal appearance. When you pull up to the hotel you immediately notice the unique castle-like appearance and tuxedo-wearing doormen. The stroll to the front desk reveals a small, but plush sitting area that showcases a large stone fireplace with a warm, inviting fire.

Given the beautifully luxurious common spaces I expected our rooms to have a similarly elegant appearance. Wrong. Our rooms were small, and decorated in a manner more consistent with a Days Inn than a fine, luxury hotel.

We had two rooms, each with two single beds. The beds were springy and uncomfortable. The furniture was chunky and lacked function. The bathroom was small, and spartan. To make matters worse, the walls provided little sound insulation. We could clearly hear conversations from the adjoining rooms and from the hallway. The wifi signal did not reach to the hotel rooms, so we had no internet service. If you needed access to the internet, you had to sit in the lobby. Very inconvenient.

The evening we arrived at the hotel there was party being hosted in the hotel's ballroom. This event created a terrible parking problem. The hotel has no valet service, so I was forced to circle the parking lot for more than an hour trying to find a place to park. The doorman was clearly embarrassed, but could do little to assist me. I am not from Ireland so I do not know the local parking rules. Moreover, as a guest of the hotel, I should not have to park several blocks away.

We got a decent nightly rate for our rooms, which is why I have rated Clontarf Castle as a "average", but I will not be a return guest. The rooms do not offer the quiet and comfort that I seek when traveling. For me, free wifi is a must-have, and there is no excuse for a fine hotel lacking this service. It is a shame that the proprietors of this hotel have wasted the opportunity to create a truly unique hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank STP1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I really appreciate your honest feedback, all your comments provide us with food for thought. You have my sincere apologies for the lack of parking on one of the nights of your stay. We are a very popular hotel that can get busy at times, however we do our utmost to ensure that our service standards are not negatively affected by this. I am also very sorry that the WiFi signal was poor in your room. Thank you for highlighting this, it is an unusual issue and I will be investigating it further. We would welcome the opportunity to change your opinion. If you would like to discuss your experience further please don't hesitate to contact me on 35318332321 or email mlong@clontarfcastle.ie. Many thanks again for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Planned this for a while. Emailed the hotel directly because the suite rooms are not on the online booking system. Ciara dealt with the several emails quickly.

Arrived at 2pm on Sunday. Raining and cold outside. Inside was warm and cosy.
Happy already. First impressions and all that.
Walked upto reception and gave my name. Good afternoon Mr. ...
Out of habit, I offered my driving licence and credit card to book in.
She handed back my licence - 'we don't need that Sir' I was told.
Ahh.. its that type of hotel. The type of hotel who trust a guest somewhat.

I don't like small rooms or feeling crammed in. So I booked the King Suite.
At €259 including breakfast for the two of us, some people might think that is expensive.
I disagree. You pay for what you get. I am sure some of the other rooms in the hotel are cheaper and smaller. They are called standard rooms.

If you like style, exceeding comfort, a seperate sleeping area, eating area, sitting area and lounge area - then that price is not expensive.
Bathroom was plenty big and had a seperate shower and a rolltop cast iron bath.
All the chrome fittings were spotlessly clean.
The 4 poster bed was sturdy and very comfortable.
A/C was controlled independently in the room and worked very well.
All the usual trimmings were also dotted around the room - mini bar, iron, tea making, notepads, very techy phone, 2 tv's with onscreen demand programming.
Decor was modern and very tastefully done. Room had the biggest mirror I have ever seen in a hotel bedroom.
The 4 velux windows let plenty of light in and each had its own blackout blind for those who don't like early starts.

We went out for dinner to Picassos (Italian) on Vernon Avenue, which is practically down the road and around the corner.
There are 4 places to eat no further than 3/4 of a mile away. After that you could go to Howth or Fairview to seek out more places. So no 'forced' eating in due to lack of choice.

Returning to the hotel later we had a few drinks in the Knights Bar. Staff there were quick to serve and polite. They also serve food until 9.30 which we couldn't resist after seeing everyone around us nibbling away at various things.
We got a Guiness stew pie and a chicken wrap, both of which were scoffed surprisingly quick for two people who ate a big dinner a few hours ago.

Long day so we headed to the room.
We ordered breakfast to the room between 9 and 9.30. Knock with breakfast was at 9.05.
The very well dressed gentleman left it on the table quietly as herself was still asleep and went quickly. Breakfast was exactly as ordered.

All in all, a very comfortable hotel with well dressed and polite staff.

Driving out of the grounds herself of course inquired...
'So..... when are we coming back here again'?

Room Tip: Website photos are very accurate - pick what you want to spend
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roamer808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really pleased to read your feedback, it sounds like you had a lovely stay at the hotel. I'm very glad that your experience with staff at every stage of your stay was so efficient and that you were so impressed with the food and accommodation at the castle. Many thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate it and would love to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ville D'Avray, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

One of the only hotels open christmas eve and day! Hotel really had the best christmas spirit, events and ambiance.
Was a terrific experience! Santa claus visit christmas day definitely made our kids holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. It's great to hear from a guest who stayed with us over Christmas. I'm delighted you were impressed with all the festivities at the castle. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great hotel (but small rooms) but not if you're looking for having wifi in your room, doesn't exist. Not even in the bar. Only in the lobby and better keep your coat on, it's cold there.
The hotel is definitely not up to American standards. And it is in a residential neighborhood, you're forced to eat in their restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't know if they have suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HENDRIKA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was very disappointed to read that the hotels wifi was not working in your room or the bar. I can assure you that our wifi does work in public areas and the reception in the majority of rooms is also excellent, so I will be personally investigating this issue. In relation to our location I was surprised to read that you feel guests are forced to eat in the hotel, we are very close to Clontarf which has many lovely restaurants and we are also only a few miles from Dublin city centre where there are a vast number options for our guests. Many thanks again for your feedback on your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel, it provides us with food for thought and we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hi my wife and i stayed in this hotel on our wedding night as we were flying from dublin to mexico the following morning....as we arrived the receptionist upgraded us to the top suite....which was amazing.....this place is like no other hotel we have been to....we were just amazed as we walked the the gates of this property....we could not fault this hotel at all....we are actually returning in april for our aniversary....i would highy recommend this hotel to anyone....and is reasonably priced

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was so pleased to read you had such a lovely stay at the castle, particularly as it was your wedding night. I'm delighted our staff ensured you had a lovely room for your special night. Many thanks again for your feedback of your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle very soon for your anniversary.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The vacation of our dreams would not have been complete without our 2 night stay at the Clontarf Castle Hotel. This was our first overseas vacation that was long in the planning. WE could not have felt more special and welcomed than when we set foot into the Clondarf for a 2 night stay. We were welcomed with a friendly receptionist who gave us all of the information we needed to make the most of our 2 day stay in Dublin. I cannot say enough good about our experience---we were in "awe" the entire time.. Our room was fantastic--a huge bathroom---a wonderful and comfortable bed and a window that opened up to allow us to hear the "rain" coming down, along with a great view. Yes, it rained and drizzled our two days there--we were able to get out and do things, and then come back to the welcoming peaceful atmosphere of the Clondarf. The breakfast was outstanding, with a multitude of cheeses, fruits, cereals, jams, jellies before one ordered their actual breakfast. The staff were absolutely the best and I couldn't have felt more special. I appreciate the fact that I can say I have stayed here---it was a wonderful experience and hope I can make it back to this great place again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clayjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was so delighted to read all your lovely comments. It really sounds like you enjoyed your stay at the castle and I'm so glad it made your overseas trip so special. I'm pleased you were so impressed with your accommodation, the food at the castle and all the staff. I'll be sure to pass all your comments on to all the staff.
Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to have you back at Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,444 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,026 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,564 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing