We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is excellent albeit a little out of the town centre it is worth staying here. Rooms are comfy and well appointed. Restaurant is good and the breakfast is great. Staff are all friendly and it is easy to hop on a bus or hail a cab into the centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable break with us at the castle. I was particularly pleased to read that you were impressed with the staff and your meals. I'll be sure to pass all your comments on to the team here. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,570
    796
    264
    101
    69
See reviews for
824
1,824
74
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you for your friendly, warm and fantastic service when my son and I visited this week. It was three days of total relaxation. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff. The four poster bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Ever! The service was impeccable. I would recommend this hotel in an instant. Thank you again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really delighted to read your feedback. I'm so pleased that you and your son had such a wonderful stay with us. We aim to achieve excellent standards in customer service so I'm very pleased that you experienced this during your break with us. Thank you for your kind recommendation, I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to all the team. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My girlfriend's and my stay was extremely pleasant. I was bowled over by the lobby and surrounding bar areas - the little cubby hole near the Knights Bar was a great little secluded drinking spot. The armour, stags' heads, wall drapery, even the braces of pheasants were fantastic little touches.

Our bedroom was equally impressive with a four poster bed (very comfy mattress) and glistening marble bathroom. The rainfall shower head was very comfortable in the mornings.

Service at the Knights Bar (we only visited this bar) was quick, friendly and attentive - as were the staff behind reception; they knew transport links very well and were willing to help with all our requests.

Unfortunately there were a couple of negatives. The first being the location of the bedroom in relation to keg refills in the mornings and general deliveries. Very noisy with vehicle engines, kegs being rolled around etc. Also there was a metal staircase near our window (which we kept open because the in-room air con wasn't cool enough) on which people insisted making loud footsteps despite it being early in the morning. The general disregard for people sleeping nearby wasn't appreciated with loud, sometimes rude, staff conversations outside our window was an unwanted yet frequent occurrence.

All in all, though, a lovely stay and would definitely recommend to people in the future. Thank you, Clontarf Castle!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm delighted that you liked the castle so much, your bedroom and Knights Bar in particular. I was especially pleased to read that you found the staff to be so helpful. We strive to provide the highest standards of customer service so it's great that you experienced this during your stay with us. I was very disappointed to read that you were disrupted by noise from outside your bedroom window. You have my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this caused. I can assure you that I will personally investigate this issue. Many thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future if you return to the area.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I chose Clontarf Castle for our last night in Ireland, spend the last night at a castle. I was not disappointed. It is rather difficult to find, esp at night since I couldn't see any signs,but thanks to the helpful man at the parking garage in Dublin we found our way. The place is just stunning. It has the original castle walls and they have added on hotel rooms to the rear of the building. Some of my companions didn't think this represented a true castle, and the rooms were the most modern we had on our trip, but I'm still glad we stayed here. The castle is over 1,000 yr old, and will be celebrating the 1,000 yr anniversary of the Battle of Clontarf. You can see the original walls and floors in the lobby, bar and lounge area, they were just stunning. The rooms were beautiful, the beds were great altho they roll rather fast and are higher than normal. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was good. We needed reservations which the front desk kindly made for us. I would most definately stay there again if I'm in the Dublin area. Just fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieNoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you were so impressed with your stay at the castle and that your last night in Ireland was so enjoyable. I'll be sure to pass all your comments on to the team here at the castle. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Booked the Clontarf Castle through Trivago for a family visit, surprisingly this hotel was not as expensive as some of the others on offer, but the chance to stay in a castle was a must as the location was central for our visit and only a short distance from ferry. This hotel impressed from the start, a hidden gem in Dublin, with plenty of parking and grand lobby with huge fireplace and suits of armour. Check in was easy and friendly, the actual hotel is modern with clean modern design rooms with desk, table, tub chairs and flat screen TV, this is a 4 star hotel and was certainly up to the standard expected with really comfy beds. Unfortunately we did not use the 'Fahrenheit' restaurant as this was too expensive being a Michelin star restaurant and chose to eat locally as there are plenty of places to eat within a short drive from the hotel as is the centre of Dublin, however we did take the 'full Irish' breakfast option which is self service buffet style with the best white pudding, but no baked beans. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel being close to the city centre but also something special to remember Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21Alizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you were so impressed with your stay at the castle. It's great that you experienced excellent customer service and liked all the facilities. I'll be sure to pass all your compliments on the team here at the castle. I was sorry to read that you didn't dine in our restaurant as you perceived it to be too expensive. Fahrenheit Grill actually isn't a Michelin star restaurant and offers A Lá Carte and Early Bird options. Many thanks again for your feedback on your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabash, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Beautiful setting! Friendly and professional staff! Concierge was exceptional especially DJ! We loved our stay ant Clontarf Castle and would recommend it to our friends and family! Food and drink were the best. Easy to visit the city from this location! Restaurants in the area were high quality!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluffy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel and for choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I'm particularly pleased that you found the staff at the castle to so helpful and friendly. We aim to achieve excellent standards in customer service so it's great that you experienced this during your stay. Many thanks again for your feedback and for your kind recommendation, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

beautiful hotel but very relaxed lovely helpful staff couldnt fault it at all,. very reasonably priced restaurant- will definitely stay again. 15 mins by taxi to centre of Dublin, as usual the Taxi drivers are so entertaining great wedding venue . Have stayed at some classy hotels but rarely felt at such ease as in the Clontarf . rooms were lovely great bathroom and facilities excellent cant remember the waitress/ manageress in the restaurant but she worked so hard and was so helpful if your thinking of going dont hesitate

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was so pleased to read your feedback, it's great you had such an enjoyable stay at the castle. I was delighted that you found the staff to be so wonderful as we aim to achieve excellent standards in customer service. I'll be sure to pass all your comments on to the team at the castle. Many thanks again for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. We really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,443 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,022 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,561 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,834 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TravelUp, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing