We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love, Love, Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We bought a package deal and the Castle exceeded all our expectations. Located just outside of Dublin, the city was easily accessible by public transportation. The hotel is a castle and the history is part of its charm. Staff was excellent, food was above average, and the unique features of the castle were still intact. Highly recommend staying here, will do it again when I come back. We stayed for a week and loved the pub - we ate here rather than eating dinner downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iampepah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that your stay with us exceeded all our expectations. I’m particularly pleased that you were so impressed with the staff as we strive to achieve excellent standards of customer service. I’ll be sure to pass all your compliments on to all the team here. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,447
    771
    262
    100
    69
See reviews for
783
1,755
71
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Beautiful hotel in a great location. This hotel is easily accessible from the airport, and the hotel rooms and staff are perfect. It is a hotel built around a castle. The atmosphere is keen and the staff is very gracious. Our room was modern, well appointed, and very comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant (Fahrenheit); the food was amazing, the atmosphere was very nice and the staff was very attentive and knowledgable. I would recommend making a reservation as the restaurant seemed very popular with the local residents as well as hotel guests. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of hot and cold foods and was more than anyone could want.

A great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay at the castle. We strive to achieve excellent standards in customer service so I’m really pleased you experienced this. I’ll be sure to pass all your comments on to the team here.
Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I recently spent our last night in dublin at this fabulous hotel. When we drove up we were so amazed with how beautiful it was and yet when we walked in it wasn't pretentious at all. Gorgeous but not over the top. Our beautiful room was wonderful and the bed was so comfortable! We had dinner in one of the hotels restaurants and it was absolutely gorgeous! We were both surprised at the reasonable priced menu items and everything was beautifully presented. We enjoyed our stay so much and the only negative thing I can say is that one night wasn't enough to enjoy this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaobella79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was so pleased to read that you had such a lovely stay at the castle. I’m delighted that you were so impressed with everything and I’ll be sure to pass your feedback on to all the team here at the hotel.

Many thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate it and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the castle again in the future if you return.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our last night in Ireland after a great trip was spent at Clontarf Castle Hotel -- Everyone was friendly and the place was alive with energy! I found myself accidentally at the Knights Bar and was treated like family by Dympna - who went out of her way to make me comfortable! This was the perfect end to a wonderful vacation in Ireland - where the people are the BEST!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really delighted to read that you had such a nice time at the castle. I’m particularly pleased that you enjoyed your time in Knights Bar. I’ll be sure to pass all your feedback on the staff here at the castle.
Many thanks again for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a 1 night stay in clontarf castle and have to say i was very impressed. Cleanliness was 5* and pretty much everything else was too. We travelled with our 6 month old and had a great time. We had dinner in the grill which was delightful and had some really good offers for early bird menus. Rooms were a good size with a huge bed (handy for us with a baby in between us) and amazing shower. The breakfast was not included in our room rate but the hotel offered a voucher for money off so only cost 10euro and the food was top notch.

Overall would highly reccommend this hotel for people of all ages who are looking for a nice hotel away from the hustle and bustle of central Dublin.

Thanks Clontarf !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinHamiltonRea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really delighted with all your comments and that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay. I’m particularly pleased that you were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and your meals. We strive to achieve the highest service standards possible at the castle. I’ll be sure to pass all your compliments on to the team here.
Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future if you return to Dublin.


Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Amazing stay, delightful room and delicious food
Lovely location close to the sea and local bars full of lovely drinks and regulars
Bed was amazing so big and comfy
Only thing we never had a small fridge to store our cool items x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottheproof2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay and that you were so impressed with all the castles facilities, particularly the food. I’ll be sure to pass all your compliments on to all the team here. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and i stayed here for 2 weeks and wow staff especially The Concierge Christoper and waitress at the Knights bar Dympna,are top notch and will fall over themselves to make it a super trip.The manger took time out during a busy sunday dinner rush to say hello and thank us for staying and made this couple feel superbly important!!!Christoper got us tickets to a sold out show the same day i asked which was the day of show he still got us in!!Dympna treated us and remembered us from the first visit to the last made us feel like we were her only customers.I dont want to take away from the rest of staff all GREAT and helpful!!Thanks, If your going to Ireland i gaurantee this is the place to stay, close to city center clean fair priced great room service and a story book memory!! The restaurant is superb and a 5 star place!Thank you all for a great time!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such a great time and that you found the staff to be so friendly and professional. We aim to achieve excellent standards in customer service so it’s great that you experienced this during your stay. I’ll be sure to pass all your lovely comments on to all the team here. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,345 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Lastminute, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing