We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Did not feel welcome”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night. From the start I felt as if the staff were looking down upon me. They forgot to make the bed with sheets, and when I told them their response was sorry about that. The king bed was two twins pushed together and was very uncomfortable. Our view was of a stone wall. The experience did not feel very castle like in the least. Food was good but overpriced. Over all not with the high price tag!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I’m disappointed to read you were displeased with you stay with us. Rest assured, this is not our typical standard as we usually receive excellent reviews about our customer service. I've sent you a personal message with my contact information, and would like an opportunity to speak with you about your trip at your convenience. Again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,647
    815
    266
    102
    69
See reviews for
856
1,868
78
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hornell, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and when we ate in the bar at the Clontarf Castle Hotel we had the best service of anyplace we had been in Dublin (or elsewhere). Our waitress, Dympna, was courteous and friendly and saw to our every need. She checked to see how our food was and also made sure we were never lacking for drinks or any other service. Dympna did a great job and my wife and I were truly pleased with her service. This hotel had the best wait staff I had seen of any of the bars, pubs, or other hotels we stayed at during our 12 day trip. I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarrod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted to hear you received the best service at The Knights Bar out of any place you had been in Dublin, as we strive to deliver the best customer service to all of our guests. We will be sure to pass your comments along to Dympna and the rest of the team here at Clontarf. Again, thanks for your feedback, and we’re excited to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My family stayed here two nights, and had breakfast both mornings.
The place is amazing! Luxurious, well-appointed, with friendly staff and excellent service.
The breakfast food is absolutely superb, and we also ate in the bar, which was busy but the food and service were excellent, and the Guinness was among the best we had - which in Dublin is a fine accomplishment (better even than at the Guinness Store House).
Even though it's a little way out of town, there is a bus stop within 5 mins walks with good service into the centre.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I’m delighted to read your stay with us was excellent and that you were pleased with the superb food and exemplary service at Fahrenheit Grill and the Knight’s Bar. I appreciate your feedback, as it assures us we are successfully a step closer to achieving our goal to deliver the highest standards in customer service and hospitality. I will be sure to send your comments on to the rest of the team here at Clontarf, and would be delighted to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a good quality hotel close to a little street of nice restaurants and one or two pubs. We enjoyed a stay here whilst visiting Croke Pk for a conference and it was handy enough by car. I would usually sty more central in Dublin, but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueOcean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I’m delighted to read you were pleased with the high quality of the hotel, and were satisfied with the local attractions. I’ll be sure to send your comments on to the team here. Thanks again for your review. We appreciate the feedback and are excited to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently and found the venue superb. It was a bit more difficult to find than I'd hoped but well worth the hunt. If you're not familiar with Dublin, I would definitely recommend GPS. However, we found the staff to be lovely and helpful and our room to be top class. There are both formal and informal options for dinner and Dympna at the pub was just fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piddysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the high quality of our rooms, and that you received excellent service from our staff as we strive to deliver outstanding customer service to all of our guests. I will be sure to send your comments on to Dympna and the rest of the team here at Clontarf. Your feedback is much appreciated, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My boyfriend and I only stayed here for a single night, but it was such a pleasant stay. The room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast the next day was the perfect Irish Breakfast! Beautiful Hotel, only thing is you definitely need to take a taxi to get here from the city center. For some reason I was under the impression that I would be able to walk, took me over an hour… So definitely need a taxi (cost around 10 Euro) but such a beautiful castle!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am delighted to read you were satisfied with the high quality of our rooms, and that you enjoyed your breakfast at the Fahrenheit Grill. We are located two miles from the city, should you be returning, there is a bus stop directly outside the castle gates with a service every 10 minutes in to the city and a journey time of 10 minutes. We are also a 5 minute walk from the DART station (train) with a regular city centre service. The Dublin City Hop On / hop off tour bus also picks up at the hotel each morning and is a wonderful way to see the city. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future, and I hope that these recommendations will be helpful on your next visit. Thank you again for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,


Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

While the rooms were very much modern, the castle itself is a lovely mix of modern and old. Everyone who worked here was also so incredibly friendly, particularly the head concierge, who helped us with directions and recommendations several times (I wish I could remember his name!). The castle isn't in the center of town, but is a short taxi ride away. There are a few pubs and restaurants within walking distance as well. I was on the fence about booking here due to the distance from the center of town but am really, really happy that we did. My only regret is that we didn't stay here for more than two nights!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially pleased that you received such friendly and courteous customer service. We strive to deliver an excellent experience to all of our guests. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team here in particular concierge. Again, I appreciate your feedback, and I’m looking forward to inviting you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,505 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,132 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,889 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,588 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing