We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeled Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had rented a car when we landed in Dublin and it was a short ride to this beautiful castle hotel with ample parking. Our room was very large with a sitting room and spacious bedroom and bath. There was a nice view of Dublin from our window. The lobby sitting area was warm and inviting. We had a buffet breakfast at the hotel the next morning which was excellent. The wait staff was very helpful. The restoration of this castle is complete with all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our beautiful castle hotel, and especially pleased that your breakfast the next morning was excellent and you found the wait staff to be very helpful. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to the team here. Again, many thanks for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,425 - 2,431 of 4,151 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had a wonderful night Thursday 10th July, food was fantastic and piping hot!!! Service was great, served by Amanda and Michelle who were efficient and friendly! The atmosphere was great and very roomy for comfort. Niamh

Room Tip: roomy and great atmosphere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience in our restaurant, and especially pleased you received efficient and friendly service from Amanda and Michelle. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments along to them and to the rest of the team here at Clontarf. Again, many thanks for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First class hotel with the most pleasant staff you could imagine...The Fahrenheit Grill serves excellent food and is definitely worth a visit.
Really glad to have stayed here and a return is on the cards!!.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an excellent experience at The Fahrenheit Grill, and especially pleased you thought our staff to be pleasant. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and we are looking forward to inviting you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really great place to stay! Rooms are generous, dining is great, the staff are fantastic. The castle has been well restored and is really well maintained. Definitely high quality accomodation and very affordable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your room and dining options, and especially pleased you thought the staff to be fantastic. Thank you for your recommendation, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We recently stayed at Clontarf Castle after arriving in Dublin from Sydney, my kids loved the whole castle experience and the staff were lovely, really friendly. We loved the castle, it was in a great location, close to the bus stops and to the city and close to lovely walks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and especially pleased you received friendly service from our staff as we strive to receive excellent standards in customer service. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The arquitect did an excellent job in keeping certain parts of the castle and working around it to
make this an interesting hotel. I did find the room quite small for the price one pays in Eurals.
The food at their Farhenheit restaurant was excellent. The service was also very good.
The hotel is in located in a beautiful part of town but far from the commercial areas, making it
difficult to find other alternatives to eat in the evening. The hotel bar and restaurant were full.
One must make reservations for dinner in advance if you want to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syan0vich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've stayed at Clontarf Castle twice now, both times for conferences. It's quite an impressive first impression and I like that the rooms are modern, but you still feel like you're in a castle. The food in the restaurant is delicious. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The first time I stayed there they must have thought my wife was going to be with me as there were rose petals on the bed and a bottle of wine (maybe next time, honey).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I’m delighted to read Clontarf Castle had a good first impression and that you liked the food in our restaurant. I’m especially pleased you thought the staff to be friendly and helpful as we strive to achieve excellent standards in customer service. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,655 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,447 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,642 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,668 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £104 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing