We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, comfortable rooms, close enough to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Excellent service, comfortable rooms, close enough to airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I made this my first stop in Ireland after having such a good experience with this hotel while traveling with my husband last year. It's close enough to the airport and a short drive, bus or bike into city center. The staff is gracious, helpful and competent; the rooms are very comfortable and clean. When I arrive from the US I need a comfortable, secure place to rest, with food nearby and easy parking. This hotel fits the bill. The site has history that is a thousand years old, but the facility is comfortably modern without losing its charm. An excellent launching point.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms, and even more pleased to read you received excellent service from our staff as we strive to deliver the best standards in customer service. Again, many thanks for your review. It’s very much appreciated, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,455
    775
    262
    100
    69
See reviews for
787
1,758
71
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hi to Leonora and the very wonderful Aileen and staff.

My daughter and Son In- laws wedding was a most wonderful experience, thanks to you and ALL the staff at Clontarf Castle. The chef who had an enormous task catering for the many food allergies that he was bombarded with. It was very clear that that he pulled out all the stops to ensure that all our guests were catered to and please inform him we and they were more than grateful for his huge effort. All our guests were bowled over by the efficiency and courtesy of the staff and it truly reflected what I am sure is the highest quality standard that Clontarf Castle would and should boast.

I hope I have expressed my gratitude in the best way I can and that I have paid the highest compliment to you for doing such a wonderful job.

Christina & Kevin Coyle ( parents of the bride) Hazel Miller mother of the groom

Room Tip: As it was our daughters wedding we were up graded to an executive suite and it was excellent we wish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read your daughter’s wedding was such a wonderful experience and that you thought our staff to be courteous and efficient. One of our goals at Clontarf is to ensure every guest receives an outstanding experience, so I’m very glad to read our exceptional chefs and diligent staff made that possible for you. Thanks again for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
316 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had rented a car when we landed in Dublin and it was a short ride to this beautiful castle hotel with ample parking. Our room was very large with a sitting room and spacious bedroom and bath. There was a nice view of Dublin from our window. The lobby sitting area was warm and inviting. We had a buffet breakfast at the hotel the next morning which was excellent. The wait staff was very helpful. The restoration of this castle is complete with all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our beautiful castle hotel, and especially pleased that your breakfast the next morning was excellent and you found the wait staff to be very helpful. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to the team here. Again, many thanks for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had a wonderful night Thursday 10th July, food was fantastic and piping hot!!! Service was great, served by Amanda and Michelle who were efficient and friendly! The atmosphere was great and very roomy for comfort. Niamh

Room Tip: roomy and great atmosphere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience in our restaurant, and especially pleased you received efficient and friendly service from Amanda and Michelle. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments along to them and to the rest of the team here at Clontarf. Again, many thanks for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

First class hotel with the most pleasant staff you could imagine...The Fahrenheit Grill serves excellent food and is definitely worth a visit.
Really glad to have stayed here and a return is on the cards!!.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an excellent experience at The Fahrenheit Grill, and especially pleased you thought our staff to be pleasant. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and we are looking forward to inviting you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really great place to stay! Rooms are generous, dining is great, the staff are fantastic. The castle has been well restored and is really well maintained. Definitely high quality accomodation and very affordable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your room and dining options, and especially pleased you thought the staff to be fantastic. Thank you for your recommendation, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We recently stayed at Clontarf Castle after arriving in Dublin from Sydney, my kids loved the whole castle experience and the staff were lovely, really friendly. We loved the castle, it was in a great location, close to the bus stops and to the city and close to lovely walks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and especially pleased you received friendly service from our staff as we strive to receive excellent standards in customer service. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,352 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing