We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozied up in Clontarf Castle ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I traveled to Clontarf this month and spent a night in this beautiful Hotel. The grounds are stunning, and the front gardens are beautiful. The restaurant has the charm and feel of a grand dining room of a castle and the breakfasts were fantastic. The staff was incredible, polite, very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the pub and the servings were large and very tasty! The room had a beautiful view of the front entrance, comfortable and clean bed and lots of space for our luggage and us. We strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and even more pleased that you were satisfied with The Fahrenheit Restaurant and Knights Bar. Your comments about our staff are very lovely, and we will be sure to send them along to the rest of the team. Thank you for your feedback and the recommendation, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Your Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,348 - 2,354 of 4,099 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three nights in July. We originally stayed a little closer to town and moved here for the second half of our trip. We received excellent customer service from Monica, she made our check in process very easy. The room was very nice with plenty of room. We enjoyed walking around and exploring the nooks and crannies of this historic hotel.
Taxi rides back and forth to the city center were on average $15 each way.
My only complaint was that there were multiple "michelin" stickers on the door to restaurant. I had an issue with the temperature of my lamb when it was brought out to me (over-cooked, the server took care of this immediately however), the table next to me had to send one of their steaks back due to not being cooked through for her liking.
I researched this restaurant for michelin stars and discovered that they had none, that I could find. I believe this falsely identified the true quality of this restaurant.
I would happily stay at the Clontarf Castle the next time I am in Dublin and would recommend the same to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hackman1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially pleased you received excellent customer service from Monica. I was disappointed to read you had an issue with the temperature of your lamb. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard and thank you for your feedback. The Michelin stickers you mention on our restaurant door are for being named in the Michelin Guide, a tourist travel guide. Although we do not have Michelin stars, we have been recently awarded our AA Rossette. Again, many thanks for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Your Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A modern Hotel experience mixed with a castle. Very cool. A bit of a way out from town but only 10 mins in a cab or jump on the bus down the road. Always lots to do in Dublin like most cities. Quality hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank j0nnyb0y01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was especially pleased that you thought our staff to be friendly as one of our goals is to provide exceptional customer service standards. Again, thank you for your review, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Your Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What an amazing experience! The staff at the Clontarf Castle exceeded expectations, for what turned out to be a very memorable weekend this was the perfect choice. The staff were extremely courteous, the room very spacious and spotless, and Cathy on the front desk truly stood out as an exceptional member of staff. I booked this hotel reading through the reviews on this site, and was not dissapointed. Will definately be back on our next trip to Dublin, highly recommended for a perfect romantic stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I was especially pleased to read that you thought our staff to be extremely courteous and your room to be very spacious and spotless. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Cathy and the rest of the team here. Again, many thanks for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Your Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Clontarf has done a great job in combining the old castle with new elements, like a five or six story steel and glass atrium that seems to just open and light up the old castle front without detracting from the heritage feeling at all. The staff are really pleasant and helpful - we arrived late morning after an overnight flight and the receptionist said "Oh my dears, you must be hungry. The breakfast buffet is about to close. Shall I just call up and tell them to hold, you're on your way? We'll send your bags to the room? " really did feel just like family.

The food is really good, the service excellent, and it just is fun to stay in a castle. The rooms are pretty good too, and best of all it is inexplicably a bargain for the area. It is a bit out from town, but right by a miles long boulevard along the lagoon (and bird sanctuary) going from the city out to the fishing village of Howth, where the fishing fleet still goes out daily and the seafood restaurants are everywhere and excellent.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Krochalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and even more pleased to read that our staff made you feel just like family. I will be sure to pass your comments along to the rest of the team, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Your Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

beautiful property with very helpful staff.food was excellent as was the location(5 minute walk to bus stop) breakfast was superb with more choices than we had at any other location.stay here and you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: 2nd floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Castle. I was especially pleased you thought our food to be excellent and your breakfast to have had many options as we strive to provide excellent quality food by using the finest local produce. Again, thank you for your review, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle in the future.

Your Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed in upon arival and it brought in the atmosphere of castles and mystery right away. Everyone loved the experience and the breakfast restaurant and the area. Excellent rooms and service, beautiful property, very well maintained. Will stay again for sure. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SGrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was especially pleased that you liked your breakfast at the Fahrenheit Restaurant, and that you thought our rooms and property to be beautiful and well maintained. I will be sure to send your lovely comments on to the rest of the team here. Again, many thanks for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Clontarf Castle Hotel in the future.

Your Sincerely,
Natalie Smith
Deputy General Manager
Clontarf Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,605 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,410 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,042 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,612 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £111 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing